Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-04-2018, 09:20 AM
planck planck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Athens. Greece
Posts: 42
Default Artist Control problems

Hello,

I have an artist control and plan to add x2 artist mix to the setup.

However, I’m having problems with the artist control.

It either looses connection and the avid logo appears on the screen and I have to reboot it, or sometimes it completely freezes and I have to unplug the power cable.

I’m running MacOS High Sierra, EuCon 18.3.0.244 and the unit is directly connected to the Mac Pro via Ethernet to the first Ethernet port.

I have gone through all the avid recommendations for using EuCon.

I have had the problems since I got the unit.

Thanks
Alex
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-04-2018, 07:42 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,416
Default Re: Artist Control problems

Have you tried a different cable ? Is there a specific thing that causes it, does it only do it when you are away ? When you got the unit was it new ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-05-2018, 07:39 AM
planck planck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Athens. Greece
Posts: 42
Default Re: Artist Control problems

Different ethernet cable? Yes.

Yes, the unit was new.
The only thing I haven't tried is to change power adapter.

Alex
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-05-2018, 08:03 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,416
Default Re: Artist Control problems

Yes, that's why I was asking if it was new or not. You could try changing the power adapter.
EUCON doesn't like any interruptions, so any power settings like sleep or sleep the Ethernet adapter, AppNap could all have an influence.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-09-2018, 07:25 PM
Tim Ripley's Avatar
Tim Ripley Tim Ripley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: USA East Coast
Posts: 91
Default Re: Artist Control problems

Static IP? Same port being used for internet access or printing, or ??? I'm using a static IP and the port is dedicated the artist mix and control. I use the other ethernet port for everything else. This has always worked flawlessly for me.
__________________
Timothy Ripley
Composer, engineer, musician

Mac Pro (Late 2013)
3.5 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5
32 GB 1866 MHz DDR3
AMD FirePro D500 3072 MB
Dual 4Tb Thunderbolt G Drives
Acer B326HUL 32" 2560 X 1440, VIZIO video monitor
Sierra 10.13.2, Pro Tools 18.1.0.241, EuControl 18.3.0.244
Lots of WAVES Plugins, Avid Artist Mix and Control
Digital Performer 9.51, MOTU 1248 (Thunderbolt)
MOTU MTP AV (USB), a bunch of hardware synths, mic preamps, & outboard FX
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Experiencing strange problems on the artist control surface; verified with test mode AISM Artist Series 5 08-01-2013 07:52 PM
Avid Artist Control + Logic problems. matthihat Artist Series 3 05-14-2013 03:00 PM
Touching Artist Transport Freezes Up Artist Control in Logic sonofmack Artist Series 1 03-13-2013 08:22 PM
Track select problems with Artist Control Swurveman Artist Series 1 05-18-2012 09:41 AM
Artist Control / Ethernet Connection and Noise Problems lberrios1962 Artist Series 8 05-04-2012 08:20 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com