Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  ē  Community Terms of Use  ē  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  ē  Community Search  ē  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 01-02-2018, 12:05 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,452
Default Why aren't hardware devs taking AAX seriously?

Do you ever get anything done but whine about stuff? It is obvious Pro Tools does not focus on composition, it is obvious what is available, but you chose it... and just fill up DUC with endless whining about it. Please go pick another DAW to use and whine elsewhere...

Now I like many folks here would like to see MIDI editing and overall composition improved as a focus for Avid. And then hopefully the developers will follow, and Avid encouraging that would need to be part of a plan. But I've also just not hold my breath for any of that. And what it is today is what it is....

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 01-02-2018 at 01:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-02-2018, 03:40 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,775
Default Re: Why aren't hardware devs taking AAX seriously?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNM View Post
once again you have absolutely no idea what you are talking about, and interjecting your nonsense for no reason.

VI means virtual instrument.. This has NOTHING to do with the topic I have created..

Every single major *VI* developer in existence, already takes pro tools and avid seriously. EVERY important virtual synth and sampler is in AAX native format. Even Steinberg have ported Halion with version 6. Steinberg only started with VST, and slowly begrudgingly moved to AU as well, so for them to do AAX is a huge step.

What I am talking about is control panel instruments for hardware synths, as made clear in my opening post.
It is curiously, only this sector of the market, that has not ben adopted to AAX yet. As far as VI's, AAX is more than covered. Way more.

Do you ever actually answer ON topic, ever?
The reason developers don't do what you want is because there is no real market big enough for them to get into to spend the time and money on developing such a product. Have you even given Blue Cat Patchwork an honest shot at running what you want? I know you said you tried it but really - how much time did you spend on it? As much time as you spend here whinging about PT's supposed shortcomings?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-02-2018, 04:27 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,676
Default Re: Why aren't hardware devs taking AAX seriously?

The first thread with BEEF 🥩 of the New Year 🤩🤩🤩🤩

(Iíve nothing better to do than lurk)

Sorry itís cold Outside 🤠🤠🤠
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-02-2018, 07:15 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,775
Default Re: Why aren't hardware devs taking AAX seriously?

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
The first thread with BEEF 🥩 of the New Year 🤩🤩🤩🤩

(Iíve nothing better to do than lurk)

Sorry itís cold Outside 🤠🤠🤠
How cold is it? It's so cold the pickpockets are keeping their hands in their own pockets (this is an old saying from the Tonight Show with Johnny Carson from back in the 70's). Here in Trenton we've had single digit lows on New Year's Eve night.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-02-2018, 08:18 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,452
Default Re: Why aren't hardware devs taking AAX seriously?

Daniel címon you have an Icon to hug to keep warm....


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-02-2018, 08:26 PM
TNM TNM is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,290
Default Re: Why aren't hardware devs taking AAX seriously?

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
The reason developers don't do what you want is because there is no real market big enough for them to get into to spend the time and money on developing such a product. Have you even given Blue Cat Patchwork an honest shot at running what you want? I know you said you tried it but really - how much time did you spend on it? As much time as you spend here whinging about PT's supposed shortcomings?
Do you even know what this topic is about? What, have a band of you haters from KVR come together to try continuously bait me at this forum too to get me kicked off? Aren't you the troll from my play topic?

How dare you accuse me of not giving patchwork an honest shot. I have used blu cat products since day one, one of his earliest customers and have everything they make bar 2 products. I use patchwork all the time, but it is constantly losing automation settings. If you bothered to READ what i actually WROTE, you would have gotten that.

Having to spend time reassigning controls for everything I have automated, every time i load a project, is not productive workflow. Until we get a fix from blue cat, i am using it as little as I can for now. And yes, when on a laptop, that extra real estate it takes up is unpleasant.

as far as how that equates to me apparently bitching about pro tools, it doesn't. This is no fault of pro tools, and once again i really don't think you understand the topic, as i am talking about profitable, large hardware devs, pointing out that small indi developers know how important AAX is, yet large hardware devs seem to let it pass them by. I think you need to go back to school for basic English tutoring.

As far as me complaining about pro tools, now you are literally just a liar. You have come into my topic to not only troll, but lie about me publicly.
I have praised Pro tools probably more than anyone else in the forum, often.

