Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #2451  
Old 11-05-2010, 05:59 PM
joethfc joethfc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Plymouth, UK
Posts: 18
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

Have been doing a mix of about 40 tracks on a Lenovo Thinkpad SL510 using just one 7200 hard drive and managing fine. If I was struggling I'd run the project from my external eSata drive.
Reply With Quote
  #2452  
Old 11-12-2010, 08:19 AM
padraic padraic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 26
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

I have a laptop with both firewire and eSATA.Which is the best to use for recording to an external hard drive?
Reply With Quote
  #2453  
Old 11-13-2010, 11:37 AM
QuikDraw QuikDraw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Yucaipa, California, USA
Posts: 2,102
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

This computer doesn't belong in the "Best Laptops" thread, but there doesn't seem to be a better place to post this...

I picked up a Fujitsu AH530 laptop basically for office work, but I figured since i3's typically perform better than Core 2 Duo's it might be worth trying with Pro Tools. It's not a powerhouse, but it does work. And it's cheap! I picked it up for $600.

The actual audio drive I'm using isn't listed in the Sandra report below because it wasn't connected at the time I ran the test. It's a 7200 rpm Western Digital Caviar 120GB IDE on USB2. It's about 7 or 8 years old. I used to use it with my Digi001 system. Yes, I've always used USB2 drives! It's cool that they're actually supported now on PT9!

I'm only getting 66 DVerbs in the DVerb 2 test, but that's not bad for a budget computer with a USB2 audio drive and absolutely zero optimizations. And my desktop gadgets are running as well as my wireless adapter, anti-virus, and everything else. Like I said, zero optimizations and zero tweaking.

I'm running PTLE 8.0.4cs2 with an MBox 2 Mini.
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit

SiSoftware Sandra
Computer
Model : FUJITSU LIFEBOOK AH530
Workgroup : MSHOME
Host Name : Mike-Laptop
User : Mike
Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU M 350 @ 2.27GHz
Speed : 2.26GHz
Cores per Processor : 2 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 2 Unit(s)
Type : Mobile, Dual-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 2x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L2 On-board Cache : 2x 256kB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L3 On-board Cache : 3MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 12-way, Exclusive, 64 byte line size, 4 threads sharing
Computer
Platform Compliance : Intel Centrino Mobile Technology
Mainboard : FUJITSU FJNBB06
BIOS : FUJITSU // Phoenix Technologies Ltd. Version 1.12 05/24/2010
Bus(es) : X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB PCMCIA USB i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 3.8GB DDR3 SO-DIMM
Chipset
Model : Fujitsu Core (Auburndale/Havendale) DRAM Controller
Front Side Bus Speed : 1x 133MHz (133MHz)
Total Memory : 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM
Shared Memory : 34MB
Channels : 2
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 532MHz (1GHz)
Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Samsung M471B5673FH0-CH9 2GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-10700S DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : Samsung M471B5673FH0-CH9 2GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-10700S DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Video System
Video Adapter : Intel(R) Graphics Media Accelerator HD (12 SM4.0 667MHz, 64MB DDR3 2x533MHz, Integrated Graphics)
Graphics Processor
Storage Devices
WDC WD5000BEVT-16A0RT0 (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 5400rpm, NCQ, 8MB Cache) : 466GB (C:) (D:)
SAMSUNG HD105SI (1TB, USB/SATA, 3.5", 7200rpm) : 932GB (F:)
TSSTcorp CDDVDW TS-L633B (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (E:)
Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk : 200MB (NTFS)
Iomega HDD (F:) : 932GB (NTFS) @ SAMSUNG HD105SI (1TB, USB/SATA, 3.5", 7200rpm)
Hard Disk (C:) : 225GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD5000BEVT-16A0RT0 (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 5400rpm, NCQ, 8MB Cache)
Hard Disk (D:) : 225GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD5000BEVT-16A0RT0 (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 5400rpm, NCQ, 8MB Cache)
Hard Disk : 16GB (NTFS)
Optical Drive (E:) : N/A @ TSSTcorp CDDVDW TS-L633B (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)
Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Fujitsu HM55 LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : Winbond W83687THF
Audio Device : Fujitsu P55/PM55/3400 High Definition Audio
Audio Codec : Realtek Semiconductor High Definition Audio
Disk Controller : Fujitsu P55/PM55/3400 4 port SATA AHCI Controller
USB Controller 1 : Fujitsu P55/PM55/3400 USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
USB Controller 2 : Fujitsu P55/PM55/3400 USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel 801xx/63xx SMBus
Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Printer : hp LaserJet 1012 HB (600x600)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)
Printer : Brother PC-FAX v.2 (200x200)
Printer : Brother MFC-420CN USB Printer (Colour)
Scanners and Cameras
Scanner : Brother MFC-420CN LAN (Scanner, 600x2400, USB)
Network Services
Network Adapter : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
Network Adapter : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
Network Adapter : Check Point Virtual Network Adapter For SSL Network Extender
Wireless Adapter 1 : Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (802.11g (ERP), WEP n-bit, 54Mbps)
Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line
Battery No 1 : 100%
Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 6.01.7600
Platform Compliance : x64
Windows Experience Index
Current System : 4.5
Reply With Quote
  #2454  
Old 11-29-2010, 12:00 PM
IndieNick2 IndieNick2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boston, Ma
Posts: 5
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

Hey all,

I'm looking to get a new laptop and PT9. Two questions...

1. Thoughts on HP Pavilion DV6-3052NR NoteBook Intel Core i7 720QM(1.60GHz) 15.6" 6GB Memory 500GB HDD 7200rpm DVD Super Multi ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650 ?

