Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > System 5

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-10-2012, 10:08 PM
Bear Jam Bear Jam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 15
Default System 5MC and XMON Talkback Mic Help

Hello all,

I have a System 5MC and I am just about to add the XMON unit so I can have a working Talkback Mic. I read that I will need to also get a phantom power supply for the internal mic to work correctly. Does anyone have any experience with which might be a good one to buy and why?

I guess I will need a few short mic cables as well.

Thanks in advance for the help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-11-2012, 06:08 AM
The golfer The golfer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Montreal / Canada
Posts: 721
Default Re: System 5MC and XMON Talkback Mic Help

I'm just curious...Do you aleady own an XMON? there are cheaper talkback solution.

I' am using the System 5 mc internal mic into a small $50 mixer:

http://www.behringer.com/EN/Products/502.aspx

The output feed one of PT input. I use busses as send to headphones and Massey
talkback plugin for the auto talkback feature:

http://diamond.he.net/~smassey/plugin.html

If you need latch talkback, you bypass the plugin and use the System 5 MC mic aux input "on" switch.
__________________
Serge Hamel
Mixer / Sound Designer
http://www.netpostproduction.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-11-2012, 10:34 PM
Bear Jam Bear Jam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 15
Default Re: System 5MC and XMON Talkback Mic Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by The golfer View Post
I'm just curious...Do you aleady own an XMON? there are cheaper talkback solution.

I' am using the System 5 mc internal mic into a small $50 mixer:

http://www.behringer.com/EN/Products/502.aspx

The output feed one of PT input. I use busses as send to headphones and Massey
talkback plugin for the auto talkback feature:

http://diamond.he.net/~smassey/plugin.html

If you need latch talkback, you bypass the plugin and use the System 5 MC mic aux input "on" switch.
Thank you so much for your suggestion. Unfortunately I already bought the XMON. I have been using a similar setup that you have described but I really want to use the "talk back" button on my console and it seems that the XMON does a lot of other things as well. Hopefully I didn't just waste a lot of money!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-13-2012, 05:55 AM
The golfer The golfer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Montreal / Canada
Posts: 721
Default Re: System 5MC and XMON Talkback Mic Help

Even better. Now you have both great monitoring and talkback capabilities.
__________________
Serge Hamel
Mixer / Sound Designer
http://www.netpostproduction.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-23-2012, 07:13 AM
Roll Roll is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brussels
Posts: 101
Default Re: System 5MC and XMON Talkback Mic Help

Serge,

with the XMON on the MC PRO, can you have the auto-talkback function too, just like an ICON (talkback on when transport stop )

thanks

roland
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-24-2012, 06:11 PM
The golfer The golfer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Montreal / Canada
Posts: 721
Default Re: System 5MC and XMON Talkback Mic Help

It's good to know. Thanks!
__________________
Serge Hamel
Mixer / Sound Designer
http://www.netpostproduction.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-30-2012, 10:15 AM
dbf's Avatar
dbf dbf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Paris,France
Posts: 19
Default Re: System 5MC and XMON Talkback Mic Help

Hi All,

I have a new S5 MC for now a week,linked to a Xmon for monitoring purposes.
Everything is working smoothly,except the talkback button.
Everything works on the xmon eucon soft,sometimes the tb button dims the ctl monitors,sometimes not, and the most annoying thing is that the talkback mike is always active,even when the button is released.
The cabling is ok,mike to 48v,preamp to the subd15,external tb works too.
There is very few documentation on the subject.do you have any experiences
to share about?
Thanks for any help!
Dominique
__________________
Quality is a fight of the future

www.labomaticstudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System 5 MC with XMON thezodiac System 5 5 12-27-2014 01:08 PM
System 5 MC/XMON can't turn off MUTE... HELP! BearJamStudios System 5 4 03-05-2014 04:14 AM
Is it possible to use an AVIOM system with Xmon/D-Command????? HumDrumPrune2 ICON & C|24 1 03-29-2009 05:44 AM
Integrating an Aviom system with Xmon Sui_City ICON & C|24 2 09-17-2008 08:55 AM
Talkback system.. Got one? barznbeats1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 01-31-2005 09:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com