Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-27-2019, 10:11 AM
Teej Teej is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 73
Default Dragging audio from Finder duplicate tracks

This has been present in at least as far back as 2018. Usually when I drag in multiple audio files from the finder into a project, it will create the tracks I'm expecting for the new audio files, but then also creates doubles which have the audio on them as well.

What I mean:
1) Drag kick.aif, snare.aif, hats.aif into a session
2) The tracks created are as follows:
Kick
Snare
Hats
Kick.1
Snare.1
Hats.1

Sometimes I'll get third or forth duplicates as well which get labeled .2, .3 and so on.

This has nothing to do with stereo tracks being de-interleved into monos. These are exact duplicates referencing the same audio files. This was occuring all last year on 2018 with High Sierra and now on my freshly installed 2019.5 on a new computer on Mojave.

Please make it stop.

Last edited by Teej; 05-27-2019 at 11:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-27-2019, 11:06 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: Dragging audio from Finder duplicate tracks

Can't duplicate no matter what I do. 3 or 70 tracks dragged in. mono or 7.1.

Only difference is I don't use the ancient AIF format. Only Wav.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-27-2019, 11:09 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,282
Default Re: Dragging audio from Finder duplicate tracks

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
Can't duplicate no matter what I do. 3 or 70 tracks dragged in. mono or 7.1.

Only difference is I don't use the ancient AIF format. Only Wav.
"Ancient AIF" - you do realise WAV format is nearly as old, right?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-27-2019, 11:27 AM
Teej Teej is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 73
Default Re: Dragging audio from Finder duplicate tracks

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightrambler View Post
"Ancient AIF" - you do realise WAV format is nearly as old, right?
and that AIF can have metadata attached unlike WAV (hence the need for BWF...although according to wikipedia WAV can carry metadata in the INFO chunk, although I've never seen metadata handled well with pure WAV files.)

I just made it happen dragging in a combination of MP3 and WAV files. I am unable to make it happen with only WAV files right now, although I feel like it's happened to me before.

It never happens with single files.

Tried dragging in an MP3. Created one stereo track. Dragged in that same MP3 and another MP3, it creates four stereo tracks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-27-2019, 11:30 AM
Teej Teej is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 73
Default Re: Dragging audio from Finder duplicate tracks

Also seems to be related to this bug:
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=404914
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-27-2019, 11:58 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: Dragging audio from Finder duplicate tracks

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightrambler View Post
"Ancient AIF" - you do realise WAV format is nearly as old, right?
Yes. But always evolving. Whereas AIF is dead.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-27-2019, 12:05 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: Dragging audio from Finder duplicate tracks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teej View Post
Also seems to be related to this bug:
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=404914
Right now it is two people guessing... so... may be related, may not. You should find out if there are commonalities in your systems. Or if the other guy has your drag and drop problem. Because if he doesn't but only the "longstanding" preset issue (ha... "longstanding"... presets were only introduced with something like 2018.1), then it shoots a hole in them being related.

I've only tried my home system. Going to 3 other studio systems in a little while and will try those though I haven't seen it happen and none of the other engineers (at least 9 of us) have mentioned it happening amongst the many, many PT systems we have in use. They are all Ultimate though.
Maybe it doesn't happen with those.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-27-2019, 12:43 PM
Teej Teej is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 73
Default Re: Dragging audio from Finder duplicate tracks

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
Right now it is two people guessing... so... may be related, may not. You should find out if there are commonalities in your systems. Or if the other guy has your drag and drop problem. Because if he doesn't but only the "longstanding" preset issue (ha... "longstanding"... presets were only introduced with something like 2018.1), then it shoots a hole in them being related.

I've only tried my home system. Going to 3 other studio systems in a little while and will try those though I haven't seen it happen and none of the other engineers (at least 9 of us) have mentioned it happening amongst the many, many PT systems we have in use. They are all Ultimate though.
Maybe it doesn't happen with those.
Cool, make sure to try dragging in multiple MP3s at the same time, maybe some WAVS at the same time for good measure. This only happens when dragging in as to create new tracks, not dragging audio from the Finder onto existing tracks.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-27-2019, 07:16 PM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 284
Default Re: Dragging audio from Finder duplicate tracks

I haven't had the duplicate track problem upon dragging from the finder, only the duplicate presets creation bug.

I did however (and reported it) have a situation where dragging a stereo wav from the finder to a stereo (yes, for sure stereo) track turned the audio file into mono with the same wav shape on top and bottom. But so far have not had this with Mojave and 19.5.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6, Avid MTRX, MOM, Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 64 GB RAM, Mac OS Mojave, Samsung T5 SSDs
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-27-2019, 11:08 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: Dragging audio from Finder duplicate tracks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teej View Post
Cool, make sure to try dragging in multiple MP3s at the same time, maybe some WAVS at the same time for good measure. This only happens when dragging in as to create new tracks, not dragging audio from the Finder onto existing tracks.
Three systems. All Ultimate 19.5 and Sierra 10.12.6 (my home system I first tried was High Sierra 10.13.6.)

Zero issues.

Have you tried taking a different (new) drive, doing a clean install of macOS and install Pro Tools and see what happens?
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duplicating Tracks does not duplicate audio quality JKayL Windows 6 08-18-2016 05:44 AM
Bug when dragging from finder lafilmsound Pro Tools 10 0 12-28-2011 02:57 PM
Crash when dragging soundfile from Finder, can't restart. voxone 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-12-2010 02:58 AM
Dragging from the Finder (Am I doing something wrong?) nucelar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-05-2009 08:36 AM
Dragging audio from Finder... totalaccess Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-13-2007 03:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com