Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-26-2016, 12:50 PM

Default Video Engine Failure?

Hi there, I'm a student in Film, I've taken some classes in Audio Design at my school and I've recently bought ProTools so I can become more effecient with it over the course of the summer.

I've been trying to troubleshoot ProTools on my own with some limited success (when I started out, the Audio output wasn't working at all). As of right now, I have a bit of a glaring issue: the video engine simply will not work, I can't run video playback when I run audio playback, and thus have issues syncing and organizing clips. Whenever I attempt to commence playback when I have a video track active, I get the error message: "The video engine has reported an error. More information is available in the Video Engine log file."

I may be dumb, but I'm having issues finding/displaying this log file. And I'm not sure I would understand the issue even if I did. Could anyone who has had this issue help?

(Also, small issues I have been looking to figure out: How would one have a dedicated window/bar that could show them the output volume? Just to monitor so I could have sound within the db range I'd like. It seems like in the mix window changing the volume has no real effect on the bars.
Also, is there any way that I can run audio/video from other programs while I run ProTools? It seems that booting up the programs stops videos in Chrome and audio in WinAmp to cease completely).

PC Specs, for what they're worth:

Computer Model:
System Manufacturer: ASUS
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4790K CPU @ 4.00GHz (8 CPUs), ~4.0GHz
Memory: 16384MB RAM
Video Card name: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970
Display Memory: 12171 MB
Dedicated Memory: 4008 MB
Shared Memory: 8163 MB