Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-22-2010, 11:27 AM
ferry5 ferry5 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 72
Default Macbook Pro

Hi

At a local store they have an action for the basic new 13"macbook pro

2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
4GB 1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x2GB
250GB Serial ATA Drive @ 5400 rpm

SuperDrive 8x (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)

I currently use PTLE8 and Native instruments komplete6 and some ableton Live8 on an acer spire 9410 1.73 GHZ T2250 2Gb laptop windows Vista. So it would be a step forward.

But how good is the Macbook pro for music the way I use it? I want to use. I am a singersongwriter who uses electronical influences. so many sessions have a couple of vocal tracks, 1to 4 Absynth tracks soms vaccuum and boom and a few kontakt instances. and some Waves Plugins.

Hope you can give some advice before I buy

Greatings Ferry
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-22-2010, 11:35 AM
SixChurchStreet SixChurchStreet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New City, NY
Posts: 1,296
Default

From my experience, too many virtual instruments tend to bog down my base model MacBook Pro (same one you listed) when using Pro Tools. VIs in general can be pretty demanding, as well as guitar sims. That said, I can use most other plugins pretty liberally on the 13 incher without running into problems. If you're heavy into layering up the VIs though you may find you need to bounce them down to audio tracks as you go to avoid hitting the wall. This can be a real pain in the ass. I will definitely be looking to upgrade to one of the 15 inchers with the i5 CPU next year so I can be a little free-er with my virtual instrument usage.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 2.4GHz 8-Core 16GB RAM El Capitan | 2011 MacBook Pro 2.0GHz 4-Core i7 8GB RAM El Capitan | Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 Mk2 | Pro Tools 2018 | Studio One 3.5
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-22-2010, 01:07 PM
ferry5 ferry5 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 72
Default Re: Macbook Pro

HI,

well live also got a qaudcore PC with 4gb ram and windows 7 fot the larger sessions. but I want to upgrade it later next year to a mac pro or Imac with a quadI7.

So I will use it also mainly for scething Ideas, and "Field" recording, say 8 tracks with my Profire2626.CouldIt handel that?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Regular Macbook Pro vs. Macbook Pro with Retina display pzykt macOS 9 04-02-2013 08:32 AM
Experiences running Eleven Rack with a USB3 MacBook Pro or MacBook Pro Retina? Darryl Ramm Eleven Rack 3 09-18-2012 11:22 PM
Request advice on PTLE Macbook vs Macbook Pro mtbass 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 03-08-2007 08:53 AM
macbook/macbook pro buffer problems, solution therecordinghouse 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-21-2006 04:07 PM
Davecs for Macbook or Macbook Pro running Windows? sgladm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 06-16-2006 08:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com