Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-30-2002, 03:12 PM
Roy Howell Roy Howell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,635
Default Using \'Compact Selected\' before bouncing to disc...

I am currently (and slowly) attempting to save all my major sessions to CD.
Most of them will fit on a standard 700MB CD-R, just barely. Well, when I came to 'She Wild', the Audio files were just a bit too much for one CD, and I hate having to break up the Audio files into 2 CD-r's...hate it.
I remembered DaBass talking about the 'Compact Selected' option, tried it, and the Audio files WILL fit on one CD-R now.

BUT, I just want to make sure this is a safe way to do this. Anybody else use this option often, or at all? Any bad experiences, or am I OK to go?

Thanks, Roy
__________________
rh music
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-30-2002, 04:52 PM
Mr_Seven Mr_Seven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 1,588
Default Re: Using \'Compact Selected\' before bouncing to disc...

There's no going back, Roy, once you've done it, it's done, permanent, destructive.
__________________
Darren Valen
Cyberdream Studios
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-30-2002, 05:12 PM
Roy Howell Roy Howell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,635
Default Re: Using \'Compact Selected\' before bouncing to disc...

Sheesh Darren, that sounds so..... fatal or something. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

I mean, obviously I will have done a 'Select Unused' and 'Remove from Session' anyway, leaving only the final absolute keepers as Audio files. But, I'm just making sure noone has had problems getting THOSE keepers back, after using 'Compact'.
That's all... Thanks again, RH
__________________
rh music
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-30-2002, 10:28 PM
Mark_Knecht Mark_Knecht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,500
Default Re: Using \'Compact Selected\' before bouncing to disc...

Roy,
Do this on some kind of test case first. This function always hangs my computer...

Mark

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by Roy Howell:
Sheesh Darren, that sounds so..... fatal or something. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

I mean, obviously I will have done a 'Select Unused' and 'Remove from Session' anyway, leaving only the final absolute keepers as Audio files. But, I'm just making sure noone has had problems getting THOSE keepers back, after using 'Compact'.
That's all... Thanks again, RH
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-30-2002, 11:13 PM
BigRedButton BigRedButton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 1,292
Default Re: Using \'Compact Selected\' before bouncing to disc...

I think compressing auidio files is a BAD idea. I was REALLY surprised to see this function as an option.

Let me put it this way. Is it more of a hassle to split the session between 2 discs, or to potentially have your session hosed.

I don't think it's worth the risk.

BigRedButton www.jacksonBjackson.com
__________________
"Sometimes I doubt your commitment to Sparkle Motion."

BigRedButton / Jackson Jackson
www.jacksonbjackson.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-31-2002, 01:18 AM
Roy Howell Roy Howell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,635
Default Re: Using \'Compact Selected\' before bouncing to disc...

Jackson, Mark,
You're right. I've got a big sesh in the morn, and I chickened out on compacting that one anyway... I'm playin it safe with 2 CD's [img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img]
Thanks, Roy
__________________
rh music
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-31-2002, 06:49 AM
geminirand geminirand is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 236
Default Re: Using \'Compact Selected\' before bouncing to disc...

I had jitters about doing that operation myself and decided I'd pay a buck for using an extra CD before scaring myself silly with something potentially risky. "Better safe than REALLY sorry." [img]images/icons/shocked.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-31-2002, 09:06 AM
zboy2854 zboy2854 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 677
Default Re: Using \'Compact Selected\' before bouncing to disc...

You shouldn't be so nervous about it. I compact my audio files all the time after I'm totally done working on a session. And to clarify from what BigRedButton said, compacting the files does NOT compress the files or data, it simply trims off any unused portions of the audio files that you have in your session. So the only permanent consequence of this is that you won't be able to go back in the session and re-edit your regions the way you could before, i.e. using the trimmer tool to elongate a region. All your regions are now a fixed maximum length, with all the "fat" trimmed off of either side. If you know that you won't need to go back and re-edit the regions and everything is done you can compact with little concern.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-31-2002, 09:10 AM
Roy Howell Roy Howell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,635
Default Re: Using \'Compact Selected\' before bouncing to disc...

Thanks for the knowledge, Zach.....

I'm headed out right now for today's sesh(with 2 CD's in hand), but in the future, I'll understand better what I'm doing.

Yours is THE answer I was looking for, so thanks to you and all the rest, too.

Roy
__________________
rh music
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-31-2002, 11:26 AM
BigRedButton BigRedButton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 1,292
Default Re: Using \'Compact Selected\' before bouncing to disc...

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by zboy2854:
Compacting the files does NOT compress the files or data, it simply trims off any unused portions of the audio files that you have in your session.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Very interesting indeed! I assumed that the compact function (like with other programs) utilized compression to make the file sizes smaller for storage. That's what I get for assuming!

You learn something every day. Thanks for the lesson!

BigRedButton www.jacksonBjackson.com
__________________
"Sometimes I doubt your commitment to Sparkle Motion."

BigRedButton / Jackson Jackson
www.jacksonbjackson.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compact Selected wolftone Tips & Tricks 2 05-03-2005 10:13 AM
"Compact selected" screws up timing 'til reopen? strider07 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 12-30-2004 04:03 PM
Compact selected Veal 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-21-2003 11:12 PM
Compact Selected Recovery c0w General Discussion 0 03-27-2003 10:50 AM
Strip Silence & Compact selected. kurt Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 02-11-2003 11:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com