Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-15-2009, 12:07 AM
japspecvr6 japspecvr6 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 112
Default Spdif External Pre 002 Problems.....

Someone pls help me out-here. I have a pre that i want to run by bypassing the stock pre on the digi unit........Im not getting any signal when I arm the input to spdif Left or Right....Im confused..... Here is my chain.

710> XLR To Spdif Cable> Digi 002 Spdif In...........And Still not working. Im I missing something ????
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-15-2009, 12:28 AM
rqstudio rqstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,322
Default Re: Spdif External Pre 002 Problems.....

Check out the thread just below by shawnames, lots of info
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-15-2009, 06:42 AM
japspecvr6 japspecvr6 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 112
Default Re: Spdif External Pre 002 Problems.....

But i tried everything in that thread....The cable i have is made by Redco....Plus it wrks if i use it on 7 or 8 alt source. There has got to be something im missing here ????
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-15-2009, 07:54 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,902
Default Re: Spdif External Pre 002 Problems.....

Exactly what 710 preamp are you using?
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-15-2009, 08:08 AM
japspecvr6 japspecvr6 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 112
Default Re: Spdif External Pre 002 Problems.....

Universal Audio 710......
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-15-2009, 08:17 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,742
Default Re: Spdif External Pre 002 Problems.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by japspecvr6 View Post
But i tried everything in that thread....The cable i have is made by Redco....Plus it wrks if i use it on 7 or 8 alt source. There has got to be something im missing here ????
This makes me think you are not using the correct connections. The Alt Src into 7&8 is an analog input. Take a long look back there are start over. 1 SPDIF cable from a SPDIF output on the preamp to the SPDIF input of the 002. Don't assume an RCA jack is a SPDIF connection if it does not say SPDIF.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-15-2009, 08:45 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,902
Default Re: Spdif External Pre 002 Problems.....

I have never seen one of these with a digital out... are you sure?
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-15-2009, 08:45 AM
japspecvr6 japspecvr6 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 112
Default Re: Spdif External Pre 002 Problems.....

Well I'm going from a analog line with a rca or spdif connect @ the other end. I just wanna bypass the pre and use this 710 without digis coloring to it. And I'm not confusing the inputs.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-15-2009, 08:48 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,902
Default Re: Spdif External Pre 002 Problems.....

It doesn't work that way my friend. The preamp would need converters to do this.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-15-2009, 08:50 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,902
Default Re: Spdif External Pre 002 Problems.....

Send to 5-8 of the 002 to bypass the preamps and use the converters.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone using external D/A via optical SPDIF on 003? djsun macOS 5 08-30-2011 03:47 PM
external effects on SPDIF futreboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 09-27-2010 03:09 PM
External FX via SPDIF TAPKAE 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 01-21-2003 02:18 PM
Using 192 I/0's SPDIF for external FX? Impala Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 09-17-2002 02:20 PM
Using External Effects, via SPDIF?? CTY 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-14-1999 10:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com