Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 12-13-2007, 09:43 PM

Default Digi002 LE7.1 user wants to move to MAC, advice please?

Hi, I'm a newbie on the forum, so I appologize if this is out of line.

After many years of torture with Windows, I'd like to escape to the MAC platform, but I have little/no experience on one. That doesn't scare me, I'll pick it up quick, but I was hoping for some advice on what to buy. As a piece of studio gear, I will not use it as a "computer."

I am considering a MAC Mini with 2 gig of RAM and a duo 2.0 Ghz proc. I don't do video editing, and I use only modest plugins, but want max tracks, and may use more plugins in the future.

It seems a mini should do the job, anybody have experience or warnings? Any video display issues?

Thanks much!

Bruce
Old 12-13-2007, 09:57 PM

Default Re: Digi002 LE7.1 user wants to move to MAC, advice please?

do you want to use Virtual Instruments (aka VIs)? if so a Mac Pro is the way to go w/ 4 GB+ of RAM

I have a mini that I have tried to use PT on but was less than thrilled w/ it but it is not a dedicated PT rig.

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

Thank you,

Craig
Old 12-13-2007, 10:51 PM

Quote:
It seems a mini should do the job, anybody have experience or warnings?
1) Simply put ... buy the fastest Mac you can afford.
2) Fill it with ram.
3) Wait for Digidesign to be Leopard compatible.

Old 12-13-2007, 11:04 PM