Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-24-2011, 04:07 AM
ChrisJones ChrisJones is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Where?
Posts: 34
Default Different Daw's - Different sound engines

I never really cared about this... But lately I've been doing these tests between different DAW's. Okey maybe boring...

First of all I know it's the user not the DAW. :)

I use Pro Tools HD and Pro Tools 9. I have always got better mixes with Pro Tools HD. Tighter bottom and smoother highs and better mids. The things is I don't know really why. People call me crazy and maybe it's my mixing mood that day. But man this is killing me. Does anyone feel the same? Okey we have the 32 float vs the 48 fixed. But still it shouldn't stop me from making great mixes in 9(past LE). And I've heard some great mixes by others done in LE.

I know the mix won't sound the same if I open up a LE project in HD. So i can't really pre-mix at home then complete the mix with my HD rig cuz I will then have to change the whole mix. Btw I use Lynx Aurora for both of my setups.

Last night I demo'd Samplitude 11 and today I decided to do a test between different sound engines. 8 tracks stems, so no panning, volume at zero and no automations, just everything flat out. Except every track had Waves SSL channel on it(EQ bypassed, Comp bypassed, Output level set to - 5.0)

My results...
Pro Tools HD - Nulled with none
Pro Tools 9 - Only Nulled with Cubase
Cubase 3 - Well.. nulled with PT9
Samplitude 11(demo) - Nulled with none
Reaper(latest version) - Nulled with none

Well none of them sounded better just slightly different.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-24-2011, 04:22 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,092
Default Re: Different Daw's - Different sound engines

I've always found mixing harder in LE due to the misrepresentation of the mbox D-As / pre-amps, rather than any inherent problems in the software. I've opened LE mixes in HD and got it to ø, the main differences being any ADC and time delays between busses, rather than any obvious differences in TDM, RTAS, 32 vs 48 bit, etc etc. I've not exactly been scientific in my approach though, I have to admit.

As for the rest of the DAWs, I'm afraid I couldn't say.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-24-2011, 10:32 PM
ericsvizeny ericsvizeny is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 209
Default

Interesting...
__________________
Forte Sound Studio - studio@ericsvizeny.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Profile dsp / mix engines noahdh VENUE Live Sound Systems 4 08-28-2013 10:42 PM
CoreAudio Problem, Mbox 2 Mini Recognized but No Sound Through Any Apps/Hanging DAW's WhiiteNoiise 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-16-2012 01:22 PM
Sound FX search engines for Intel based MAC rosalie Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 07-12-2007 08:27 AM
Sound FX search engines for Intel based MAC rosalie Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 07-12-2007 04:56 AM
playback engines jimlongo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 06-21-2006 10:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com