Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-30-2006, 01:48 AM
Loudnoize Ent. Loudnoize Ent. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 484
Default 96 i/o versus the 192 i/o?

Hey Guys,

Would I be disappointed in purchasing the 96 i/o rather than the 192? Not the digital interface. What else is different other than the sample rate? I also plan on using an external converter.

Thx.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-30-2006, 10:48 AM
Labyrinth Services Labyrinth Services is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default Re: 96 i/o versus the 192 i/o?

I suspect the converters to be different ones... but I'm not sure about that !
If someone has a clue about it it could be nice.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-30-2006, 12:33 PM
jonpaulmusic jonpaulmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: united kingdom Cambridgshire
Posts: 9
Default Re: 96 i/o versus the 192 i/o?

depends on what you are trying to acheive the 96i/o is more than capable of doing audio style mixes for cd but if you want to mix for film or surround i would sugest the higher sample rates offerd by the 192 which is what i use dont realy need a 192 if most of your outboard are running at lower sample rates anyway but if your intending to expand your system so that all your equipment is 192 capable in the near future then i sugest you opt for it now. Hope thats of help
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-30-2006, 07:53 PM
PTLance PTLance is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Port Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 468
Default Re: 96 i/o versus the 192 i/o?

There is also a headroom difference in what you can set the calibration at but I don't remember what it is except the 192 will go to -20 and the 96 won't
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-30-2006, 08:31 PM
robstaman robstaman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 68
Default Re: 96 i/o versus the 192 i/o?

I understand the clocks are different which makes a difference even with lower SR.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-31-2006, 01:29 AM
scottgreiner scottgreiner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 884
Default Re: 96 i/o versus the 192 i/o?

If you're using external converters this doesn't matter, but the entire analog front end (the important stuff) is TOTALLY different. The 192 was designed by Meitner (I think) and is rather classy. The 96 is... um... not as classy.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-31-2006, 06:06 AM
mixer mixer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Parrish fl. usa
Posts: 720
Default Re: 96 i/o versus the 192 i/o?

i have both...the 192 does have better converters..how much better? and is it worth the difference in price i don't know..it offers soft limit and card expansion..so if you need those features 192 is the way to go...if not ...well let me say i am expanding for connection of outboard i am ordering 96ios.
__________________
www.garyvandy.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-01-2006, 01:09 PM
Loudnoize Ent. Loudnoize Ent. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 484
Default Re: 96 i/o versus the 192 i/o?

Thanks for the responses guys. Really appreciate it. The question here is, if I use an external converter, will the 96i/o do the trick just as well.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-01-2006, 01:18 PM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,020
Default Re: 96 i/o versus the 192 i/o?

>> The question here is, if I use an external converter

Then get a 192 digital, and a great clock. If you don't need the a to d from the 192, don't pay for it.
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-01-2006, 03:03 PM
frenchman frenchman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 525
Default Re: 96 i/o versus the 192 i/o?

On important fact is that the 96 I/O is NOT modular. 192 I/O has slots in which you can change cards depending on what you want to connect. The 96I/O is fixed in configuration
__________________
Mark Haliday
Engineer, Mixer, Writer, Teacher
Pro Tools Ultimate HDX
Mac Pro 2013 & Chassis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
7.3 versus 7.1 on G4? Moz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-02-2008 09:45 AM
96 versus 88.2 khz Sambuca Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 05-14-2005 10:31 PM
Mac G4 versus G5 versus Windows XP progress88 General Discussion 22 09-08-2003 09:45 AM
M-149 versus? DougP General Discussion 15 10-03-2000 06:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com