Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-02-2020, 01:58 PM
robingshore robingshore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Brooklyn, USA
Posts: 8
Default Re: S1 knob always writing

Powering the S1 off and then on again seems to have squashed the problem with the fourth knob for me, at least for the time being. Previously I don't think I had turned it off for at least a week, maybe longer.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-03-2020, 12:07 PM
soundworthy soundworthy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ballina
Posts: 11
Default Re: S1 knob always writing

My unit get turned of and on everyday.
Doesn’t fix the probLet for me.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-03-2020, 12:09 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,715
Default Re: S1 knob always writing

If you contact customer support they can get a new one for you....and we can get it back to investigate why.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-14-2020, 05:05 AM
Finnmaker Finnmaker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 4
Default Re: S1 knob always writing

Same issue here on our second S1. (Happens on 20.1 as well) We've also had an issue where the knob goes to zero. It does not happen constantly, but renders the automation modes unusable for our purposes, since we can't have pan knobs popping to 0 mid session.

The knob always writes when I Bank or Nudge tracks. It's the 4th knob in our case as well.

We'll contact our local customer support.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-02-2020, 02:45 PM
audiograce audiograce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 166
Default Re: S1 knob always writing

EXACT same problem ... rotary encoder #4 ... 3 days old! Not cool Avid!

Will try to get replacement unit.
__________________
...tg...
Warner Bros. Studios
imdb Credits
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-12-2020, 09:20 PM
Cate_C Cate_C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 5
Default Re: S1 knob always writing

Same thing is happening to me.

The touch light flashes, the capture light flashes. In touch it creates breakpoints. If I have it in latch it writes automation. It rewrites pans!

This is so incredibly inconvenient right now. It seems people who have been given an alternative mixer are having the same problem.

It rewrote an entire track of a 100 minute doco when was playing out.

Who do I contact? What do I do??
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-13-2020, 10:42 AM
filmixer filmixer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Studio City, CA, U.S.A.
Posts: 963
Default Re: S1 knob always writing

Quote:
Originally Posted by cablenaute View Post
Hi,

I've been using the S1 for a few days now, but today it's having a strange behaviour.
The knob number 4 of the S1 behaves as if it was touched, so that it's sending automation even when Protools is stopped.
If I switch form AUX to PAN, it will write AUX or PAN without actually touching the knob.
Here is a video with Protools stopped…

¿Any easy way to fix this?
Thanks.
OMG! I have the same problem that happened after I upgraded to 2020.3. Thank God others are having this problem, in a good way I mean. ;-) The knob goes into write as soon as the session opens ( Latch Prime in Stop is ON). If I bank, whatever lands on the fourth knob goes into write. Sometimes when the session opens, #5 and #13 might be Writing as well, but #4 is the persistent one. Hopefully this bug can be squashed with the update coming. I did open sessions up with a boot drive that has 2012.12 with Eucon 19.12 and it happens with that as well, so maybe a firmware update is the problem.
__________________
Mark Ettel C.A.S.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-13-2020, 11:40 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,715
Default Re: S1 knob always writing

Please contact Avid Support.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-14-2020, 08:51 PM
emf1138 emf1138 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 514
Default Re: S1 knob always writing

Got my replacement S1 directly from Avid and it's working great!
__________________
Eric Freeman, CAS
Sound Supervisor/Re-Recording Mixer
Disney TV Animation
IMDB
LinkedIn
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-19-2020, 09:39 AM
filmixer filmixer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Studio City, CA, U.S.A.
Posts: 963
Default Re: S1 knob always writing

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
Please contact Avid Support.
I've contacted Avid support and have a case number but haven't heard anything back for days. I know things aren't normal with COVID-19 going on and all, but it's not good to have no response for so long. I have two S1s that have knobs that drop into Write and it's a show stopper. I'll try calling Monday, but this isn't good.
__________________
Mark Ettel C.A.S.

Last edited by filmixer; 04-19-2020 at 10:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking to trade my skinny knob 408 for a skinny knob 402 audiobee System 5 0 04-06-2016 11:02 AM
002R Volume knob=Control24 Volume knob?? Gothboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-07-2010 04:04 PM
writing to CD manyrains 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-30-2008 01:15 PM
Writing to cd? sethbrand Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 03-18-2006 12:34 PM
Problem writing to CDR Jonah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 03-24-2002 02:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com