Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-18-2002, 03:16 PM
Keith Lowdon Keith Lowdon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North of the south pole
Posts: 221
Default Allen & Heath GS2 with 001

I just scored a GS2 and am now trying to figure out how best to run it with the 001. You guys seems to know everything else, so I thought there might be someone out there that has used this board.
Thanks,
Keith
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-19-2002, 12:58 AM
synthguy99 synthguy99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Missouri
Posts: 256
Default Re: Allen & Heath GS2 with 001

Do you mean GL2? I went to the Allen & Heath site and that's what I saw. This link will take you to the older products area with downloads for the user guide and block diagrams in PDF format.
http://www.allen-heath.com/veterans/

We use mixers to increase our input capacities. If this is baby talk to you, be patient but some people have no idea how to use this stuff, so I'm staring with basic details. The GL2 has four groups and a stereo out, probly 1-2, 3-4 and L-R on the assign buttons on each channel, but this technique works with any mixer of any capacity. You can assign a drumkit to a stereo group by miking up 3 to 7 channels, and assigning them to group 1-2, the first two sliders of the groups. You'd plug your cables from the 1-2 group outs into any two inputs of the 001 unit, like 1 and 2 on the front. If you're using the mixer with a monitor amp, then you'd also assign those drum channels to the stereo L-R buss. If not, the L-R buss gives you another whole stereo buss to work with. The A&H eq should sound really good, so you could try using it to get the tone you want, but its a GOOD idea to adjust it very little. Un-EQing a recording messes with the sound unnecessarily, and messed-with sounds are less clear. You could use a stereo compressor unit if you have one, across those groups to keep from overdriving the inputs of the 001 during peaks, but again compress lightly. If you wanted to do special processing with the snare, you could run it out a direct out of it's channel and into another channel of the 001, like 3. Maybe do the same with a kick, send it direct out to 4. Suppose you were doing a live take with a guitar and bass. Mike up the guitar and send it panned to one side of the next group, like 3-4, but panned hard left so it only goes out 3, unless you want it in stereo. If you do, then send the bass out a direct into the 001 like input 7, then the 3-4 groups panned left and right into inputs 5 and 6 on the 001. This way your instruments are mostly isolated and can be recorded on separate tracks, treated differently with effects, compression or whatever. If there's another guitar player or keyboardist there, then you have to divvy up channels and inputs differently to fit them all in, or record them in different takes, but that's the life of a studio engineer. [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-19-2002, 10:51 AM
Keith Lowdon Keith Lowdon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North of the south pole
Posts: 221
Default Re: Allen & Heath GS2 with 001

HiSynthguy
Duh... Yep I meant GL2. Thanks for the advice and no you are not insulting me as I know very little. I'll try your advice this weekend. Thanks for the response!
Keith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Allen and Heath ZED 24 mrjames Pro Tools 10 3 05-03-2012 03:23 PM
Will PT9 work with a Allen & Heath Z14? Jwhitehead333 macOS 4 05-03-2012 12:52 PM
Allen & Heath ZED R16 with PT9 and OSX10.5 jeanpauldubock macOS 4 09-26-2011 11:31 PM
Allen & Heath MixWizard WZ 20:8:2 jay stewart Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 07-06-2008 08:59 PM
allen and heath gs 3 mersisblue Tips & Tricks 6 09-01-2003 09:50 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com