Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-12-2013, 04:14 PM
Optofonik Optofonik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: La Crescenta, CA
Posts: 8
Default Generating smpte for output to camera timecode slate

I've ordered Pro Tools 11, am awaiting delivery and want to get a jump on the learning curve. I will be using it for music playback to picture. I'll need to generate smpte time code at various frame rates (as per production's requirements) and either jamsync or transmit timecode via Comtek to the smart slate. I'll also need to be able to stripe a track with the generated timecode in case post wants a copy of the PT files used on set.


Any insight would be appreciated
__________________
Mick Davies
www.imdb.me/mickdavies
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-12-2013, 05:57 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: Generating smpte for output to camera timecode slate

As you know, PT does not generate SMPTE timecode.

I've found the Ambient products to come in handy.

http://www.ambient.de/en/products/am...-timecode.html

The models generate timecode at different frame rates and generate black burst sync. I used them to lock a PT system to a video shoot. You can have one at HD frame rates with another at 24 fps. And you don't have to connect them together with cables: they have excellent time base control of less than one frame a day error.

Word clock will lock PT and you can record the TC to an audio track.

Good luck.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Optofonik View Post
I've ordered Pro Tools 11, am awaiting delivery and want to get a jump on the learning curve. I will be using it for music playback to picture. I'll need to generate smpte time code at various frame rates (as per production's requirements) and either jamsync or transmit timecode via Comtek to the smart slate. I'll also need to be able to stripe a track with the generated timecode in case post wants a copy of the PT files used on set.


Any insight would be appreciated
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-14-2013, 08:16 PM
Hugh-H Hugh-H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 200
Default Re: Generating smpte for output to camera timecode slate

Hello Opto,

If you know anyone with Nuendo they can quickly generate you an audio file containing timecode to play out if you need that. If you have a specific need for a specific time range I might even be nice enough to generate one for you. :)
PM me if you need it.

Hugh
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-14-2013, 09:48 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,222
Default Re: Generating smpte for output to camera timecode slate

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh-H View Post
...anyone with Nuendo...can quickly generate...an audio file containing timecode...
Reaper too
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-17-2013, 05:39 AM
Sonopolis Sonopolis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Berlin
Posts: 247
Default Re: Generating smpte for output to camera timecode slate

Hi Mick,

this may just be what you're looking for:
http://sononum.net/horae

Should makes LTC from PTs MTC and is very affordable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TimeCode to camera + TimeCode-led display with digi003 Fingerflipz Post - Surround - Video 7 03-18-2010 02:07 PM
Generating SMPTE Timecode in PT Adam Ings General Discussion 2 11-24-2007 02:25 PM
Generating timecode JohnGreenham Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 07-26-2005 04:25 PM
USD SMPTE timecode Output? pnoise Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 03-12-2001 09:14 AM
generating smpte from MTC carloswarlick 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 05-14-2000 11:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com