Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-28-2010, 01:33 PM
beyoutofull1 beyoutofull1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 15
Default Can you run an interface, and an external hard drive through one firewire port?

Can you run an interface, and an external hard drive, through one firewire port in protools?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-28-2010, 04:41 PM
Draulym Draulym is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bunbury West Oz
Posts: 217
Default Re: Can you run an interface, and an external hard drive through one firewire port?

Yes, connect external drive to firewire on puter, connect interface to firewire on external drive
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2010, 09:04 AM
Soul Fader Soul Fader is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 71
Default Re: Can you run an interface, and an external hard drive through one firewire port?

Or in my case, vise versa
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-03-2010, 12:44 PM
TeeBlack TeeBlack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 16
Default Re: Can you run an interface, and an external hard drive through one firewire port?

i was told if you are running pro tools le then
(Computer=>External Hd=>Digi Interface)

and for pro tools m-powered it's the opposite
(Computer=>M-Audio Interface=>External Hd)
__________________
Toshiba Satellite Laptop
1.8ghz Pentium Dual Core
Vista Home Premium 32bit SP2
M-Audio Transit
Pro Tools 8 M-Powered
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-03-2010, 03:17 PM
fridrikur fridrikur is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 77
Default Re: Can you run an interface, and an external hard drive through one firewire port?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeeBlack View Post
i was told if you are running pro tools le then
(Computer=>External Hd=>Digi Interface)and for pro tools m-powered it's the opposite (Computer=>M-Audio Interface=>External Hd)
You are absolutely right Teeblack. Has had me baffled too. It is very confusing. As you say M-audio recommends to use the built in firewire controller for the audio interface and an extra firewire controller (pci card) for the external drive.
Digidesign on the other hand recommends to use an add on pci firewire controller card (TI instrument chipset) for the audio interface.
I do it this way: audio interface is plugged in to the add od firewire card called ADS pyro 64 bit, which is qualified with ProTools, and I use the onboard firewire controller card for my external drive. Works like a charm. Incidentally my onboard card does also have the TI chipset, but this is not important (can not hurt though) since it is the chipset of the external drive that must be qualified with PT, and this has an Oxford 11 chipset.
__________________
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6400 @
2.13GHz
Intel Corporation DQ965GF
Memory: 2GB
ST3250310SV 250GB (SATA300, 3.:233GB (H:)
ST3320620AS 320GB (SATA150, 3.:298GB (C:)
External Harddisk: Lacie D2 Quadra 1 TB firewire 400 (Oxford 11 chipset - using a different firewire card than fw410)
Windows System: Microsoft Windows 7 64 bit ultimate
M-audio Firewire 410 (ADS PYRO PCI 64 bit firewire card with Texas instrument chipset)
(6.0.1_5.10.0.5058)
Pro Tools M-powered 8.03
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-10-2010, 11:58 AM
bobbytouche bobbytouche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 9
Default Re: Can you run an interface, and an external hard drive through one firewire port?

I was wondering the same thing. I saw this and looked at the back of my Project Mix I/O. It only has one firewire port. How can you go computer/project mix/external, with only one port on the I/O as somebody mentioned?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-10-2010, 12:48 PM
soundmaster soundmaster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: .de
Posts: 124
Default Re: Can you run an interface, and an external hard drive through one firewire port?

with my acer notebook I go: internal FW -> HDD 1st FW In -> HDD 2nd FW out -> 1814 FW in.
Works great.
__________________
PT HD 9.0.6/Win 7 pro SP1 64bit/Q6600/EMU1820m
PT 9.0.6/HP 8560w/ProFire2626+Octane
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-11-2010, 08:52 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,153
Default Re: Can you run an interface, and an external hard drive through one firewire port?

Note, even though it's within the spec, it's safer not to hot swap the interface, shut it all down first.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem playing audio from Ext. Hard drive, via 3-port firewire card, on 003 cmoseman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 09-11-2008 12:16 PM
2nd Firewire port on the Mbox2 Pro for hard drive? jake9n 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-10-2006 02:20 PM
Digi002 on same firewire port as external drive? cschreppel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-02-2005 08:46 PM
How can you use an external firewire drive and Digi002 with only 1 firewire port? CraigD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 07-16-2003 01:11 AM
Why is my LaCie external 80 gig, 7200 rpm firewire hard drive an invalid drive to be Fucius General Discussion 4 03-19-2002 11:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com