Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-21-2018, 08:52 PM
Peter Baird's Avatar
Peter Baird Peter Baird is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Stevenson Ranch, CA
Posts: 225
Default I just replaced a fader on an Artist Mix.

It wasn't easy. But it was out of warranty.

Peter
__________________
Gypsy: PTHD 2018.1, 12-core Mac Pro 3.46Ghz 32GB OS 10.13.4, HD Native, HD OMNI, HD I/O, 2 Artist Mix, EUCON 18.3, Quad Eight preamps, Neve 3201 EQs, 2 LA-4s, 2 1176s, Malone Design Works desk

Laptop: 10.13.4 MacBook Pro 2.8 Core i7, 16G, PT 12.8.2, RME FF800/TCO, Live 9

www.remotewest.com
@RemoteWest
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-22-2018, 09:44 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 94
Default Re: I just replaced a fader on an Artist Mix.

Would you post any video of the process? Could be useful to others.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-22-2018, 10:54 AM
Peter Baird's Avatar
Peter Baird Peter Baird is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Stevenson Ranch, CA
Posts: 225
Default Re: I just replaced a fader on an Artist Mix.

I thought about making a video, but I was pretty certain it would be ugly, and that I would regret doing so. I was right. I had to do some things I normally wouldn't, and I ended up unable to completely remove the top stainless tray from the PCB (it's held there by four clips with great gobs of solder on them). Instead I kind of pried the bottom edges apart to get the replacement fader in and the old one out.

On the plus side there are only seven connections to make: four chassis pins that solder directly to the PCB, and three wires connecting the motor. The minus side is that it is very difficult to desolder the chassis pins when removing the old fader. I ended up cutting them before I could get them out. That's the one thing I suggest for anyone trying this: as counterintuitive as it sounds, flood the old connections with fresh flux and solder before you grab the Soldapult. They will clean up much easier.

Putting the thing back together is very twitchy. The plastic button covers are loose and will fall out at the slightest provocation. The stainless bottom tray cover is a marvel of complication that requires much patience and bending of flimsy plastic parts to get back in place correctly.

All that said, all it cost me was $40 for the replacement fader and a Saturday afternoon.

Peter
__________________
Gypsy: PTHD 2018.1, 12-core Mac Pro 3.46Ghz 32GB OS 10.13.4, HD Native, HD OMNI, HD I/O, 2 Artist Mix, EUCON 18.3, Quad Eight preamps, Neve 3201 EQs, 2 LA-4s, 2 1176s, Malone Design Works desk

Laptop: 10.13.4 MacBook Pro 2.8 Core i7, 16G, PT 12.8.2, RME FF800/TCO, Live 9

www.remotewest.com
@RemoteWest
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-22-2018, 10:59 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 94
Default Re: I just replaced a fader on an Artist Mix.

Sounds terrifying. Where did you find the replacement fader? I didn't think they were replaceable individually. They come 8 to a circuit board.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-22-2018, 11:18 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 804
Default Re: I just replaced a fader on an Artist Mix.

Quote:
Originally Posted by its2loud View Post
Where did you find the replacement fader?
http://www.fullcompass.com/searchres...l=artist+fader
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2018.4, HDX 3, MTRX, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.12.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 680 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-22-2018, 12:18 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,122
Default Re: I just replaced a fader on an Artist Mix.

Ive done it myself, during a cracked faceplate swap, never again!!

On a side note, I saw your webpage, how did you find Ed Greene's Birth date?
I assisted him, between 1990 to 2000, at Complete Post and could never figure out his age!! But the man could outlast my young butt!!
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-22-2018, 12:22 PM
Peter Baird's Avatar
Peter Baird Peter Baird is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Stevenson Ranch, CA
Posts: 225
Default Re: I just replaced a fader on an Artist Mix.

Full Compass deserves some credit for aggressively going after the replacement parts sector in a way nobody else has. They actually were able to get a replacement woofer for one of my pet nearfields (MSP-10 Studio) despite Yamaha being out of production on that item for at least a decade. From now on I'll check them first when I need replacement parts.

Peter
__________________
Gypsy: PTHD 2018.1, 12-core Mac Pro 3.46Ghz 32GB OS 10.13.4, HD Native, HD OMNI, HD I/O, 2 Artist Mix, EUCON 18.3, Quad Eight preamps, Neve 3201 EQs, 2 LA-4s, 2 1176s, Malone Design Works desk

Laptop: 10.13.4 MacBook Pro 2.8 Core i7, 16G, PT 12.8.2, RME FF800/TCO, Live 9

www.remotewest.com
@RemoteWest
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-22-2018, 12:49 PM
Peter Baird's Avatar
Peter Baird Peter Baird is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Stevenson Ranch, CA
Posts: 225
Default Re: I just replaced a fader on an Artist Mix.

Man, I miss Ed. When he passed, his age became available, so I put it up as a tribute. We went out to lunch February of last year, still hard to accept he's gone.

Peter
__________________
Gypsy: PTHD 2018.1, 12-core Mac Pro 3.46Ghz 32GB OS 10.13.4, HD Native, HD OMNI, HD I/O, 2 Artist Mix, EUCON 18.3, Quad Eight preamps, Neve 3201 EQs, 2 LA-4s, 2 1176s, Malone Design Works desk

Laptop: 10.13.4 MacBook Pro 2.8 Core i7, 16G, PT 12.8.2, RME FF800/TCO, Live 9

www.remotewest.com
@RemoteWest
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I clean a fader on the Artist Mix? djmichaelwenz Artist Series 0 07-19-2017 12:05 PM
artist mix fader&buttons issues joesbrands Artist Series 1 07-15-2015 11:28 AM
Artist Slow Fader FIX francois_harel Artist Series 5 05-19-2014 11:36 AM
Artist Mix not responding to fader touch ilovemyssl Artist Series 1 05-12-2014 09:06 AM
Anyone who has replaced a ProControl fader... JAZZ DAD ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 9 04-18-2007 11:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com