Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-03-2003, 08:08 AM
Jonny Jones Jonny Jones is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: South Wales, UK
Posts: 7
Default XP lacking Mac Midi Functionality???

After some research it appears that XP does not have the MIDI devices/patch lists etc contained in apples CORE MIDI (OSX) or OMS (OS9). I would like to manage all my MIDI devices in this way and was disappointed that Windows lacks this feature...or am I wrong. I was hoping that OMS would work as it is dual platform but the bloke at digidesign said no (he did say he wasn't an expert so I hope he's wrong)
My question is this...on the MIDI side do I have to go through the hassle of setting up multi's on my synth selecting them and then allocating them channels in PT via channel number? Most sequencers and PT mac would allow me to choose patches by name from the full palette without choosing 16 patches to put in a multi first etc etc ...with me so far!
Thanks
Jonny
propective DIGI002R buyer
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-03-2003, 09:10 AM
who who is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: joesville, Montana, USA
Posts: 751
Default Re: XP lacking Mac Midi Functionality???

As far as I know, OMS is not dual platform, it is mac-only. As for patchnames, I think Pro Tools 6.1 supports them.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-03-2003, 09:24 AM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,089
Default Re: XP lacking Mac Midi Functionality???

only on the Mac
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-03-2003, 11:03 AM
Jonny Jones Jonny Jones is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: South Wales, UK
Posts: 7
Default Re: XP lacking Mac Midi Functionality???

Which is my point- although dual platform windows is short of quite an important feature for those working with midi.
As regards OMS- it was dual platform as was/is MOTU's freemidi but not many apps in the Windows world used them.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-03-2003, 11:44 AM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,089
Default Re: XP lacking Mac Midi Functionality???

I was disappointed at first. I liked names so I could scroll. Instead, I made a multi with the few patches I actually use and named the midi track appropriately. Definitely NOT a reason to give up Protools. You will especially like editing midi tracks in teh edit window so you can align notes between tracks easily. Very easy to go between tracks - something I found difficult in SX and Logic.
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-03-2003, 12:50 PM
Jonny Jones Jonny Jones is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: South Wales, UK
Posts: 7
Default Re: XP lacking Mac Midi Functionality???

My main gripe is that this function is available to mac users.
It is difficult to select a 16 part multi from 1000 patches. Sometimes you need a patch and just want to audition a load before deciding- with local off I am auditioning tons of patches via sonar at the moment. I want to move to PT and I want to stay with PC (just bought a lovely sony GRT815M lappie) but I feel mac is the way to go for PT at the moment or go with Nuendo on the PC. I understand it's not that big a deal but if you are used to a certain feature to manage devices it is difficult to work more 'primitively'. Freemidi and OMS can work on windows so I don't know why digi didn't licence a MIDI management app and work it into PT for PC.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-03-2003, 12:54 PM
nikki-k nikki-k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Hobette Alley
Posts: 2,357
Default Re: XP lacking Mac Midi Functionality???

Hi!
Dual Platform? Uhh- not! OMS and FreeMIDI were both OS9 (and earlier, to a point) only. Due to some shortcomings in OMS, Apple chose to create Core MIDI, going hand-in-hand with...Core Audio.

Windows HAS the ability to do these things, sort of. However,it is up to the software developer to provide these features within an app. Yeah, Cubase, Nuendo, etc have it. Even further, MidiQuest now has VST functionality, and can operate as VST within Steinberg prodicts.

I tried to start a petition on the DUC in thi section, and only 1 or two responded, so I figured I was imagining things, and that the majority of Win PT users could care less.

When it comes to Pro Tools, there is one simple rule: If it is a feature built into Mac OS, and not in Win, we will NEVER see it. The converse of this is true as well. There are exceptions to every rule, and BTD to wma is one for this rule. AVI? MPEG? Hehehe- dream on! QT is Mac, so we are stuck there. Want right-click functions? Gee- sorry, gotta wait until Mac OS offers it for them to even think of adding it, which we now have. Thx Apple! Want to create a templates for sessions? Good luck. Mac has a VERY nice feature, and we will never see it- when THEY save a session and follow the instructions for making it a template, and then open it as a session, THEY get to supply a name, and good ol' PT on Mac creates folders and such JUST like a "new session." Windows? Ha! Gotta do all that manually. I could go on for a page or two more...And yes, it has tempted me to either dump PT and Digi altogther, or go try Mac again. But I dont feel like dealing with that mess they call OS-X, proprietary hardware, etc, and all it takes is an hour on Nuendo to remind me why I love my HD system.

<gets off soapbox>
__________________
nikki k
Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.
On the other hand, you have different fingers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikki-k View Post
Sometimes ya just gotta put your tongue on the 9V battery just to see what all the fuss is about.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-03-2003, 01:54 PM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,089
Default Re: XP lacking Mac Midi Functionality???

at least they sound the same ( notwithstanding the lack of PC Plug-ins)
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-03-2003, 03:08 PM
mfym mfym is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 992
Default Re: XP lacking Mac Midi Functionality???

Apparently, something is going on at Digidesign to address the lack of patch names.

Maybe Digidesign could chime with an explanation of what "sound diver type function" is from this thread:

http://duc.digidesign.com/showflat.p...rue#Post501923

The fact that PTLE was ever going to have patch name selection with real patch names came as a complete surprise to me. I never expected it to happen, ever. However, as always, it's a question of when.

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-04-2003, 12:51 AM
Jonny Jones Jonny Jones is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: South Wales, UK
Posts: 7
Default Re: XP lacking Mac Midi Functionality???

Sorry Nikki but you are wrong.
Freemidi runs happily on windows and is contained in the MOTU Freestyle sequencer for windows. I've used it, it works, it is dual platform.
The following document from the digidesign web (originally from Opcode) refers to OMS being dual platform . Link is HERE
Check NOTE in italics on the second or third page.

By saying 'UHhh NO' you are implying that you have absolute knowledge which, for a newbie like myself can be very off putting. I appreciate you are trying to be helpful and I am grateful for you response to this thread. However, if you do not really know I would advise you to resist general assumptions. Moan over!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lost my MIDI functionality abbyin3d MIDI 2 06-06-2008 10:17 PM
Archaic midi functionality ghilfman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 04-04-2007 01:50 AM
How is V7 PT MIDI functionality better? c-post MIDI 4 02-21-2006 08:57 PM
How is PT lacking in Midi deejfro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 22 07-28-2005 08:57 PM
question about protools midi functionality katerkarlo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-06-2005 05:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com