Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-22-2009, 02:21 PM
mixerboy mixerboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 236
Default I need an EQ matching plug in!

Can anyone recommend an EQ plug that works in audio suite rather than the mixer that can copy an EQ curve from one piece of audio and allow me to save the curve for use on another piece of audio.

I have vocal takes, same mic, same room but different times and they just sound so different.

I have tried Ozone and unless I was doing something wrong I could not hear any difference. I don't like the way that worked.

There must be something out there?
Cheers for any suggestions.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-22-2009, 03:28 PM
KingFish KingFish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 2,658
Default Re: I need an EQ matching plug in!

Try DUY Magic Spectrum LE
__________________
David

- MacPro 6,1 Intel Xeon E5 2.7 GHz 12-Core 128 GB 1066 MHz DDR3
- HDX II Sonnet xMacPro Server
- 16x16 HD i/o x 6
- PT 2018.10
- OS X 10.14.4
- ProTools Dock / PT Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-22-2009, 07:56 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,799
Default Re: I need an EQ matching plug in!

i believe roger nichols frequalizer does this as well. i used to use it a lot, just never for this purpose.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 9900k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-23-2009, 10:20 AM
mixerboy mixerboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 236
Default Re: I need an EQ matching plug in!

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingFish View Post
Try DUY Magic Spectrum LE
I downloaded the demo. Unlike the others this one alters the sound but it sounds bloody awful. I also cannot get it to work in audiosuite.

I must be doing something wrong here.
I want to take a region and copy the EQ curve. Then apply that curve to another region. I'm working on a vocal track so it might only be the one word here and there. As I am trying to build a perfect vocal take I can't see how placing the plugin in the mixer is going to help?

Are there any manual tricks for this problem. Having tried 3 or 4 plug ins that claim to do this but don't or at least I can't figure them out there must be a solution for such a common issue?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-23-2009, 10:42 AM
sean shannon sean shannon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 801
Default Re: I need an EQ matching plug in!

Can you do it by ear using a standard EQ?
__________________
Check your mix in mono.
www.mixingtheband.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-23-2009, 11:04 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,531
Default Re: I need an EQ matching plug in!

Once you find the setting you want, insert the EQ plug-in on the track and then automate the plug-in to come on only when you want. Do remember that plug-ins are pre fader on Audio Tracks, so if you want the plug-in to be post fader, you'll have to bus the track to an AUX Track and put the EQ plug-in there.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-23-2009, 04:15 PM
shea shea is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 512
Default Re: I need an EQ matching plug in!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mixerboy View Post
Can anyone recommend an EQ plug that works in audio suite rather than the mixer that can copy an EQ curve from one piece of audio and allow me to save the curve for use on another piece of audio.

I have vocal takes, same mic, same room but different times and they just sound so different.

I have tried Ozone and unless I was doing something wrong I could not hear any difference. I don't like the way that worked.

There must be something out there?
Cheers for any suggestions.
The best plug for this job imo is (har bal) easy to use and no other plug comes close for this particular job.Its a stand alone.
Google it and watch video If you have any problem matching eq I will show you.

seamus
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-23-2009, 05:46 PM
KingFish KingFish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 2,658
Default Re: I need an EQ matching plug in!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mixerboy View Post
I downloaded the demo. Unlike the others this one alters the sound but it sounds bloody awful. I also cannot get it to work in audiosuite.

I must be doing something wrong here.
I want to take a region and copy the EQ curve. Then apply that curve to another region. I'm working on a vocal track so it might only be the one word here and there. As I am trying to build a perfect vocal take I can't see how placing the plugin in the mixer is going to help?

Are there any manual tricks for this problem. Having tried 3 or 4 plug ins that claim to do this but don't or at least I can't figure them out there must be a solution for such a common issue?
i generally get GREAT results using MagicSpectrum

HERES A LITTLE MOVIE OF MY WORKFLOW

As explained, you've always gotta tweak the results a bit, but you can "Set it up on a track" - till you have your "Results (Which you can actually save as a preset as well) then Process all the little pieces in AudioSuite.
__________________
David

- MacPro 6,1 Intel Xeon E5 2.7 GHz 12-Core 128 GB 1066 MHz DDR3
- HDX II Sonnet xMacPro Server
- 16x16 HD i/o x 6
- PT 2018.10
- OS X 10.14.4
- ProTools Dock / PT Control
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-24-2009, 03:07 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,305
Default Re: I need an EQ matching plug in!

Quote:
Originally Posted by shea View Post
The best plug for this job imo is (har bal) easy to use and no other plug comes close for this particular job.Its a stand alone.
Google it and watch video If you have any problem matching eq I will show you.

seamus
I wasn’t even looking for one of these, but I’m getting it anyway. Thanks
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Matching ADR zzstation Post - Surround - Video 3 08-08-2011 06:25 AM
matching tempos - help!! alexruimy General Discussion 5 07-15-2011 06:25 PM
EQ Matching Moviesound Post - Surround - Video 35 05-30-2010 10:44 PM
The Matching Criteria List and Matching Playlists EricWillhelm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-13-2009 02:35 PM
Matching EQ stealth Tips & Tricks 6 11-10-2001 01:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com