Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-26-2011, 11:15 AM
Suddenly Clear Suddenly Clear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 76
Default Fast Track c400

I've just ordered a Fast Track c400 (partly hoping it will mend my midi woes outlined in my other recent post). I'm running Pro Tools MP 8.05 and read the c400 works with MP, but I've since thought theres's a chance it won't with 8.05. Any idea?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-27-2011, 08:26 AM
derFunkenstein derFunkenstein is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 261
Default Re: Fast Track c400

Nope. Time to crossgrade to MP9.

http://avid.custkb.com/avid/app/self...p?DocId=354149

C400 is not listed.

edit: return the C400, buy a C400+ MP9 bundle ($400 at Sweetwater), and get Eleven LE, Strike, and Velvet for free. Otherwise it's $250-ish for the C400 + $199 for the MP9 crossgrade. Why spend more and get less?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-28-2011, 09:35 AM
Suddenly Clear Suddenly Clear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 76
Default Re: Fast Track c400

Thank you for your reply, derFunkenstein, and for taking the time out to help me.

My C400 arrived today. The really good news is I decided to give it a go with Pro Tools 8.05 and guess what? You're right! It worked fine and solved my MIDI problem to boot!

The offer from Sweetwater looks good. They were not on my radar because I'm in the UK (though I actually bought the device from Spain). One thing I couldn't see was the offer for the extra virtual instruments, you mentioned. It's all hypothetical now - as I'm going to stick with PT8 and keep the C400 - but I would really have liked Strike, especially.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-29-2011, 02:17 PM
hooksound hooksound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: N/A
Posts: 240
Default Re: Fast Track c400

"Not supported" and "not working" is not the same. C400 came out in the MP9 time frame, so of course this combination is officially supported by AVID. I use a couple of apps on XP, which are only supported on Windows 7. They work fine. Other posts state that if you install e.g. MP9 on XP, you get a lot of warnings during installation, but it still works. Anyway, AVID support costs money and that's the same as "no support available" to me. I will never ever pay for that. Try out the C400 on your MP8 and if it doesn't work flawlessly with your most complex session, return it to the dealer and get your money back. Alternatively, you could look at the FastTrack Pro. Not as good looking as the C400, but well proven.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fast Track c400 issues (help) stereopole FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 8 01-11-2016 05:53 AM
Fast track c400 drawing too much power liferhythm9 FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 4 01-03-2014 12:46 AM
Fast Track C400 w/ PT11 ?? sandersonc84 Pro Tools 11 1 07-05-2013 03:44 PM
PT10.3 and Fast Track C400 frcjt macOS 2 09-16-2012 10:07 AM
Problems with New Fast Track C400 maestrochase Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 01-17-2012 03:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com