Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-06-2015, 06:23 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,524
Default Re: Automation Question .

Quote:
Originally Posted by priorytools View Post
Avid… any chance of implementing ?
I HIGHLY doubt something so incredibly specific to the way a VERY small number of users would want to work (still trying to figure out why) would be implemented.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-06-2015, 02:31 PM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,112
Default Re: Automation Question .

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
I HIGHLY doubt something so incredibly specific to the way a VERY small number of users would want to work (still trying to figure out why) would be implemented.

It'd be like… destructive record mode Drew.
Like CDT'ing on the fly.
I see your point, but if you don't ask, you definitely won't get.
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.12.6 / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V3.6 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.6 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-07-2015, 02:48 AM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,112
Default Re: Automation Question .

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
What about preview automation and write-to-selected?
That doesn't do it.
The aim is to coalesce on the fly.
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.12.6 / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V3.6 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.6 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-28-2015, 07:53 AM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,663
Default Re: Automation Question .

This will produce a black automation line and a successive undo for each track without stopping playback when trimming statically :
preview mode
trim automation mode
select vocal track 1 (really clicking the track name), trim as desired , trim-to-current (Win : Ctrl Shift /)
select vocal track 2 , trim as desired , trim-to-current
select vocal track 3 , trim as desired , trim-to-current
select vocal track 4 , trim as desired , trim-to-current
do not hit write-to-all (that would double the trim amount) or any write command
just deselect preview

It will produce on the fly 4x "Trim to Current", so if vocal track 3 trim was bad and is undone (4 is also lost then), the trim automation of track 1 and 2 is still there.

I was looking in the Shortcuts Guide, found this command, never used it before, experimented and remembered this thread.
And actually , Gary Gegan's genius very special use of preview and write-to-all-enabled, inspired that.
It is a little bit tricky, being in preview but nevertheless having to explicitly select a track .
__________________
PT 11.3.2 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 48GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060

Last edited by joachim; 08-28-2015 at 08:05 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-28-2015, 08:15 AM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,112
Default Re: Automation Question .

joachim, it's been a while since this thread was started, but, what you're suggesting sounds like what we were after.
I don't mean to be cheeky, but any chance you could do a wee video of what you're describing ?
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.12.6 / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V3.6 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.6 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-28-2015, 08:25 AM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,663
Default Re: Automation Question .

That's a challenge, need to get a screen recorder ... .
But it is absolutely simple : make a selection, preview , trim mode , click the track name, move its fader, trim-to-current , click the next track name, move its fader, trim-to-current, .... , done : deselect preview.
__________________
PT 11.3.2 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 48GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-28-2015, 12:15 PM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,663
Default Re: Automation Question .

Quote:
Originally Posted by priorytools View Post
joachim, it's been a while since this thread was started, but, what you're suggesting sounds like what we were after.
I don't mean to be cheeky, but any chance you could do a wee video of what you're describing ?
I did it :https://youtu.be/ztsLRPZ863E
The shortcut trim-to-current is not visible in the video, that one is executed upon the fader move and results in the jump of the volume line.
__________________
PT 11.3.2 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 48GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-29-2015, 12:46 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Automation Question .

Quote:
Originally Posted by joachim View Post
I did it :https://youtu.be/ztsLRPZ863E
The shortcut trim-to-current is not visible in the video, that one is executed upon the fader move and results in the jump of the volume line.
Kudos to you for doing this, Joachim.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-29-2015, 01:05 AM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,663
Default Re: Automation Question .

Thank you, Stig.

(Maybe for others, looking for a simple free screen recorder option : http://www.apowersoft.com/free-online-screen-recorder )
__________________
PT 11.3.2 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 48GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-02-2015, 05:33 AM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,112
Default Re: Automation Question .

Quote:
Originally Posted by joachim View Post
I did it :https://youtu.be/ztsLRPZ863E
The shortcut trim-to-current is not visible in the video, that one is executed upon the fader move and results in the jump of the volume line.
Nicely done joachim.
That's useful, but not what I was trying to achieve. .
The transport needs to keep rolling for what I was talking about. .
And the coalesce needs to be up to where the playback head is .

I don't think it's doable in PT.
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.12.6 / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V3.6 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.6 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mix Automation Question samskimusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 01-09-2010 03:37 PM
General Venue Automation Question - (Maybe dumb question) TwoPort VENUE Live Sound Systems 5 12-21-2007 02:41 PM
A question on automation Peter Groom Post - Surround - Video 5 03-03-2007 06:20 PM
Automation question Dopamine 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-25-2003 08:09 PM
automation question c_hebb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-24-2002 09:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com