Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #81  
Old 01-29-2019, 06:13 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,266
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

If they could just get the MIDI engine to quit doing that "stop........AND EVERYTHING SMASH BACK IN" it would change my life and save my clients' ears.
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 01-29-2019, 08:47 AM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,721
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Quote:
Originally Posted by migueldgoncalves View Post
Sorry for the dumb question, but in what areas is PT lacking MIDI-wise?
+1

I have used other sequencers for MIDI including Logic and I don't see where Logic is so far ahead of Pro Tools. Let's get specific examples of where people feel the MIDI programming and editing is lacking in Pro Tools.

I seriously use MIDI in Pro Tools every day since Pro Tools 7. Pro Tools 7 was a disaster in working with MIDI. But Pro Tools version 8 added tons of great features to MIDI and I have been happy using MIDI in Pro Tools ever since. It's not perfect, but it isn't crippling to a point that it annoys me. My bigger complaints in working in the MIDI world is based more along the lines of running VI's more efficiently which Freeze and commit greatly improved for me.

There have been some great MIDI additions this last year to Pro Tools that nobody seems to recall. Some of which include:

1. Retrospect MIDI Recording
2. More hotkeys for copying, editing.
3. Chord symbols in Edit Window and the ability to have it write the chords on the timeline.
4. The ability to have notes move and copy within in the key that you are in by adding the cntrl key.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools 12.8.3 HDX Mac OS 10.12.6
Mac Pro Quad 3.2 Nehalem with 32 GB RAM
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 01-29-2019, 05:11 PM
scottmckay scottmckay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 24
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Oh while we're talking about MIDI..

I really don't like the CTRL UP/DOWN is now re-mapped to move notes up and down (thru the scale) while you have midi notes selected. I liked to use that to resize tracks and it really screws stuff up when you have a selection--which I almost always do! Being able to move them up and down thru your selected scale sounds cool, but in practice I will be resizing tracks MUCH more often than that.

UP/DOWN is already mapped to moving them up and down.. So this is both redundant and a workflow-slower-downer.

Wish we could turn this off! Maybe I'm missing something so if someone knows something please share.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 01-29-2019, 06:19 PM
Chingy Chingy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 404
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzi45Z View Post
+1

I have used other sequencers for MIDI including Logic and I don't see where Logic is so far ahead of Pro Tools. Let's get specific examples of where people feel the MIDI programming and editing is lacking in Pro Tools.

I seriously use MIDI in Pro Tools every day since Pro Tools 7. Pro Tools 7 was a disaster in working with MIDI. But Pro Tools version 8 added tons of great features to MIDI and I have been happy using MIDI in Pro Tools ever since. It's not perfect, but it isn't crippling to a point that it annoys me. My bigger complaints in working in the MIDI world is based more along the lines of running VI's more efficiently which Freeze and commit greatly improved for me.

There have been some great MIDI additions this last year to Pro Tools that nobody seems to recall. Some of which include:

1. Retrospect MIDI Recording
2. More hotkeys for copying, editing.
3. Chord symbols in Edit Window and the ability to have it write the chords on the timeline.
4. The ability to have notes move and copy within in the key that you are in by adding the cntrl key.
Ok, I'll play:

- Ability to view MIDI note names on the notes themselves (makes orchestration much faster IMO)
- Articulation support
- Faster quantizing / make legato / velocity compression without needing to go into the quantize dialog box
- Improved contrast for the mouse cursor and MIDI notes within the MIDI editor
- Midi clips actually transforming to the chord symbols in the "chord track"
- Consolidating nudge and move up and down to be similar keyboard shortcuts (they are not related at all today)
- Drum mode
- Collapse mode (only show used notes)

Last edited by Chingy; 01-29-2019 at 07:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 01-29-2019, 08:14 PM
Evermore Evermore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: US
Posts: 47
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chingy View Post
Ok, I'll play:

- Ability to view MIDI note names on the notes themselves (makes orchestration much faster IMO)
- Articulation support
- Faster quantizing / make legato / velocity compression without needing to go into the quantize dialog box
- Improved contrast for the mouse cursor and MIDI notes within the MIDI editor
- Midi clips actually transforming to the chord symbols in the "chord track"
- Consolidating nudge and move up and down to be similar keyboard shortcuts (they are not related at all today)
- Drum mode
- Collapse mode (only show used notes)
+1
Incredible! Exactly my thoughts on what PT needs to improve in the midi area.
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 01-30-2019, 09:55 AM
cqd cqd is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 92
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

It really could do with a good Drum sequencer and arpeggiator..
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 01-30-2019, 07:54 PM
benniesims benniesims is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 27
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Native protools only has 32 I/O! I can use every daw in my studio and use all of 84/90 I/O. Protools Native 32!!! REALLY!!! I'm done.
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 02-02-2019, 04:10 PM
kelsey's Avatar
kelsey kelsey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 239
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

In addition to many great things mentioned, I would love:
The ability to assign sends, plugins, and outputs to a group of selected tracks, but not all tracks. I hate adding a reverb send one track at a time, but rarely want it applied to all tracks. My workaround right now is to select and show only selected tracks, then add the send to all visible (option while adding send), then show all tracks again, but that's not efficient.
Ixml and Bext viewing / editing in the workspace browser
Bin organization
Dynamic track grouping, AKA temporary track groups based on what tracks are selected.
Multiple plugin windows open simultaneously




Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
__________________
https://wanderingear.net
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 02-02-2019, 04:29 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,577
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Quote:
Originally Posted by kelsey View Post
Multiple plugin windows open simultaneously

You can already do this.

I think you hold shift when clicking on the next plugin insert you want open. This stuff is muscle memory for me, but I’m pretty sure the modifier is shift.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 02-02-2019, 04:31 PM
kelsey's Avatar
kelsey kelsey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 239
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
You can already do this.

I think you hold shift when clicking on the next plugin insert you want open. This stuff is muscle memory for me, but I’m pretty sure the modifier is shift.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks. Guess I missed that along the way.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
__________________
https://wanderingear.net
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools LE with a New MacBook Pro Lacking FW400 acacia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-15-2009 10:29 PM
d24/Mix Farm system lacking TDM power veryathletic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 12-20-2006 08:22 AM
How is PT lacking in Midi deejfro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 22 07-28-2005 08:57 PM
XP lacking Mac Midi Functionality??? Jonny Jones 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 11-05-2003 06:11 PM
What is lacking in the new Control 24 and the ProControl patdotcom General Discussion 3 03-05-2001 12:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com