Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-21-2008, 07:29 AM
6string 6string is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 51
Default Increase - Decrease Increase H/W Buffers

I am running PT 7 on a 3.0 GHz Pentium 4 system w/ 3 GB RAM and using hyper-threading. Everything is fine until I try to bounce to disk. It keeps quitting saying I need to increase the H/W Buffers in Playback Engine..then it bombs saying I have to decrease H/W buffers... I can't get it to bounce !! What's up??? Thanks so much!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-21-2008, 09:50 AM
SeedGuy SeedGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 416
Default Re: Increase - Decrease Increase H/W Buffers

Post a SANDRA Report please: Follow the steps:

Help us help you - what you need to know before posting!

General Troubleshooting - Pro Tools LE on Windows (XP & Vista)
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-21-2008, 10:40 AM
6string 6string is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 51
Default Re: Increase - Decrease Increase H/W Buffers

Will do...probably be able to get to it tonight or tomorrow!!! I will post the results as a reply. Thanks so much!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-21-2008, 02:32 PM
Gravyblue Gravyblue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunny England
Posts: 131
Default Re: Increase - Decrease Increase H/W Buffers

I had the same thing with my pt 8 upgrade and traced it to a rogue plugin. sansamp in this case. plugin had to be removed not just bypassed
hope that helps
Doug
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-21-2008, 09:57 PM
6string 6string is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 51
Default Re: Increase - Decrease Increase H/W Buffers

Well, I downloaded a few different versions of Sandra to my flash drive because my PT computer is not connected to the internet. None of them would run though ALL of them installed fine. The latest version needed DirectX and .Net and all sorts of stuff I couldn't get on the PC so I went to a 2005 version that didn't need any of it. It still wouldn't run when I clicked on it's icon on the desktop or in the directory. I've been at this since 6:00 (it's now 11:54) and I can't get a SANDRA report. Anyhting else I can do. I did all the XP and system changes but to no avail. Everything is blazingly fast now but I can't bounce to disk? I downloaded and installed the ProTools Troubleshooter but don't know where to start to try to find the problem here. If I increase the H/W buffers it tells me to decrease and vice versa. Is there a basic version of SANDRA that maybe I can get to run on my PT PC? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-21-2008, 10:00 PM
6string 6string is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 51
Default Re: Increase - Decrease Increase H/W Buffers

I neglected to say that I did install the SANDRA versions on to my PT PC from the flash drive but they would not run. Click on the app icon and NOTHING! Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-21-2008, 11:15 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,800
Default Re: Increase - Decrease Increase H/W Buffers

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6string View Post
I neglected to say that I did install the SANDRA versions on to my PT PC from the flash drive but they would not run. Click on the app icon and NOTHING! Thanks!
Not to state the obvious but, if your computer is having problems running the Sandra report, there is probably something amiss. That same problem could be why your PT is having buffer problems too. Or they may be completely unrelated. The point is that something seem like it is not working on your system. I know this post doesn't help you at all to solve the buffer problem but perhaps it indicates some other problem exist. Good luck. If you can get the Sandra report to work, then we can look to see if something is causing the buffer issues. Usually buffer issues are related to the ability for your audio (second) hard drive to transfer data to/from the system for Protools use.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.14.6 running Protools 2019.10.0
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-22-2008, 12:05 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Increase - Decrease Increase H/W Buffers

Read the sticky Troubleshooting thread: http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=133039

It includes a link to the Pro Tools Tech Support Folder... download and it'll include a utility like Sandra report. Run it.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-22-2008, 04:33 PM
6string 6string is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 51
Default Re: Increase - Decrease Increase H/W Buffers

Hey,

I have tried SANDRA LITE 2009 back down to 2005 and they all installed quickly and without incident but when I run them nothing happens. I can run PC Wizard fine. Is there any information from the PT Tech Support Folder that would help? I have all the results from PC Wizard and I can run the Tech Support Utility. Please let me know if any of that can help you help me figure out what's wrong with my setup. Thanks!!!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-22-2008, 04:42 PM
6string 6string is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 51
Default Re: Increase - Decrease Increase H/W Buffers

I re-installed Sandra 2005 Lite and it still won't run but I do see the RpcSandraSrv.exe process running when I pull up the task manager.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Increase/Decrease H/W Buffer size Drecan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 10-16-2007 11:52 AM
Message:to increase/decrease H/W Buffer bobinchicago Tips & Tricks 5 12-23-2005 12:09 PM
Buffer problems - Increase-Decrease-Increase 6string 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-17-2005 11:01 AM
Increase/Decrease HWB can't make up it's mind Carl Fuehrer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 08-21-2004 03:55 PM
Increase/decrease buffer size. jpetsounds 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 05-22-2002 05:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com