Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-28-2019, 04:34 AM
protoolsuserman protoolsuserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London
Posts: 325
Default Venue 192 dsp option card in the studio?

Is it possible to use a venue 192 hdx dsp option card in the studio as an hdx card? I notice the early versions don't have the fan shroud kit installed. Looks identical to an hdx card to me. Am I wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-29-2019, 02:53 AM
protoolsuserman protoolsuserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London
Posts: 325
Default Re: Venue 192 dsp option card in the studio?

Anyone??
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-29-2019, 03:03 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,100
Default Re: Venue 192 dsp option card in the studio?

I'm guessing you need to wait for awhile to get comments on this one. HDX users are minority to begin with, and most obviously have retail cards that have the fan. Good luck finding someone who has tried this already.

What you could do is by the card with the option to return it if it doesn't work. If the seller does not agree to your terms, it likely will not.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-29-2019, 01:32 PM
protoolsuserman protoolsuserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London
Posts: 325
Default Re: Venue 192 dsp option card in the studio?

I think you're right.

I just love the idea of being able to track a vocalist in the studio without having to disable plugins and with almost zero latency. Its the dream man !!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-29-2019, 02:38 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,090
Default Re: Venue 192 dsp option card in the studio?

I think there are some folks on GS who have tried this.
It doesn't work.
It has inevitably led to attempts by others to modify these cards, breakage, and then outrage that Avid won't fix them (return to sender; won't do it for any price and the warranty on HDX cards is already a small window so that wasn't even an option.)

Just get a real HDX card. They show up used.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD Omni • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6 • RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-29-2019, 04:16 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,908
Default Re: Venue 192 dsp option card in the studio?

Can’t find the thread here right now but there is a loooong thread from a guy who bought a card such as yours and it took lver 3 months to realize Avid won’t endorse a service or a fix for that card he bought pretty cheap on ebay. Only issues and more issues and promises from different Avid service placds who started with 400-500 Euro to fix then it was a no to even recieve the card and then he gavd up in the end.


Stay far away from buying a compromised card in any way shape or form. Try search for that thread and if I find it I will post it here. Lots of info there.

Here is one of these problem cards:
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=402136
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-30-2019, 03:00 AM
protoolsuserman protoolsuserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London
Posts: 325
Default Re: Venue 192 dsp option card in the studio?

Seller told me he’s sold one card already and the buyer has had successes.

Hopefully on to a winner here.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-30-2019, 08:50 AM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 868
Default Re: Venue 192 dsp option card in the studio?

How much is he selling it for? Used hdx is about 2k on ebay.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-30-2019, 09:57 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,100
Default Re: Venue 192 dsp option card in the studio?

Quote:
Originally Posted by protoolsuserman View Post
Seller told me he’s sold one card already and the buyer has had successes.

Hopefully on to a winner here.
Report back when you have installed. I'm also curious because HDX card without a fan would appeal to me more than the retail card with a windtunnel.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S6L HDX Option card in Mac Pro protoolsuserman Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 09-27-2019 05:05 PM
S6L - SRC on madi option card Haave VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 01-09-2017 06:21 AM
192 Digital Card - built in same as option card? johnsimmons Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 02-22-2011 01:02 PM
No "Edit MIDI Studio Setup" Option! altemir 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-14-2005 07:42 PM
AV Option card order TWoZ Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 04-03-2003 10:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com