Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-13-2021, 06:07 AM
RyanC RyanC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 661
Default Scaling and GUI issues on win, tips?

Hey All-

I've recently been considering moving from mac/hack land to win (especially looking at performance of Ryzen 5k). Got a windows installation up and did some testing and in terms of audio performance it seems there is no real difference.

Everything looks/runs great with Studio One and Ableton, then I loaded up PT and yikes. I have 4k HDTVs as a monitors, with any scaling on, PT goes nuts, the main header get's resized and you can't read the text for the main menus. Text in PT is blurry/unreadable etc (4k 150% or 125% scaling). When I switch to 1080p, it's fine-ish, but loosing some screen real estate (I'm usually at 1440 on OSX) and then losing more to every window inside PT having the giant windows header.

Any tips to make PT more visually palatable in win? Is there any other trick to make scaling work?

Also, anyway to toggle between a mac keyboard with mac key modifiers and a win with win?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-13-2021, 08:08 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,884
Default Re: Scaling and GUI issues on win, tips?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanC View Post
... Any tips to make PT more visually palatable in win? ...
I use 3 large monitors @ 1080P: 43" for edit, 24" for mix, and 24" for plugs/video/misc. With that amount of screen real estate, the 1/4" ProTools border doesn't really bother me. My 2 cents.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 hex 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-14-2021, 05:53 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,324
Default Re: Scaling and GUI issues on win, tips?

I also stick to 1920x1080 here(43" 4K TV over a 27" monitor). I'd love to try the 1440 vertical, but am too cheap to go by screens with that native resolution
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-15-2021, 08:13 AM
RyanC RyanC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 661
Default Re: Scaling and GUI issues on win, tips?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
I also stick to 1920x1080 here(43" 4K TV over a 27" monitor). I'd love to try the 1440 vertical, but am too cheap to go by screens with that native resolution
Well, I wouldn't bother for now. It won't be until Avid update something here that it's really usable.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-28-2021, 04:24 PM
psycho psycho is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Germany
Posts: 22
Default Re: Scaling and GUI issues on win, tips?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanC View Post
...with any scaling on, PT goes nuts, the main header get's resized and you can't read the text for the main menus...
I've had scaling issues with my laptop PC (2560x1600, 125%).
My solution was to activate a compatibility setting like follows:
(Items translated from German, wording might be different)
  1. Right click on 'C:\Program Files\Avid\Pro Tools\ProTools.exe' and select 'Properties'.
  2. On the compatibility tab select 'Change high DPI settings'.
  3. Check 'Overwrite high DPI scaling'.
  4. Select the 'System' item in the pull-down menu below.
__________________
PT Ultimate 2020.12, Windows 10 Pro
HD-Native PCIe, 4x 192 I/O, Sync HD, MIDI IO, 2x Pre
40 Channel Icon D-Command, X-Mon
Intel i7-10700KF, 32 GB DDR4 3200 RAM, MSI MEG Z490 Ace, Nvidia GTX 950
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automation Scaling Arya44 Tips & Tricks 4 02-19-2020 10:08 AM
4k display scaling 12nzanella` Pro Tools 12 0 05-12-2018 12:44 AM
GUI Scaling problem on W10 APM Pro Tools 12 1 11-25-2017 06:11 PM
DPI scaling bug when using AIR plug-ins Vilming Pro Tools 12 31 11-14-2017 01:50 PM
Automation Scaling? decibel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-13-2002 01:20 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com