Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-02-2017, 05:56 AM
octatonic octatonic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 198
Default Re: ilok via a usb hub ?

I've used a D-Link USB 2 hub for the last 10 years without issues.

It is bus powered and works with Waves USB key, iLok, Steinberg key all without issue and all at once.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-02-2017, 05:59 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,367
Default Re: ilok via a usb hub ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
iLok cloud licenses will make this a thing of the past. Well, at least they'll be different hassles! :)
I wouldn't trust the cloud to anything. Also what if you're someplace that has no or spotty internet access?

What would be a good thing is they way Steinberg has both the hardware dongle and the s/w version. That way you could use either as suits your working style. The only problem with the Steiny way is some of the developers that use the system mandate the use of the h/w dongle and don't allow the s/w version. We already have some developers that use the iLok framework but don't mandate the use of the actual iLok dongle.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-02-2017, 06:02 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,477
Default Re: ilok via a usb hub ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
I wouldn't trust the cloud to anything. Also what if you're someplace that has no or spotty internet access?

What would be a good thing is they way Steinberg has both the hardware dongle and the s/w version. That way you could use either as suits your working style. The only problem with the Steiny way is some of the developers that use the system mandate the use of the h/w dongle and don't allow the s/w version. We already have some developers that use the iLok framework but don't mandate the use of the actual iLok dongle.
Like I said, different hassles.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-02-2017, 06:02 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,367
Default Re: ilok via a usb hub ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by octatonic View Post
I've used a D-Link USB 2 hub for the last 10 years without issues.

It is bus powered and works with Waves USB key, iLok, Steinberg key all without issue and all at once.
Waves USB key? Do you mean a flash drive?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-02-2017, 06:05 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,367
Default Re: ilok via a usb hub ?

Something came to me just now looking at my setup. I use the Apple wired long keyboard with numpad and they have 2 USB ports - why not use that for the iLok if you use that particular keyboard? Doesn't help Windows users but for Mac people it could help.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-02-2017, 07:44 AM
panamajack's Avatar
panamajack panamajack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Miniappleapolis
Posts: 710
Default Re: ilok via a usb hub ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Darcy View Post
. . . Have any of you got the mac working with a usb hub and the ilok plugged in to it? . . .
I plug my iLok into hubs daisy-chained from first tier hubs. On the old-style 2015 MBP with USB3 ports, I go from the laptop to an external drive with a built-in USB3 hub. From that I daisy-chain to both a Kanex powered USB3 hub and a Phillips 288P6 4K monitor with another 4 USB ports: it has two USB2 ports and two USB3 ports, one of those is fast-charging.

On the 2016 MBP I have two CalDigit docks, a USB-C and a TS3 lite. And I plug additional hubs into those. The USB-C hub can charge the 2016 MBP with 60w, which opens up a TB3 port (under heavy usage, the Apple charger provides 87w). But if I plug an unpowered USB3 hub in the CalDigit (such as the TRENDnet USB-C 4-port Ultra-Mini), the charge drops to 30w (enough for a trickle charge for the MBP).

I connect trackball, external keyboard, Shuttle Contour, iLOK, 11R, Apogee Element controller, external spinner hard drive, external SSD drive, DVD drive, Waves USB license card, and a MIDI hub. That adds up to 11 USB ports. But I do not always need everything simultaneously. The Mac Towers have five USB 2.0 ports. The Sonnet Allegro USC-C PCIe card is a nice upgrade. They bring performance up to date for USB 3.1 Gen 2: 10Gbps, and they also deliver 15w power per port (USB 3.0 provides 4.5w) for bus-powered devices. Auto-negotiates a one lane data link in a PCIe 3.0 slot (PC) or two lanes in a PCIe 2.0 slot (Mac Pro tower). Sonnet reports this card is NOT compatible with El Capitan 10.11, but is compatible with 10.10.5, 10.12.6 and High Sierra.

The Mac OS reports the additional power available when the wall wart is added to a hub configured for a power adapter.

FYI, the CalDigit USB-C dock supports the Apple SuperDrive and the external keyboard (there was a Firmware update in February 2017).
__________________
PT10.3.10HD(Tyan s2932 [8core Shanghai 2.7GHZ] 32GB,Win7 SP1); PT10HD(Tyan s2892 w/10GB, Win7 SP1);PT8HD(Dell 690 quad Xeon 3.0, 8GB, Win7,192 I/O, 96 I/O);MacBook Pro: 11R, Apogee Element 46, Focusrite 8PreX PT HD 11.3.2; Mac Pro 3.47 Hex 32GB, OSX 10.12.6/L10.4.2;L9.1.8, 2.64TB; G5 D2.3 4GB, 10.4.11/L8; 12c MP 2.66/32GB PT12.4; Structure, GigaGS3, Kontakt 5, Garratin, Sibelius 8.7+, Finale26,EMU,Vegas Pro 16-10/; RME HDSP9652,MOTU 2408 MKIII/1224/308, FX,Kurz,L5s,Strat,ASAT,JB,Zon
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-02-2017, 11:51 AM
64GTOBOY's Avatar
64GTOBOY 64GTOBOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Houston
Posts: 521
Default Re: ilok via a usb hub ?

