Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-28-2003, 12:37 AM
Allen Hallada Allen Hallada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 6,686
Default Best Laptops for PTLE

Updated 1/13/07

Current recommendation is to get the new MacBook or MacBook Pro for PTLE. They will also run on Windows XP using either BootCamp or Parallels software making them the most versatile laptop on the planet. I highly recommend using OSX with PTLE however. If you have ever had a virus on your computer you will appreciate OSX.

http://www.apple.com/macbookpro/


Digidesign Recommended Laptops (from compatiblity pages)

Best Notebook Forum on the Web



MacBook Pro or MacBook Dual Core or Core 2 Duo Intel 2Ghz or higher. Get at least 1GB of ram.


And Dude, DON'T buy a Dell!

Nuff said!




For those PC diehards that want less computer for more money this applies to you:

Installing Standard PC

If you are running into recording errors do one of the following two:

1. Disable the "Microsoft ACPI-Compliant Control Method Battery" in the device manager.

2. I highly recommend switching from ACPI to Standard PC by reinstalling WinXP and using the F5 option during install to switch to Standard PC. Reformatting will also remove any unwanted programs and give you a clean computer. I recommend installing WinXP SP1 if using PTLE version prior to 6.9, or update your Pace drivers to the most current version. You can use your SP2 disc authorization numbers to register an SP1 install if needed.

While the above link is the current recommended list by Digi, we realize that Digi is not able to test every laptop made and most of these laptops are discontinued. For this reason, I encourage people to participate here. Please list your system specs below and let us know what is working and what isn't. Include your Davec Performance Test results also. Just copy and paste the following list into your post and fill in the information.

Digi Hardware:
PTLE Version:
Laptop Name and Model #:
Ram type and Amt.:
Hard Drive Config.:
Firewire Card or Connection (Name and Model#):
Experiences:
Davec
Test Results:
Dverb Test Results:
Recommendation1-5) 1= Highly, 5=Sending it Back

Thanks everyone for your help here in making Windows PTLE a powerful, fun, enjoyable, and professional recording platform!

Allen
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-28-2003, 12:59 AM
Chris Cavell Chris Cavell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Louisiana, USA
Posts: 4,831
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

It would be nice Allen, if we could get a sampling of DaveC scores to follow your post. Anybody with any of these comps willing to join in the survey?
__________________
Cavell Studios
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-27-2003, 01:14 PM
ecalcagnino ecalcagnino is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Chicago burbs
Posts: 466
Default Best Laptops for Pro Tools LE

I would really like to see the VAIOs on that list [img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img] . Sounds like there have been some that do very well. I wonder if it is the "iLink" thing that is keeping them off.

I would really like to see some DaveC scores, too. I just posted looking to pick up a laptop and there aren't may posts with scores out there. What a timely post!

Eric
__________________
There is no such thing as strong coffee, only weak people.

Eric
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-27-2003, 07:55 PM
WorldOfWiz WorldOfWiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Diego
Posts: 938
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

funny how you don't see sonys on the list since digi and sony did a tour.

Wiz
__________________
The underground is as fickle and shallow as the mainstream.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-27-2003, 07:58 PM
kmshroom kmshroom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,791
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

Quote:
Originally posted by WorldOfWiz:
funny how you don't see sonys on the list since digi and sony did a tour.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">yeah, when the 002 came out, they toured with a Sony laptop, boasting about how they came out with PC and Mac release at the same time.

of course, at the london Turnkey demo, the computer started doing strange things in the middle of the presentation, and the Digi guy kept muttering curse words and saying, "see, this is why I use a real computer, a Mac."
__________________
you cannot find peace by avoiding life
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-27-2003, 08:00 PM
kmshroom kmshroom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,791
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

(btw, i'm a PC user, and def there's a reason i'm not a Mac user, so don't start chewing me out for being some Mac-addict)

P4 2.53gHz, 1gb DDR RAM, P4PE mobo, etc etc..
Digi001.
__________________
you cannot find peace by avoiding life
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-26-2009, 05:34 PM
natdoe natdoe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Talking Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

dear all
i am new user in this room ,can anybody tell me about my problem,
i bought a 003 rack factory and new laptop dell 1537 running vista 32 bit extreme edition ,core 2 duo ,T6400 2 GHz ,4 G Ram .
and when i load up my protools software ...it's stop and freeze .i talk to the degidesign on the phone ,they talk some [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep] and they told me to change my laptop ,actually i can't refund my laptop to bestbuy ,it's over one month .
so i need to stick with this laptop and 003 rack .
can anybody help to fix problem for me ???
respect
soe ...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-26-2009, 07:12 PM
macr0w macr0w is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Charlotte N.C.
Posts: 1,449
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

Quote:
Originally Posted by natdoe View Post
can anybody help to fix problem for me ???
respect
soe ...
Sadly........No.......
__________________
Intel I7 920
Asus P6T
Digi 002R.
Command/8
PTLE 7.1 MPT
www.clearspotrecording.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-27-2009, 04:42 PM
macr0w macr0w is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Charlotte N.C.
Posts: 1,449
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

I wonder if this would run le?
__________________
Intel I7 920
Asus P6T
Digi 002R.
Command/8
PTLE 7.1 MPT
www.clearspotrecording.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-28-2009, 10:22 AM
pickerdd pickerdd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 12
Default Re: Best Laptops for PTLE

Quote:
Originally Posted by natdoe View Post
dear all
i am new user in this room ,can anybody tell me about my problem,
i bought a 003 rack factory and new laptop dell 1537 running vista 32 bit extreme edition ,core 2 duo ,T6400 2 GHz ,4 G Ram .
and when i load up my protools software ...it's stop and freeze .i talk to the degidesign on the phone ,they talk some [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep] and they told me to change my laptop ,actually i can't refund my laptop to bestbuy ,it's over one month .
so i need to stick with this laptop and 003 rack .
can anybody help to fix problem for me ???
respect
soe ...
Just my 2 cents here, but you should consider buying an extra internal hard drive for your laptop and loading Windows XP on it and using it only when you record. You'll need an external hard drive to record. You shouldn't/can't record to the internal primary drive where protools is loaded. If you want to follow a similiar path that I've taken wit my M440 go here for more info: http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread...76139&page=229

I was not able to get PT 8 to run properly using Vista on my Dell M4400. I had to install XP Pro on a hard drive and I use it specifically for recording to my external drive.
__________________
| Dell M4400 | XP Pro SP3 | Glyph 500GB external HD | Digi 003 Rack+ | ProTools LE 8 |
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB support with Pro Tools 9 Laptops moldenke Pro Tools 9 4 11-18-2010 04:46 PM
Dell Laptops and Pro Tools sgladm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 05-03-2006 10:32 AM
Best laptops for Pro tools felixflank 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 04-07-2006 06:41 AM
alien laptops and pro tools geefive 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-29-2006 10:17 AM
Pro Tools and Apple laptops Jsalam112 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-08-2002 09:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com