2. I currently run PTLE 7.4. I'm looking to get the upgrade for PT9, so would I have to install 7.4 on the new machine first? From what I've read, it will not run on Windows 7. Will it at least install properly so I can then buy the upgrade? Or are there other steps that I need to take?

I'm currently using an Mbox 2 mini for PTLE 7.4 on an older Dell desktop running XP.

Thanks!
__________________
Windows 7 64bit
HP Pavillion DV6
i7 740
6G RAM
500G WD My Book Ext. HD
Pro Tools 9.0.1
Mbox 2 Mini
Reply With Quote
  #2455  
Old 11-29-2010, 12:03 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

Quote:
Originally Posted by IndieNick2 View Post
2. I currently run PTLE 7.4. I'm looking to get the upgrade for PT9, so would I have to install 7.4 on the new machine first? From what I've read, it will not run on Windows 7. Will it at least install properly so I can then buy the upgrade? Or are there other steps that I need to take.
PT9 is a full installer; you do not need an older version installed.

Sorry; no opinions on that laptop.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #2456  
Old 11-29-2010, 01:15 PM
ValkRider ValkRider is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Vermont
Posts: 213
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

Using Pro Tools 9, do you think this could be used?
I can't find anything refering to an HP in the threads, hoping some one can give me an idea. Thanks
Specs:
HP Pavillion dv7tse series
Operating system Genuine Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
OS and recovery media System Recovery DVD with Genuine Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-740QM Quad Core processor (1.73GHz, 6MB L3 Cache) w/Turbo Boost up to 2.93 GHz
Graphics card 1GB ATI Mobility Radeon(TM) HD 5650 graphics [HDMI, VGA] - For Quad Core Processors
Memory FREE Upgrade to 8GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm)
Hard drive 1TB 7200RPM Dual Hard Drive (500GB x 2) with HP ProtectSmart Hard Drive Protection
Primary battery 9 Cell Lithium Ion Battery (over-sized)
Display 17.3" diagonal HD+ High-Definition HP LED BrightView Widescreen Display (1600 x 900)
Primary optical drive FREE Upgrade to Blu-ray player & Lightscribe SuperMulti DVD burner
Personalization HP TrueVision Webcam and Fingerprint Reader
Networking Intel Wireless-N Card
Keyboard Standard Keyboard
__________________
"So it goes", Kilgore Trout
Reply With Quote
  #2457  
Old 11-29-2010, 01:45 PM
IndieNick2 IndieNick2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boston, Ma
Posts: 5
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

Quote:
Originally Posted by spkguitar View Post
PT9 is a full installer; you do not need an older version installed.
This goes for the crossgrade from LE as well?
__________________
Windows 7 64bit
HP Pavillion DV6
i7 740
6G RAM
500G WD My Book Ext. HD
Pro Tools 9.0.1
Mbox 2 Mini
Reply With Quote
  #2458  
Old 11-29-2010, 10:01 PM
remis remis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 424
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

Quote:
Originally Posted by IndieNick2 View Post
This goes for the crossgrade from LE as well?
Yep If you purchase the download you have two options that you can download (at any point, and as many times as you like) from within your Avid account. One is the full installer, and the other is an updated installer (used if you already have an older version of PT on your machine). It's recommended that you use the full installer though.

And if you purchase the boxed version of the crossgrade then the disc has the full installer anyway. The crossgrade only uses your hardware serial number, that's about the only thing that makes the crossgrade different from the retail pack (new ilok excluded). I even noticed in my Avid account yesterday that I can now download the loops and stuff that come with the boxed discs (which appear to be exactly the same as the loops from PT8).
__________________
PT10, Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56, Eleven Rack, i7 950 @3.80GHz, Noctua NH-D14 CPU cooler, GA-X58A-UD3R, Corsair CMD12GX3M6A1600C8 12GB, SAPPHIRE VAPOR-X HD5770 1GB GDDR5 PCIE, Caviar Black 500GB 32MB Cache OS drive, 2x Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache Sata3 (Audio and library), Broadcom BCM94322MC wireless network adapter
W7 - 312 dverbs @ 64 buffer/ 403 dverbs @ 1024
Reply With Quote
  #2459  
Old 11-30-2010, 12:33 AM
dongiovanni1986 dongiovanni1986 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Stone Mountain
Posts: 5
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

Random-my laptop and p-tools software were stolen....need help getting information regarding the re-install/download of m-powered 8 for my new computer. already have my authorized ilok but dont know where to get software rom. avid has not yet responded to this issue and its a time sensitive matter. any assistance is greatly appreciated. thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #2460  
Old 11-30-2010, 07:11 AM
Noviisi Noviisi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 71
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzroll View Post
Just bought a Sony VAIO VPCF13PFX/B, the ILink 4-pin port does not have a texas instrument chip set - it would allow me to enter PTLE8.0.4 but I could not switch to ext clock (I use an Apogee for clock). I am not sure what other problems, if any, I would have discovered as I immediately plugged my SIIG firewire 400 PCIexpress card and everything worked like magic.
Do you mean this?
http://www.siig.com/ViewProduct.aspx?pn=NN-EC2012-S1
__________________
002R MacBook Pro 15" Focusrite Rode Shure Waves ToonTrack
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB support with Pro Tools 9 Laptops moldenke Pro Tools 9 4 11-18-2010 04:46 PM
Dell Laptops and Pro Tools sgladm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 05-03-2006 10:32 AM
Best laptops for Pro tools felixflank 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 04-07-2006 06:41 AM
alien laptops and pro tools geefive 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-29-2006 10:17 AM
Pro Tools and Apple laptops Jsalam112 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-08-2002 09:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com