Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-20-2013, 11:04 AM
Romancha Romancha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 11
Default Ideas to run a second set monitor speaker

Hi, I want to run an additonal smaller set of speakers from my rig. Using PT10, Metric Halo Mobile IO ULN2, Macbook Pro, Mackie 624HR (powered) I also have an Apogee duet .... I'm not clear on what the best route to use (I may have to get a stereo reference amp - or something vintage). I appreciate any advice if someone is doing this.
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-20-2013, 12:43 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,546
Default Re: Ideas to run a second set monitor speaker

This would be a function of your monitor controller. Here are some examples.

http://www.cranesong.com/avocet.html

http://www.mackie.com/products/bigknob/

A quick glance at your interface tells me it only supports one set of Control Room outs.

http://mhsecure.com/metric_halo/prod...are/uln-2.html

unless I am missing something.

You could get some sort of analog A/B switcher to take that one control room out and make it feed two selectable sets of speakers.

check out switchers from:
http://www.colemanaudio.com
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-20-2013, 12:44 PM
jasonthurley's Avatar
jasonthurley jasonthurley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York NY
Posts: 1,451
Default Re: Ideas to run a second set monitor speaker

Are both sets of monitors powered? you only mentioned one sets of monitors in your description...
__________________
-Systems Engineer, Systems and Sound Designer, Recording and Mixing Engineer
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-20-2013, 02:00 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,877
Default Re: Ideas to run a second set monitor speaker

Presonus Central Station gets my vote as best "bang for the buck". Whichever you choose, use the right tool for the right job
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-20-2013, 03:14 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Ideas to run a second set monitor speaker

Passive monitor controller with two sources, two destination pairs, and headphone jack. Plus mono and mute switches. They have more feature-rich models, too.

http://www.smproaudio.com/index.php/...i-res-pictures
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-20-2013, 03:14 PM
Romancha Romancha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 11
Default Re: Ideas to run a second set monitor speaker

Sorry about the lack of clarity: the 2nd set are not powered and would require an amp. You are correct with respect to the outs on my interface ... I'll have a look the links to see if they can be applied ...
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-20-2013, 03:23 PM
Romancha Romancha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 11
Default Re: Ideas to run a second set monitor speaker

So, that M Patch unit would allow me to connect both sets of speakers, one passive signal (going out to the powered Mackie's) and the other powered to the 8ohm speakers ... then I could feed the signal from the ULN2 to the input and switch from there?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-20-2013, 03:32 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Ideas to run a second set monitor speaker

Quote:
Originally Posted by Romancha View Post
So, that M Patch unit would allow me to connect both sets of speakers, one passive signal (going out to the powered Mackie's) and the other powered to the 8ohm speakers ... then I could feed the signal from the ULN2 to the input and switch from there?
Yes, but you will need an amp for your unpowered speakers.

So it would go

ULN Output L&R > MPatch input L&R
MPatch Output 1 L&R > Mackies
MPatch Output 2 L&R > amp > speakers

And you would also have room to feen another stereo device to the MPatch's AUX inputs, if you so choose.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-20-2013, 04:13 PM
jasonthurley's Avatar
jasonthurley jasonthurley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York NY
Posts: 1,451
Default Re: Ideas to run a second set monitor speaker

Or a very cheap solution is to just split your output out to both the Mackies and the amp for the new speakers by using the monitor out and Main L/R outputs of the ULN-2 (this is 2 separate outputs on your interface already so paying $130 for a passive switch is pricy... for a simple switcher), use a simple power switch (this could be as simple as a power strip, one for each set of speakers) and turn the mackies on or off... use either the monitor knob to turn up the send to the amplified speaker pair or the power switch on the amplifier.... You could just get a simple power selector switcher and press a button to turn the amp or powered mackies on or off...

This one is 15 bucks... http://www.amazon.com/American-Four-...power+switcher
__________________
-Systems Engineer, Systems and Sound Designer, Recording and Mixing Engineer
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-20-2013, 04:50 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Ideas to run a second set monitor speaker

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonthurley View Post
You could just get a simple power selector switcher and press a button to turn the amp or powered mackies on or off...
I don't know why, but this makes me nervous. Am I wrong to think that hitting the power button every time you want to A/B is going to shorten the life of the PSU inside each speaker?

$130 may seem like a lot to pay, but I think it's reasonable. You get source and destination switching, a big-ass knob, mono switching, and an extra headphone patch.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dynaudio BM 6A Monitor speaker booter Buy & Sell 0 06-22-2013 02:46 PM
speaker monitor question. bchelune Windows 1 07-14-2012 06:59 PM
Monitor Speaker Out Not Working reelzman ICON & C|24 11 05-23-2007 04:33 PM
Monitor Speaker Suggestions Darney 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-31-2005 05:36 PM
When is a speaker a monitor? John Link General Discussion 10 01-18-2003 02:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com