Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-04-2011, 10:08 PM
mark007 mark007 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 18
Default Two keyboards playing different instruments

Hi all,

I was wondering how I can play 2 different instruments with 2 keyboards. I have hooked up 2 keyboards, an Axiom and a UBX, both via USB to my computer. When I insert any instrument on a track, both keyboards play the same thing. What do I need to set to let each keyboard play a different instrument on a different track?


Thanks,

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-04-2011, 11:34 PM
HD2 HD2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 928
Default Re: Two keyboards playing different instruments

YOu need to assign your midi channels on the tracks.
Read Chapter 23 of the PT user guide on midi recording.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-05-2011, 01:47 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,629
Default Re: Two keyboards playing different instruments

That's a good start. Then go to VIEW>Mix Windows Shows and check "Instruments". That will add a box at the very top of each strip(only in the MIX window) so you can select which instrument(your midi keyboard/controller) will "play" which of the 2 instrument tracks. Hold the ALT key and click on the record button on one instrument track and both should go red(and be ready to record). Of course, sometimes PT just has a mind of its own as this works on my rig some days, and other days simply won't work. Midi is a Bee, EYE T.C.H.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help - keyboard not playing instruments in PT8 stuartmlambert 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 19 11-26-2012 02:18 AM
Playing Virtual Instruments jaxsun23 Tips & Tricks 9 01-02-2009 08:01 AM
axiom 25 not playing instruments explorationx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 12-19-2008 05:52 AM
playing EXS instruments in PT Jussi Virtual Instruments 0 04-01-2008 05:01 PM
Native Instruments Xpress Keyboards James A. Abdo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-16-2004 10:56 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com