Because you don't seem to understand, talking about a bug and trying to bring it to light, or in this case, talking about OTHER developers, NOT avid, is NOT whinging about pro tools.
I constantly praise the product and say just how much i love it, and how i could never lose it's workflow now that i found it.

If you did a search, you would see the constant praise I give it. perhaps you equate a topic of mine about me finding a serious bug, whining?

Once again, i think you need to go back to school for some basic communication education.

In my first post in this very topic:
Believe me, after testing and many years of actually using all the crapternatives out there like creeper and digital unperformer, as well as illogic and Poobase, Pro tools is the Godsend of daws I was waiting for.


In that same first post, i call the devs who ignore pro tools the fools. Anyone who doesn't use pro tools doesn't know what they are missing. I have tried to guide people to it now that Sonar is dead at the cakewalk forums. I have stuck up for this DAW many times against those who troll it relentlessly.. the unnecessary haters at kvr and gearslutz.

For a third time.. go educate yourself.

Thanks.
__________________
-iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6/Win10 Pro, TB3 Dock & 4xSSD, Apollo8 x2 + Octopre x2, Microlite x2, Midi Synths galore, PT 2019.10
-MBP 16" 2.4ghz 8 Core, 64GB ram, 8GB 5500M, OS 10.15.2/Win10 Pro, TB3 Dock & 2xSSD, Apollo Twin Duo + Scarlett Octopre, Logic 10.4.7/S1 4.5.5/Cubase 10.5
-MBP 15" 2.8ghz 4 core, 16gb ram, 750M, triple boot OS 10.12.6/10.13.6/10.14.6, On board analog audio out, PT 12/2018/2019
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-02-2018, 09:32 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,676
Default Why aren't hardware devs taking AAX seriously?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Daniel címon you have an Icon to hug to keep warm....

This is true but if it was a SSL it might actually heat up the room...

I love my DCMND but those LEDís donít produce the heat a Transformer does
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-03-2018, 06:10 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,775
Default Re: Why aren't hardware devs taking AAX seriously?

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
This is true but if it was a SSL it might actually heat up the room...

I love my DCMND but those LEDís donít produce the heat a Transformer does
Or an old Power Mac G5
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-03-2018, 04:24 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 669
Default Re: Why aren't hardware devs taking AAX seriously?

Doesn't Avid have a clause in the AAX development agreement stating that AAX plugins must either be audio effects or software instruments? An AAX plugin used to control hardware may well come under stricter control... we all know how Avid is when it comes to hardware and Pro Tools.

It is hard to imagine that AAX is a very big market. I have 4 DAWs installed on my computer... Logic only uses AU, but Reaper and Ableton Live will let me use both AU and VST plugins. Even if Pro Tools represented a larger market share (which I doubt it does), the shear overlap of AU and VST hosts on Mac and Windows computers surely dwarfs anything Avid does?
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6. OSX 10.14.6. HDX. Avid Omni. MacBook Pro 2018. 6 Core i7. 32Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. Blackmagic Intensity PCIe. ATI RX580. Sync HD
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-03-2018, 07:04 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,775
Default Re: Why aren't hardware devs taking AAX seriously?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LDS View Post
Doesn't Avid have a clause in the AAX development agreement stating that AAX plugins must either be audio effects or software instruments? An AAX plugin used to control hardware may well come under stricter control... we all know how Avid is when it comes to hardware and Pro Tools.

It is hard to imagine that AAX is a very big market. I have 4 DAWs installed on my computer... Logic only uses AU, but Reaper and Ableton Live will let me use both AU and VST plugins. Even if Pro Tools represented a larger market share (which I doubt it does), the shear overlap of AU and VST hosts on Mac and Windows computers surely dwarfs anything Avid does?
It does and you forgot Digital Performer which can use both vst and au.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for Plugin devs Seeking Developer Employment 2 02-12-2016 04:08 PM
IĎm moving to NYCÖ arenít I? clarpark Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 06-17-2002 06:08 PM
Why aren' t you using TDM? electrobank 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 04-01-2002 01:04 AM
Why aren't some of you doing this? Digital Sound Lab Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 18 01-10-2001 01:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com