Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-06-2005, 08:09 AM
anders anders is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 369
Default Firewire or SCSI drives

Just curious to see if firewire is replacing SCSI in terms of everyday use on Protools systems?

As I plan to upgrade my system, I'm wondering if I need to carry over my Atto card to the new system(or perhaps purchase as new one as needed with many other components in my upgrade)

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-06-2005, 12:58 PM
baylonfonseca baylonfonseca is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 14
Default Re: Firewire or SCSI drives

Anders,

SCSI can be cumbersome with the advent of Firewire, ease of use and moving around.

Since u have the ATTO no point chucking it away. never know when it may come handy.

Baylon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-06-2005, 01:42 PM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,807
Default Re: Firewire or SCSI drives

anders,

i'd look onto SATA. internal or external. will give you more speed and capacity in the long-run.

but if you don't want to spend money, then stay with SCSI and your ATTO card (make sure it will work in the new system) my SCSI 128-kit with the Express PCI UL3D works just fine in my G5. for high track counts and dense edits, SCSI is better FW. and SATA is even better.

i have had terrible luck with FW and i don't trust them. but lots of people successfully use them and have found very reliable brands.
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-07-2005, 01:12 AM
The Chinese The Chinese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 603
Default Re: Firewire or SCSI drives

I'd say an SNS Fibre Drive -or- an SNS X4 iSCSI rig....Both very happening. I love the iSCSI stuff. Hard Drives down an Ethernet line, 100+ off a drive, no slot. Cool.

My .02
-Todd A.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-09-2005, 04:23 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,445
Default Re: Firewire or SCSI drives

I have 2 FW drives that died within a year. I have not a single SCSI drive that ever died in many years.

Frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.10 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-09-2005, 07:37 PM
Mubeau Mubeau is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Mid- Europe
Posts: 359
Default Re: Firewire or SCSI drives

Quote:
I have 2 FW drives that died within a year. I have not a single SCSI drive that ever died in many years.

Frank.
right! But it´s the firewire cases and controllers that are crap, not ATA disks...
but I had a SCSI server that burned away ))

mubeau
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-09-2005, 11:03 PM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,445
Default Re: Firewire or SCSI drives

It´s maily the FW connector that is crap. On a FW plug the power voltage and GND are so close together that the slightest bending leads to a short and fries the FW port of the computer. Happened to already twice in a large studio I work for sometimes. Also the plug doesn´t´interlock and the shape isn´t very nice. It is possible to plug in a FW cable the wrong way round on some drives because the fit is too loose.

I think FW is kinda good and bad. Hope some day computer developers will take a look how audio plugs are made. Hope Neutrik will come up with a FW plug just like their ethernet plug in a XLR housing.

Frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.10 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-09-2005, 11:06 PM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,445
Default Re: Firewire or SCSI drives

Quote:


right! But it´s the firewire cases and controllers that are crap, not ATA disks...
but I had a SCSI server that burned away ))

mubeau
What difference does it make for the user wether the drive is crap or the housing?

Frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.10 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firewire drives instead of scsi? Jim Borchardt Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 12-26-2002 08:59 AM
SCSI and FIREWIRE drives are cheap now. el matador 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-15-2002 03:45 AM
ANDRE & TOM: Adaptec cards to copy from SCSI drives to Firewire drives with G4/HD? ragbor Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 06-11-2002 09:08 AM
Differences between using SCSI drives and Firewire drives ? pepasmax Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 05-28-2002 02:28 PM
FIREWIRE DRIVES X SCSI DRIVES Alécio Costa Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 02-04-2002 08:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com