Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-05-2002, 09:41 PM
Valeri Valeri is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Diego
Posts: 211
Default KR7A need help tweaking

Hey guys i just got this mobo and so far everything runs very smooth .On the Davec test i got 24 + 9aux.But i've seen better than that.So if any body out there with the same Mobo,any advice on tweaking>this resolts are without chainging anything,just installed PTle.My system is: Abit KR7A KT266a
AMD1.4 THbird
Promise Ultra ATA100TX2
2 Maxtor 7200rpm
I read somewhere that is better for DIGI to have higher IRQ than Promis.Right now the Digi is on 5 and Promise is on 10.Do i need to chainge that,also the temperatur on the CPU is runing around 147. Is that normal for AMD's.Thanks a lot!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-06-2002, 08:16 AM
Lalaman Lalaman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Berlin
Posts: 2,198
Default Re: KR7A need help tweaking

Hello Valeri,
I don´t know what your CPU temperature means in Celcius but from what I know when idle it shouldn´t get over 60° Celcius and when strained not above 70°. ( AMD says Athlons max should be 90° but some users seem to have experienced the treshold as lower. )
I have the same mobo running better. I think I posted the slot management in the Davec test thread. But I don´t use the promise card, so things might differ for your setting.

If you have RAM that can handle tweaking you could try doing it within the bios.
I did it like this:
( FSB at 136 MHz )
1. "FSB rate" in softmenu III to 4:4:1
2."Chipset driving controll" -> default
3. The optimal "super bypass wait state" is 0 cycles, but should be set to 1 ( for 133 MHz)for priority of stability.
4. "SDRAM time settings" -> as low as possible
5. "SDRAM ph limit" -> as high as possible
6. in "DRAM clock / drive control" raised DDR voltage to 2.65 or 2.75. FSB to 136 or 138 MHz, "no" "by SPD"!
7. "DRAM timing to manual.
8. "Bank interleave" to 4
9. "Precharge" to active
10."TRP" to 2T
11."Active to precharge" TRAS to 5T
12. "Active to CMD" ( TCRD ) to 2T
13. "DDR DQS" to auto
14. "DRAM queque depth" to level 4
15. "DRAM command rate" to 1T

In Windows:
1. System->Performance->File system: check "Disable write behind caching for all drives"
2. "Hard disk" / "Read ahead" to none
3. ( If you have 256 MB DDRAM )"Specify virtual memory" min 256 / max 256 ( But this dicussed differently some advice disabling it at all. You can try one after the other, look what works best.)
4. Performance-> Computer role: set to network server.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tweaking Bigpit 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 04-19-2008 01:51 PM
Tweaking your Ram stevedresser83 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-09-2008 02:43 PM
Tweaking XP For 002R fabpab 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 07-14-2005 05:18 PM
xp tweaking pauleddy2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-03-2002 09:49 AM
Abit KR7A KT266A -Help me !!! Pelikan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-08-2002 07:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com