Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Old 06-20-2004, 07:03 AM

Default Side Chains!

I'm fairly new to prootools, so this question may be basic knowledge to some. I have read the manual front to back, and on the matter of side chains it is kind of vauge in my opinion. My question is, can someone give me a basic example of how to set up a side chain, where I can actually see what it is doing. All I need is the foundation, nonthing over the top, I just want to see it visually working in the most basic aspect, and I can build on it from there. Also if someone can give me a brief explanation of why you would want to use a side chain, and in what situations does it work best for you! I'm not asking you guys to let your secrets out of the bag, I am just trying to get a general idea.

Thanks for any replies recieved!

----------------------------

Power Mac G4 (DP) 1.25ghz
(OS) Panther 10.3.4
Digi 002r/Protools 6.4
Old 06-21-2004, 03:12 AM

Default Re: Side Chains!

The most common use of sidechain is to marry a bass track with a kick drum track, thru a compressor, or gate...the idea being that the bass doesnt sound untill the gate or compressor opens making a tighter performance sound.(50's and 60's country used this alot). To try it make your bass track send to...lets say 11 or 12, then make a aux track and set the input to trk 11/12 out to master usually 1/2. now put a compressor on this track and set the sidechain input to your kick drum track...it will trigger from the kick NOT the bass but will only effect the bass not the kick.
Have fun man
Old 06-21-2004, 06:17 AM