I keep my I-Lok and my Waves license license thumb drive on an unpowered 4 port hub that goes with me along with and files I may need on another thumb or two. No problems with plugging in to either 2.0 or 3.0 yet but I'm on Windows.
__________________
Dell XPS 8900 i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz 32 Gig Memory:Seagate 2 TB,1TB,4TB OS Windows 7 Ultimate
PT 18.7 Native through A&H Qu-32
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-03-2017, 05:51 AM
Wire57 Wire57 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Europe
Posts: 84
Default Re: ilok via a usb hub ?

Well, I do not seem to have any issue with my iLok in a USB(2.0) hub and running ProTools.
As my next question, I'll have to find out if I really need my Mbox2 Micro with my PT.
(NEW: Windows 10 home, Creators Fall update [Version 1709, SysBuild 16299.64, 64bit], 16 GB RAM [1600 KHz]
C:\ = SSD 500 GB, D:\HDD 1 TB @ 7200 rpm, Intel I5 quadcore...
PT12.8.2, Mbox2 Micro
[And Sibelius 8.7.2])
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-03-2017, 04:39 PM
VRW VRW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,317
Default Re: ilok via a usb hub ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Darcy View Post
I'd like to have my ilok plugged into a USB hub plugged into my mac.
However everytime I open pro-tools 12 with my ilok plugged into a usb hub the license fails to be detected and I have to plug the ilok into the mac directly, this wastes a port on the new macs with only 2 usb ports.

Have any of you got the mac working with a usb hub and the ilok plugged in to it ? what hub did you use ? did you make any software changes to get it detected ?

thanks.
Have struggled a lot with this issue the last few months and did not have any luck using the iLok on
1) a good quality powered USB 3 hub
2) an unpowered USB 2 hub

Finally found only two ways to get that son-of-a-b... of an iLok to work as it is supposed to, which were
1) on a powered USB 2 hub
2) on the built in USB 2 hub of the Apple (Numeric Keypad) Keyboard

At the moment I´m using version 1 which means I have plugged a powered USB 2 hub into my powered
USB 3 hub. On this powered USB 2 hub I have the iLok, my Apple (Numeric Keypad) Keyboard and another
USB 2 flash drive with all my Waves, PA and HOFA licenses on. All other USB gear I have connected to the
powered 7-port USB 3 hub which is directly connected to the (USB 3) port of my MBP. So this finally works.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wire57 View Post
Well, I do not seem to have any issue with my iLok in a USB(2.0) hub and running ProTools.
As my next question, I'll have to find out if I really need my Mbox2 Micro with my PT.
(NEW: Windows 10 home, Creators Fall update [Version 1709, SysBuild 16299.64, 64bit], 16 GB RAM [1600 KHz]
C:\ = SSD 500 GB, D:\HDD 1 TB @ 7200 rpm, Intel I5 quadcore...
PT12.8.2, Mbox2 Micro
[And Sibelius 8.7.2])
Actually the Mbox 2 Micro is not supported with Windows 10/PT12 anymore. Check it out there.
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...-Micro-Drivers

You might get another compatible, more current audio interface or use the the internal engine of your
computer with the Asio4all driver. However the Asio4all driver will work for mixing and editing only
probably. If it comes to recording you rather will need an external audio interface because of latency
issues with the internal engine/Asio4all system (besides the lack of decent Audio In/Outs).

As being on PC/Windows obviously you might look into RME audio interfaces which are still the best
working, most stable ones for Win/PC systems.

The best of success to both of you.

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-04-2017, 08:40 PM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,799
Default Re: ilok via a usb hub ?

I have a Thunderbolt Dock on my iMac which adds 5-USB3 ports with 2 of the 5 being powered. My iLok2 is plugged into that without any issues whatsoever. I also have a powered USB3 hub plugged into the Thunderbolt Dock and iLok2 works on it, as well.

The Thunderbolt port I have is here:
https://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/TB2DOCK12T1/

Great pricing, also adds HDMI out and analog audio I/O.
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Pro tools HD9 transferable to Ilok account €250 (paypal and ilok fees included) Mikek33 Buy & Sell 1 12-02-2014 05:39 AM
ilok issues - ProTools 9 crossgrade LE (Please install the iLok Client Software) pauledwards Pro Tools Software (Win) 3 09-10-2013 05:02 PM
Plugin auth weirdness - guest iLok prevents internal iLok? Scott Helmke VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 09-07-2011 08:06 AM
Can You Transfer iLok Licenses To A New iLok If Your Old iLok Is Broken? epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 09-07-2009 04:51 AM
Transfer iLok auth. from old iLok to new 003 factory iLok? lamp 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-20-2007 08:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com