Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-28-2014, 08:32 PM
ozzlvlosis ozzlvlosis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bethpage, NY
Posts: 41
Default Surge Protector Question

I'm looking to buy 2 of these...

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/PRO1000/


Monster Power PowerCenter PRO 1000


It appears there are different kinds of outlets on this strip: High Current Filtered Outlets, Analog Filtered Outlets, and Digital Filtered Outlets.

Excuse the newbness but I'm looking to just plug in and be protected.

Do these different outlets matter?
Can i plug anything into any one of them?
Are there specific things that should be plugged in to each type?

Thank you in advance for reading and for any insight.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-01-2014, 04:05 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,157
Default Re: Surge Protector Question

Here is a link to the manual for the PRO 1000 which explains what the different outlets are for.

PRO 1000 Manual

It seems that all of the outlets on that unit are surge protected, but they use different filtering on the analog and digital outlets to help reduce noise for specific types of equipment.

You could plug into any of the outlets and be protected, this just gives you the option to isolate your computer from your monitors or sub woofer or mixer or whatever other digital and analog devices you have.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2014, 09:25 AM
ozzlvlosis ozzlvlosis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bethpage, NY
Posts: 41
Default Re: Surge Protector Question

Wow. Perfect. Thanks Will!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-03-2014, 12:21 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Surge Protector Question

I can not and will not recommend the for mentioned company.
There products are over priced and have no build quality

I recommend you look at Triplite or APC for a more reliable product
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
? is there a clear keyboard cover/protector for the D-Con? Craig F ICON & C|24 2 08-07-2009 08:10 PM
Surge Protection Applebee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-02-2002 09:12 AM
CPU surge! pauleddy2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-03-2002 09:32 PM
power surge...help!!! mactrax 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 05-08-2002 03:48 AM
A little off topic...SURGE PROTECTOR ROOM 12 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 01-29-2002 11:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com