Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-08-2018, 11:15 AM
jaminjamesp jaminjamesp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 118
Default ECC errors in DIMM slot 2 on my Late 2013 Mac Pro...

I've been getting tons of CPU errors and crashes lately. Crashing once every 1-2 hours, and CPU errors every few minutes. I'll keep my eye on the system usage window in PT, and when the CPU errors occur I'm sitting at about 10% usage, and it's not even spiking, just giving me the error. It happens at pretty much all buffer sizes, but more often when it's smaller than 512 samples.

I have no idea what an ECC error is, and googling it doesn't give me much info. Wondering if anyone has experienced this error. I've attached an image of my system report.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ECC Errors.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	40.5 KB
ID:	11064  
__________________
Pro Tools 12.6.1
OS X 10.12.1
nMP 6 Core
Dual AMD FirePro D300
64 GB Ram
Syphony i/o 8x8
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-08-2018, 12:15 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,298
Default Re: ECC errors in DIMM slot 2 on my Late 2013 Mac Pro...

ECC error correcting code. I'm not sure how you can search for it on Google search and not find what it is. e.g. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ECC_memory

You likely have a faulty DIMM. Replace it. Even better use this as a time to upgrade memory.

And pat yourself on the back for paying thought the nose for a Xeon processor. One of the few feature benefits of Intel Xeon over most Intel Core CPUs is the ECC support.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-08-2018, 12:20 PM
jaminjamesp jaminjamesp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 118
Default Re: ECC errors in DIMM slot 2 on my Late 2013 Mac Pro...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
ECC error correcting code. I'm not sure how you can search for it on Google search and not find what it is. e.g. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ECC_memory

You likely have a faulty DIMM. Replace it. Even better use this as a time to upgrade memory.

And pat yourself on the back for paying thought the nose for a Xeon processor. One of the few feature benefits of Intel Xeon over most Intel Core CPUs is the ECC support.
I guess I should have said I couldn’t find any info on it pertaining to Pro Tools usage and CPU errors/crashes. Thanks for the info though, looks like I’ll be upgrading RAM.
__________________
Pro Tools 12.6.1
OS X 10.12.1
nMP 6 Core
Dual AMD FirePro D300
64 GB Ram
Syphony i/o 8x8
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-08-2018, 12:34 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,298
Default Re: ECC errors in DIMM slot 2 on my Late 2013 Mac Pro...

Gotcha, yep it has nothing to do with Pro Tools. Very likely it is just bad memory, unlikely it's say a faulty CPU/memory controller. But replace the DIMM and is should go away.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-08-2018, 03:19 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,236
Default Re: ECC errors in DIMM slot 2 on my Late 2013 Mac Pro...

Most RAM has lifetime warranties. So investigate getting it replaced for free. So you can get more RAM and get this one back in your system too.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2018.10, HDX 3, MTRX, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.12.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Pro (Late 2013) GPU Issues strangepumpkin Pro Tools Software (Mac) 68 01-25-2018 06:46 AM
Apple Mac Pro Late 2013 3.5 GHz 6-Core Webb Buy & Sell 1 07-10-2017 10:05 AM
Mac Pro Late 2013 and GPU Freezes Becharax General Discussion 42 11-30-2015 06:42 AM
Anyone using the Late 2013 Quad-Core Mac Pro? Jcalla Pro Tools Software (Mac) 18 08-22-2015 03:07 PM
PT 11 and Late 2013 MacBook Pro 15.4 Ret' garymmadison Pro Tools Software (Mac) 6 12-16-2014 06:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com