Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-17-2019, 06:41 AM
DAPG DAPG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 146
Default Re: Bug in new video engine 2019.10

I can confirm that I am also experiencing this looping bug. I can get it to stop if I make a cut in the video track.
__________________
Roy Machado
Dallas Audio Post
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-17-2019, 09:11 AM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,242
Default Re: Bug in new video engine 2019.10

DNXHD36 made as part of AAF
by Media Composer.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-17-2019, 10:30 PM
tklaavo tklaavo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 35
Default Re: Bug in new video engine 2019.10

This has happened to me as well, and more often now with 2019.10 - but I have seen it once or twice before in some earlier version.

I have two video tracks for testing purposes - one is Quicktime Prores Proxy, the other is MXF dnxhd. When it happens, I activate the other video track which then works as usual. I think it happens more often with using the MXF file. Haven't tried the cut method yet, thanks for the tip.
__________________
Tuomas Klaavo
Helsingin Elokuvaäänitys Oy
Helsinki Film Sound Ltd.
http://www.helsinkifilmsound.com
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-17-2019, 11:33 PM
gwhatley's Avatar
gwhatley gwhatley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Playa Vista, CA
Posts: 111
Default Re: Bug in new video engine 2019.10

Here too, Pro Res LT and HQ quicktimes. Toggling the video online button on the video track is the momentary fix.

Happens more often when editing as opposed to mixing or just playback.

Work in features and TV, project length not a factor.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
Garrard Whatley
Seismic Post Audio
Post Audio for Film and Television
System/Hardware Info
IMDb credits
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-18-2019, 10:18 PM
mhuang mhuang is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Pasadena, California
Posts: 86
Default Re: Bug in new video engine 2019.10

noticed the same "freeze frame" "loop pic" bug here today on 2019.10
Prores proxy

I actually encounter this bug way back in PT10, something to do with some codec issues, but didn't haven't gotten it since post PT10 until today.
__________________
Michael Huang - Post Audio
IMDB PAGE
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-19-2019, 06:30 AM
Norad155 Norad155 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 297
Default Re: Bug in new video engine 2019.10

Same here... have experienced with ProRes and DNxHD

Random Looping
Video won't play
Video won't stop

2019.10 "new improved" video engine is trash.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-19-2019, 07:18 AM
henningaround henningaround is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 81
Default Re: Bug in new video engine 2019.10

I have seen nothing of the errors above. Been working with 2019.10 now for a week or two with Decklink Studio2 and Aja Kona3G Card. Always QuickTime Movies with DNxHD36 Full HD. Have you guys tried different combinations of the video drivers (Aja or Balckmagic depending on your cards...)? I think it's version 10.11.2 of the Blackmagic driver on a macOS 10.12.6 here or Aja 15.0.1 on macOS 10.12.6.
Session is not too big. Stereo TV Mix on a HDX2 or HDnative system with ~ 150 voices used.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-19-2019, 07:58 AM
quadraphonics quadraphonics is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 373
Default Re: Bug in new video engine 2019.10

I have also been having odd issues with 2019.10 AVE.

I have gotten AVE errors without video in the session. Choppy playback.

The oddest one that I have had is when I would import video into a session and the video settings wouldn't change automatically to match the video format. Pro Tools used to do this. (ie, if I imported a 29.97 video into a 23 session, previously it would play the video back at 29.97 and let me know there was an issue. Now, it tries to play the video back at 23.98)

Randall
__________________
Randall Smith
Audio Editor/Mixer
Starz Entertainment Group
Denver, CO
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-20-2019, 08:30 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,430
Default Re: Bug in new video engine 2019.10

The only thing I noticed is that the new "threshold" for loop playback is now at 1second. Any selection under 1s won't be looped. In 2019.6 and older you could easily loop a 15 frame and lower section. Maybe that's to reduce the amount of errors you're all seeing?
__________________
PTHDn 2019.10 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-20-2019, 03:12 PM
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,867
Default Re: Bug in new video engine 2019.10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Kruse View Post
Any selection under 1s won't be looped.
Which is totally annoying, btw.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
'The Video Engine reported and error' message when trying to play any video zerothrills Pro Tools 12 9 Yesterday 11:37 PM
Problem enabling video engine 2019.6 Lydbildet Windows 11 08-31-2019 02:22 AM
PT 2019 same video problems garnoil Pro Tools 2019 12 05-12-2019 04:50 PM
Video Engine Fail "Waiting for the video engine to launch" oscar_wonderboy macOS 5 08-14-2018 02:22 AM
Video Engine not working.. crashing when i load in a video to PT11 sarahsherlock Pro Tools 11 5 08-16-2014 01:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com