Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 08-27-2015, 09:08 PM

Default Protools - not hearing guitar (PT 10, Axe-Fx II, Windows 7)

Hi community:

Total newb. What I'd like: I'd like to hear and ultimately record the guitar via an armed track. I cannot hear the guitar in Protools. I have no idea how to properly set up the AxeFx to work with Protools, nor what settings in Protools to set to work with the AxeFX. I do have a recorded track in Protools I have saved that I recorded a few years ago (last time I used this setup, but I moved, disassembled, and nothing is set right anymore) and I can hit play in Protools, hear the track through the monitors, but it's distorted..as if I'm hearing the recording through the AxeFX. This is when the AXEFX is set for MAIN INPUT SOURCE USB. When I set AXEFX for MAIN INPUT SOURCE ANALOG (IN 1) I hear the prerecorded track just fine. I'm guessing it's that I don't have anything set right. Total newb. Sorry. Would greatly appreciate some assistance in getting everything to just work. It's going to be quite a learning curve when everything is set up. Can't seem to even get things set properly. For what it's worth, I do have a Digi 002 at my disposal. It's sitting next to these units, not hooked up. Also note, when I exit Protools, change the AxeFX setting I/O, Audio, MAIN INPUT SOURCE back to ANALOG (IN 1) my guitar/AxeFx work just fine through the AxeFX and studio monitors.

My hardware/software:

Protools 10.0.0
Windows 7 Enterprise SP1
Axe-Fx II Firmware: 17.04 Jan 12, 2015
Mackie HR824 Studio monitors

How I'm currently set up, roughly:

Axefx connected to PC via USB. Same PC running PT 10. Guitar plugged in to front of AxeFx II.