Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-13-2020, 11:04 AM
JoeM JoeM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 72
Default Looking to replace 4,1 Mac Pro with 7,1 Mac Pro 8 core base model

Hi all,
I'm currently running PT 11.3.2, Native HD card and Omni HD I/O and an Eleven Rack, used sometimes for guitar sounds along with a UAD Quad PCIe card on a 4,1 Mac Pro, 32 GB RAM and OS Yosemite. I do small, singer/songwriter sessions for myself with track counts that usually don't go past 24 and I have no issues with having enough plugins being available for my sessions.

The system is very stable but obviously old and I'd like to purchase a new 7,1 Mac Pro for my audio work but also for my photography and graphic design work. Based on how my current Mac Pro covers my work, I think I would be ok with the 8 core base model, base graphics card but with 64 GB RAM and a larger 2 or 4 TB SSD. I'd keep my UAD Quad card and add an Octo card or sateliite. I think a 12 or 16 core would be overkill for my needs, besides being way too expensive for me personally. I'm not interested in any other Macs like minis or iMacs and I passed on the 6,1 Mac Pro as I don't want all the extra peripherals hanging around due to my small space.

I've already purchased a PT upgrade to Ultimate and have just been waiting for Avid to confirm the 7,1 even though I know people have already started using them. I've read the Eleven Rack doesn't work with OS Catalina but other than that and whatever workaround I can come up with for it, my plan would be to move to the new 8 core base Mac Pro with the ability to possibly upgrade it down the line, as many think this will be possible with cheaper 3rd party solutions.

Given the modest use I outlined, do you guys think the 8 core will work for me?

Thanks in advance,
JoeM
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2020, 11:42 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,698
Default Re: Looking to replace 4,1 Mac Pro with 7,1 Mac Pro 8 core base model

2019 Mac Pro is not yet supported and some have surprisingly reported HDN card not working in it. Sit tight and wait.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-13-2020, 12:00 PM
JoeM JoeM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 72
Default Re: Looking to replace 4,1 Mac Pro with 7,1 Mac Pro 8 core base model

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
2019 Mac Pro is not yet supported and some have surprisingly reported HDN card not working in it. Sit tight and wait.
Thank you! I had not heard that some with the HD cards were having issues. That's good to know. I am holding off at this point until we hear more from Avid.

Any thoughts on being able to get by with the 8 core when it does get approved? I would love to save the $2K that it would take to get the 16 core, if the 8 core would work for my modest needs..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-14-2020, 06:50 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,055
Default Re: Looking to replace 4,1 Mac Pro with 7,1 Mac Pro 8 core base model

I had not heard that about HDN not working either.

Note I am doing similar projects on my 6 core 5.1 and with the upgrades am hoping for another 3-5 years. Albeit looks like Mojave is where I will be at until then. For audio 6 core has been working for me. however I some video In FCPX it works but sometimes the rendering is pretty slow

For just audio you would probably be fine, I do not know about graphics and photo applications but the people I know that do video are not considering anything less than 12 core and most are looking at 16
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB, Radeon Pulse RX 580 8GB GDDR5 Dual HDMI Graphics Card..... OS- Mojave 10.14.6, and PTHDN 2020.5 on on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Samsung 970 EVO 1TB and PT sessions storage on 2nd Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB -- both in dual drive Crest I/O PCIE controller adaptor card


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-14-2020, 07:39 AM
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,903
Default Re: Looking to replace 4,1 Mac Pro with 7,1 Mac Pro 8 core base model

At least get the 12 core to get the full memory clock.
The 8 core is a bad choice overall. Especially if you want to use the machine for years to come. And in that light the addl amount of cash shouldn't hurt anyways.

I mean, you can upgrade the CPU down the road yourself when prices come down. But if you don't want to fiddle with it, don't get the 8-core.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-15-2020, 06:34 PM
JoeM JoeM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 72
Default Re: Looking to replace 4,1 Mac Pro with 7,1 Mac Pro 8 core base model

Quote:
Originally Posted by K Roche View Post
I had not heard that about HDN not working either.

Note I am doing similar projects on my 6 core 5.1 and with the upgrades am hoping for another 3-5 years. Albeit looks like Mojave is where I will be at until then. For audio 6 core has been working for me. however I some video In FCPX it works but sometimes the rendering is pretty slow

For just audio you would probably be fine, I do not know about graphics and photo applications but the people I know that do video are not considering anything less than 12 core and most are looking at 16
Thanks for the feedback and opinion! I’m not doing any video which is why I think the 8 core would be fine. My rep at Sweetwater who sold me my original HDN setup and knows the kind of projects I do was the one that suggested that the 8 core would probably be more than enough for my use.

JoeM
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-15-2020, 06:36 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,698
Default Re: Looking to replace 4,1 Mac Pro with 7,1 Mac Pro 8 core base model

Probably. But as said, take a moment to think about how many years you are likely going to use it and what would you think about your decision at that time
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-15-2020, 06:51 PM
JoeM JoeM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 72
Default Re: Looking to replace 4,1 Mac Pro with 7,1 Mac Pro 8 core base model

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meads View Post
At least get the 12 core to get the full memory clock.
The 8 core is a bad choice overall. Especially if you want to use the machine for years to come. And in that light the addl amount of cash shouldn't hurt anyways.

I mean, you can upgrade the CPU down the road yourself when prices come down. But if you don't want to fiddle with it, don't get the 8-core.
Thanks, I hear what you’re saying and it makes technical sense but my original thought was to use the 8 core to start since my 2009 Mac Pro eight core 2.26 Nehalem covers my needs right now and then upgrade the processor myself when third parties catch up, if I find I need it. I’ll probably be able to do so for half the price I’d need to spend on the Apple 12 core. Third party RAM and SSDs are already available at steep savings and I can use the processor savings when getting the 8 core to put towards the RAM and SSDs.

JoeM
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-16-2020, 07:53 AM
JoeM JoeM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 72
Default Re: Looking to replace 4,1 Mac Pro with 7,1 Mac Pro 8 core base model

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Probably. But as said, take a moment to think about how many years you are likely going to use it and what would you think about your decision at that time
Thanks, I’m going to wait, as advised, for Avid to list it as supported and in the meantime continue to monitor posts and articles referring to 8, 12 and 16 core real world use.

JoeM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where´s the answer-base? Frank Kruse Post - Surround - Video 3 04-14-2010 09:30 AM
Base Model iMac?? jiagap 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 02-01-2010 10:22 AM
Tick base & Time base for MIDI track?? Rodamyot Post - Surround - Video 1 04-25-2005 04:57 AM
user base outfit 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-10-2002 07:24 AM
HD Sync I/O. No 1X Base Clock??? rbeggs Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 06-22-2002 07:22 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com