Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-27-2013, 11:38 PM
bcslaam bcslaam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Perth
Posts: 30
Default Locked Channel order in Bus

How come when I start an ebu128 project from scratch and then go into i/o setup and try to create a bus with L R C LFE Ls Rs channel order it wont let me. It always makes a film mix order thats locked.

Also the downmixer plugin channel order is fixed at film mix order.

I want to do a dvd/ebu128 stem mix with source files in interleaved 5.1 itu/ebu order and keep the whole mix itu/ebu. Plus output a LoRo

If protools wont let me how am I supposed to deal with my source files? Externally convert before import and after printing? Surely not. What am I missing?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-28-2013, 11:54 AM
C C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: LA, CA, USA
Posts: 926
Default Re: Locked Channel order in Bus

So when you say a bus with that order…

Busses are always created in Film order and then mapped to the order of the output path they are linked to. It's been this way since v8.

Track types similarly default to order according to the film spec.

Output Meter order should follow your selection in the IO window though so if you set it to LRCLFELsRs then the Output meters in the toolbar and transport will present in that order.

The Downmix plugin also Maps the inputs and output paths. I'd suggest running some confidence tests to double check.

C
__________________
--
Ceri Thomas
Personal Site
Mix Tech/Assistant Sound Editor
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-28-2013, 08:01 PM
bcslaam bcslaam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Perth
Posts: 30
Default Re: Locked Channel order in Bus

Thanks for the reply.

So in not being able to change that bus order I'm not able to deal with itu source files from start to finish.

The only way I could finish the job was to split my source files to mono after import, re-arrange the order, re-assemble, then the same upon outputting. I wanted to apply phase coherent compression to each stem meaning I cant keep them as split mono, given that I need to make a stereo downmix bus for LoRo.

Confused as to why avid want to stick with one archaic format and not make it changeable within the project like a post audio daw should do.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-29-2013, 12:11 PM
C C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: LA, CA, USA
Posts: 926
Default Re: Locked Channel order in Bus

Good question. I believe there is something on ideascale for this request too. Might be worth having a look and adding a vote with example workflow.
__________________
--
Ceri Thomas
Personal Site
Mix Tech/Assistant Sound Editor
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 5.1 export channel order Charles Deenen Post - Surround - Video 27 06-08-2016 06:58 AM
CAF channel-order still wrong in 9.0.5 Arno Peeters Post - Surround - Video 3 07-26-2015 07:55 AM
D-Control channel mute/solo order JonesH ICON & C|24 2 04-30-2009 06:26 AM
Can you change the default channel order of an interleaved.. dj_grimmace Post - Surround - Video 4 11-12-2007 08:10 AM
Changing channel order in bounced files. JonHallur Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 04-04-2007 12:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com