Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-08-2006, 06:14 AM
ruudman2003 ruudman2003 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 47
Default Updating firmware on SCSI drives in OSX (10.3.4)?

I have a couple of Seagate Cheetah ST336607LW drives, and an Atto UL3D scsi-controller.
I've had lots of troubles with this setup, and I suspect my drives need to have updated their firmware (they both have Rev:0004).

Anyone know how to update firmware on SCSI drives in OSX (Panther)??

Or better: has anyone the same setup that works?

My setup:

G4 QS 2002, 933, OS 10.3.4, 1,5 Gb RAM
Atto UL3D Ultra 320 card
Seagate Cheetah ST336607LW Rev:0004 drives
HD2
PT 6.7 cs8


Thanks,
ruudman
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-08-2006, 10:26 AM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Updating firmware on SCSI drives in OSX (10.3.

We've got 4-HD systems and 14 of the 73GB version of that drive in Rorke 'sleds'. We've never had a problem with any of them in 2.5 years. Have you confirmed the firmware and settings of the Atto card?
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-08-2006, 01:17 PM
ruudman2003 ruudman2003 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 47
Default Re: Updating firmware on SCSI drives in OSX (10.3.

I use the Atto firmware suggested by Digidesign. Same goes for drivers, config tool, atto preferences; all according to PT 6.7 requirements.

Anyone who use Seagate Cheetah with Pto Tools? Please let me know if you have a newer revision of the disk..

BTW, thanks for answering. Eric


ruudman
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-08-2006, 01:53 PM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,820
Default Re: Updating firmware on SCSI drives in OSX (10.3.

hi i have the UL3D. ATTO config 3.06, driver 3.2.1, flash 1.6.6f0

all my cheetahs are rev 0006

don't know how they got that way...maybe the ATTO updates did that.
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-08-2006, 02:12 PM
ruudman2003 ruudman2003 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 47
Default Re: Updating firmware on SCSI drives in OSX (10.3.

Thanks, Minister!

But according to Digidesign, your ATTO specs are too recent for my PT6.7 on Panther..
What PT/OS are you running?

I don't have a clue if updating ATTO does something with the harddisk firmware, but I suspect it doesn't.

The disks having Rev. 0004 is making me quite nervous right now, having read in a Unix forum that there was some trouble with Cheetahs...

ruudman
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-08-2006, 02:21 PM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,820
Default Re: Updating firmware on SCSI drives in OSX (10.3.

yeah, i am on 10.4.6 and PT 7.2...

call ATTO, i found them very helpful when i had an issue.
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-19-2006, 08:16 PM
David MacKenzie David MacKenzie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 26
Default Re: Updating firmware on SCSI drives in OSX (10.3.

We have an HD3 on a G4, which had great SCSI performance with 5.3.1 on OS9, but never ran very stably or performed well with Pro Tools HD 6 on Panther or Tiger. (Firewire drives were OK on OSX, though.)

Once Pro Tools HD 7.1 came out, SCSI performance became good again and rock solid. We have a mix of five 10K drives including a Seagate or two, and have that one ATTO SCSI card that Digi currently supports.

Your problems might well go away if you upgrade to Pro Tools 7 (7.1 at least; I don't have 7.2).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-19-2006, 09:54 PM
Ginger Ginger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: L.A., CA
Posts: 292
Default Re: Updating firmware on SCSI drives in OSX (10.3.

I have the same setup as you except my QS is 733. Been running OS X 10.3.8 PT 6.9.1 for sometime with ATTO & cheetahs with no problems. However, I do have some older Cheetahs that won't mount under OS X. They mount fine in OS 9. I know this is a drive firmware issue, but I also do not know how to update the firmware. I'm guessing it's PC only (?) as most firmware flashes are (except on stuff specifically for mac).

I don't use them much so I've never pursued updates. I'd try calling Seagate and see what they say. I'm sure they're useable just don't know how to update them.

At least you know it's not just you or your other stuff or settings.

Good Luck and please let us know if you find anything out.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-20-2006, 02:11 AM
Richard Barrie Richard Barrie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: London, U.K.
Posts: 199
Default Re: Updating firmware on SCSI drives in OSX (10.3.

I have discovered that with older drives it is worth upping the "Selection Timeout" setting in the Atto configuration tool. As I remember the default is 50mS and this is sometimes not long enough for older drives to report themselves as present. I have never had a problem when set to 250mS.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-25-2020, 02:52 PM
BCM BCM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Charleston SC
Posts: 46
Default Re: Updating firmware on SCSI drives in OSX (10.3.4)?

Hi I have some old drives I need to get some sessions off off but I sold my old G4 & G5 13+ years ago but I found my Digidesign SCSI 128 card but no drivers If so one can let me know if this card works best with a G4 or G5 that would be great Thank you.
__________________
Colin Miller
B.C.M Recording
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updating firmware time_ghost Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 12-30-2013 03:04 AM
Firmware in 002 rack not updating Scottyman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 11-03-2009 08:29 AM
Problems updating firmware JessAvery 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-27-2009 07:44 PM
Firmware not updating cjbeckius 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-16-2006 12:47 AM
firmware updating stevesound 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 05-19-2004 04:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com