Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2018, 09:04 AM
Sean Bombz Sean Bombz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Philadelphia PA
Posts: 46
Default 2018 iPad Pro usb c to Ethernet

I’m just wondering if I can connect 2018 iPad Pro to pt control app via usb c to Ethernet without using a powered hub. Thanks.

I actually had a non powered usb c hub from Anker (my wife’s) at my house. Tried it and it works!
__________________
Sean Bombz

Mac Pro late 2013 3.5GHZ 6 core 64g ram
Mojave 10.14.5
Pro tools 2019.5
Apollo x 16
Apollo 16 mk2
Apollo twin mk2
Avid S3
PT Dock
PT control (iPad)
eucon 2019.5.1

Last edited by Sean Bombz; 11-18-2018 at 06:59 PM. Reason: Answered my own question
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-19-2018, 05:28 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,117
Default Re: 2018 iPad Pro usb c to Ethernet

Not to disappoint you, but even the non-powered hubs provide some power from the computer's bus (I also have an Anker hub that charges my phone). But the Mac's ethernet spec doesn't support power-over-ethernet, so I would be very surprised if this worked.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-21-2018, 10:12 AM
Sean Bombz Sean Bombz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Philadelphia PA
Posts: 46
Default Re: 2018 iPad Pro usb c to Ethernet

The actual Ethernet connection works but won’t power the iPad. But with the hub I can connect usb c to power and I can power iPad. I couldn’t get that to happen with my old iPad using lightning and powered hub
__________________
Sean Bombz

Mac Pro late 2013 3.5GHZ 6 core 64g ram
Mojave 10.14.5
Pro tools 2019.5
Apollo x 16
Apollo 16 mk2
Apollo twin mk2
Avid S3
PT Dock
PT control (iPad)
eucon 2019.5.1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-22-2019, 04:11 PM
gersonlazoq gersonlazoq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Boston
Posts: 18
Default Re: 2018 iPad Pro usb c to Ethernet

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Bombz View Post
I’m just wondering if I can connect 2018 iPad Pro to pt control app via usb c to Ethernet without using a powered hub. Thanks.

I actually had a non powered usb c hub from Anker (my wife’s) at my house. Tried it and it works!
You can actually use PT Control from your iPad connected to a USB-C port on your computer or dock, without the need of wifi or ethernet connection. Just connect the iPad, enable wifi so it is recognized at first by Eucon, go to Eucon in system preferences and select iPad USB from the network interface and then disable the wifi in the iPad. Disconnect it, close PT control app, open it agin, restart Eucon applications from the drop down menu and that should have your iPad recognized over the USB interface and charge the iPad at the same time.

Best!
__________________
Bassist | Producer | Recording & Mixing Engineer | Arranger | Composer

Mac Pro Late 2013 | 2.7GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon E5-2697v2 Processor | 64GB of 1866MHz DDR3 ECC | 1TB PCIe-based SSD | Dual AMD FirePro D700 GPUs with 6GB of GDDR5 VRAM each

macOS Mojave 10.14.5

UAD Apollo x8p
UAD Satellite Octo Thunderbolt
UAD Satellite Quad Thunderbolt
Focal Alpha 65
Furman M-8x2 Power Conditioner

Avid S3 Control Surface
Pro tools Ultimate 2019.5
EUCON 19.5.1
Pro Tools Control 19.5
iPad Pro Late 2018 | 12.9-inch | Wi‑Fi | 64GB

Ken Smith Bass 6 Elite
Aguilar Tone Hammer 500
Epifani T112

Jazz Composition/Performance/Music Production & Engineering candidate at
Berklee College of Music
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-09-2019, 07:12 AM
Joris de Man Joris de Man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 114
Default Re: 2018 iPad Pro usb c to Ethernet

THANK YOU! I thought this was possible, but never figured out how to do it...this is great, thank you so much for sharing!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad Pro, Pro Tools Dock, ethernet connectivity issue? rbeggs Pro Tools | Dock 4 05-08-2019 07:36 AM
ipad app PT Control and PT 2018.10 babaorum Pro Tools | Control 0 11-18-2018 01:52 AM
Avid says we have to use Ethernet, so it means using iPad's battery? Mattian Pro Tools | Dock 7 09-20-2018 03:19 PM
Ipad with ethernet! New solution with the new apple USB3 camera adapter Ale Post - Surround - Video 8 05-26-2016 08:06 AM
Ipad PTcontrol with ethernet connection Ale Pro Tools | Control 1 02-16-2016 10:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com