Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-07-2018, 08:37 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,733
Default Need some help for a presentation

I'm going to be doing a presentation on modern audio recording for a college class. Obviously I can't pack up my entire studio rig and take it to the class. So, I was thinking I might use PT First just to give an overview demonstration on how digital recording with a DAW is done these days. So, I have a few questions, since I've not used First (I have PT 12.8 in my studio).

1. The tech specs say it hasn't been tested on Win-7. My laptop is Win-7. Will First still work for purposes of just booting it up and showing how VI's work, and calling up some plugins to explain how they work and all that? I might import some audio tracks from another session as well, just to show how things are done. Will First work for that?

2. I really don't want to unhook my current audio interface from my studio rig (Focusrite Scarlett 8i6) since that would be a pain...Plus I'd have to install drivers and all that happiness on my laptop just for one lecture. Could I use ASIO4ALL with First and just run the audio out through the laptop's stereo audio out port?

3. I know First only comes with Xpand2 as a VI. I also have all the AIR VI's. Could I install some of them (ie, Transfuser, Boom, Hybrid, Vacuum Pro) on my laptop as well and use in First for the demo? Or would I need to worry about iLok and all that. What if I just use the same AIR plugs that come with PT (ie Vacuum, Boom, DB33, etc). Can I install the creative collection on my laptop if I already have them on my studio rig?

4. I only have on hard drive on my laptop (SSD drive), but I have over 50gig space on it. Since I won't actually be creating any sessions, will this be an issue?

I have a small portable MIDI keyboard controller I'll use (actually is an old Yamaha "Keytar"), which I know will work for playing anything.

Anyway, if anyone could offer some suggestions, help, answers, insights...I'd be very grateful!

Cordially

Donald M
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.4
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-07-2018, 01:34 PM
64GTOBOY's Avatar
64GTOBOY 64GTOBOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Houston
Posts: 473
Default Re: Need some help for a presentation

I run two Win 7 laptops that I have set up with 2018 native and First coinstalled(since 12.5). Windows Wasapi works just fine as an audio engine so I have never bothered with asio4all. I normally use either 2i2 or an old mbox mobilepre with a powered usb hub and their asio drivers for recording without an Ilok which I rarely do. I don't think First will let you use any plugns that you don't purchase through Avid so pretty much no third party stuff. If I am going to need that stuff then I have to drag my Ilok with me and use PT Native instead of first, but I do use First without any other hardware to do basic mixes with just headphones and all the Avid plugs. I will have to check but if I remember correctly First comes with Xpand2, Boom and Structure free and some loops. I don't think you'll have any problem doing what you plan as a presentation, though there will be some limitations. You do have to dig into the sound control panel advanced preferences and change some settings usually, not a deal breaker or complex. 50 Gig should be plenty but you might grab a couple of thumb drives just in case, 32 gig thumb drives are going for about 10 bucks at the local computer outlet store. Note: First requires an internet connection. It is cloud based. You can save from full system as Projects to cloud and open in First where ever you are but it wont boot without a web connection.
__________________
Dell XPS 8900 i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz 32 Gig Memory:Seagate 2 TB,1TB,4TB OS Windows 7 Ultimate
PT 18.7 Native through A&H Qu-32
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-08-2018, 06:08 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,733
Default Re: Need some help for a presentation

Thanks for the info.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.4
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools|HDX Presentation video ... Svensound Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-20-2011 06:57 PM
Presentation FifthDoctor General Discussion 5 05-21-2009 09:18 AM
Demo Song from PT8 presentation on hp melino 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-05-2009 05:49 AM
OT. Funny gear presentation golli 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 10-22-2004 08:25 AM
(badly timed) feature request: a Presentation mode houser Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 10-07-2002 09:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com