Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-10-2002, 08:04 AM
Studio Dweller Studio Dweller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 662
Default Adaptec 2940U2W OK for non-audio w/HD?

I'm upgrading from a beige G3 to a G4/800 for HD. I am planning on going to Firewire drives for audio, but would very much like to continue using my 68-pin SCSI DDS-4 tape drive for backing up.

Is it OK to use the Adaptec 2940U2W for this alongside the HD cards? I know it's not supported for use with audio drives, but it would only be used for the DDS-4 drive when Pro Tools HD is not running.

Many thanks.
__________________
Larry
Cellar Dweller Productions
PT 2019.12 HDX, HD IO 16x16 analog, 192 I/O, Control|24
Mac Pro 2019 16-core, 96GB RAM, OS 10.15.2
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-10-2002, 11:48 AM
ragbor ragbor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: CA USA
Posts: 487
Default Re: Adaptec 2940U2W OK for non-audio w/HD?

Larry, I have this same question and have gotten some positive info on my post ("ANDRE & TOM: Adaptec...") that might help you.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-10-2002, 02:13 PM
Studio Dweller Studio Dweller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 662
Default Re: Adaptec 2940U2W OK for non-audio w/HD?

Quote:
Originally posted by ragbor:
Larry, I have this same question and have gotten some positive info on my post ("ANDRE & TOM: Adaptec...") that might help you.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Thanks - I guess the I'll find out for sure when I get HD, but it looks promising. I just hope the 2940 is compatible with OS 9.2 as on the Adaptec site it says only up to 9.04.

My fingers are crossed.

Thanks again.
__________________
Larry
Cellar Dweller Productions
PT 2019.12 HDX, HD IO 16x16 analog, 192 I/O, Control|24
Mac Pro 2019 16-core, 96GB RAM, OS 10.15.2
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-10-2002, 08:30 PM
andrej770 andrej770 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 434
Default Re: Adaptec 2940U2W OK for non-audio w/HD?

The 2940U2W works fine with HD. I have an HD3 system with a DLT 7000 on the external and 2-36GB UW HD inside. Not a single issue.
__________________
Mac 8 Core 6,1 - OSX 10.13.6 - 32GB RAM - Pro Tools 2018.10 - 8x8x8+8 ch DA Card (x2) - HD OMNI - ICON D-Control 32 - Sync I/O - Sonnet xMac Pro Server w/HDX x 2, Blackmagic Intensity Pro 4K
Protools 2018.10 HD Native in 1 project suite
Eristopher Music
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-10-2002, 08:51 PM
Studio Dweller Studio Dweller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 662
Default Re: Adaptec 2940U2W OK for non-audio w/HD?

Quote:
Originally posted by andrej770:
The 2940U2W works fine with HD. I have an HD3 system with a DLT 7000 on the external and 2-36GB UW HD inside. Not a single issue.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Aahh... exactly what I wanted to hear. I really didn't want to replace my DDS-4 drive. Which Mac do you have it in? I'll be putting it in a G4 800 MHz (single processor).

Thanks for the reply.

Cheers.
__________________
Larry
Cellar Dweller Productions
PT 2019.12 HDX, HD IO 16x16 analog, 192 I/O, Control|24
Mac Pro 2019 16-core, 96GB RAM, OS 10.15.2
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-11-2002, 08:59 AM
tnie tnie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Posts: 613
Default Re: Adaptec 2940U2W OK for non-audio w/HD?

Andre,

That's also what I wanted to hear!!! Digi is just trying to make some extra money by making people update every piece of equipment in your studio!!! [img]images/icons/tongue.gif[/img] I have had not one problem using Adaptec 2940U2W with FW and to change to ATTO just because DIGI recommends is stupid!!! [img]images/icons/tongue.gif[/img]

I'm also going to try with my G3 until my G4 arrives. [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]

Digi [img]images/icons/tongue.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-11-2002, 09:07 AM
andrej770 andrej770 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 434
Default Re: Adaptec 2940U2W OK for non-audio w/HD?

Mine is in a G4/733 / OS 9.2.2

Absolutely flawless.
__________________
Mac 8 Core 6,1 - OSX 10.13.6 - 32GB RAM - Pro Tools 2018.10 - 8x8x8+8 ch DA Card (x2) - HD OMNI - ICON D-Control 32 - Sync I/O - Sonnet xMac Pro Server w/HDX x 2, Blackmagic Intensity Pro 4K
Protools 2018.10 HD Native in 1 project suite
Eristopher Music
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
733 - 2nd generation/adaptec 2940u2W Sugarkid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-10-2001 01:29 AM
Adaptec 2940U2W ........ Seller General Discussion 1 06-30-2001 07:07 PM
Clicks w/DAE&Adaptec 2940U2W Ludovic Lanen Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 05-30-2000 07:35 AM
adaptec 2940u2w strat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 04-19-2000 04:17 PM
Adaptec 2940U2W card JB3 Storage Subsystems 1 01-25-2000 11:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com