Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-27-2020, 11:25 AM
BenzoSt2 BenzoSt2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Ipswich MA
Posts: 13
Default projects in Project Cache folder can't be copied to another computer?

I would like to work on my musical projects on multiple computers - my desktop computer and my laptop computer. However, I don't want to bother with online cloud storage.

I have read that my projects are saved locally to my desktop computer in the Documents/Pro Tools/Project Cache folder.

So I figured I could copy the files in the Project Cache folder of my desktop computer and paste them in the same folder on my laptop.

However, when I run Pro Tools First on my laptop, the files don't show up when I choose Open Project from the File drop down menu. Instead, I see a window labeled Dashboard with the text, "Project list is empty."

How can I transfer my Pro Tools First projects between computers without resorting to cloud storage?
__________________
Benzo Stanbury
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-28-2020, 04:46 AM
marcoo marcoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: ottawa
Posts: 1
Default Re: projects in Project Cache folder can't be copied to another computer?

morning from canada. did you ever get a reply or a resolution to this? I was wondering the same thing, and for me, the cloud thing always fails to upload.

thanks
.marc
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-02-2020, 11:25 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,752
Default Re: projects in Project Cache folder can't be copied to another computer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenzoSt2 View Post
I would like to work on my musical projects on multiple computers - my desktop computer and my laptop computer. However, I don't want to bother with online cloud storage.

I have read that my projects are saved locally to my desktop computer in the Documents/Pro Tools/Project Cache folder.

So I figured I could copy the files in the Project Cache folder of my desktop computer and paste them in the same folder on my laptop.

However, when I run Pro Tools First on my laptop, the files don't show up when I choose Open Project from the File drop down menu. Instead, I see a window labeled Dashboard with the text, "Project list is empty."

How can I transfer my Pro Tools First projects between computers without resorting to cloud storage?
You can only copy Pro Tools First Projects by signing in on another computer using the same Avid Account the project was created with. Cannot transfer local projects from one computer to another.

-Tope
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"The Project owner has deleted the shared project" - offline Projects lost rcprog Pro Tools | First Discussion 75 12-20-2019 06:37 AM
Projects Cache deleted when sign out?? thanos4 Pro Tools 2018 1 02-18-2018 04:57 AM
Copied projects on an external harddisc wount play hamiso 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-23-2010 10:27 AM
Fade files getting copied outside of main folder ansanity 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-29-2009 08:18 PM
Folder size changes when copied Tim R. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 01-27-2003 11:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com