Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-28-2017, 06:01 PM
gearninja's Avatar
gearninja gearninja is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 21
Default NI Komplete 8

Does anybody run this in PT12 with similar specs as my system? I bought this a few years back and the last time I installed it on PT9.6, only Battery showed up in audiosuite and nothing in inserts. I decided not to use it. I think I must of installed it incorrectly

Considering I paid nearly $700 bucks for it I thought I should probably try it out but again, I spent three hours installing and updating only to find nothing

Should I update it? It'll run as AAX right? I've read here on the forum that it's been pretty lackluster the last few years as far as updates and I was thinking of getting Superior Drummer instead or the Neve complete bundle from UA?

Thanks
__________________
Intelligence without ambition is a bird without wings.

PT 12.8/Win 10/Apollo 8/Quad Satellite/32gig DDR4/i7 7700 @4.2GHz/M.2 SSD 500gig/2TB SSD/Aorus z270X/Kemper Rack/Focusrite Octopre Dynamic/Deluxe Reverb/Rokkit 5's/Yamaha DXR10's/SM7B/Apex460/SM7's/1970 Pearl -Ludwig kit/David Eden Time traveler WT405/NI Komplete 8/Reason 9

Last edited by gearninja; 12-28-2017 at 06:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-28-2017, 07:34 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,912
Default Re: NI Komplete 8

I would reach out to NI for support on this. If you bought version 8 when PT9 was out, then it probably has no AAX support at all and would require an update(maybe not all the way to 11, but you may not have a purchase path for 9) The good news is that NI version 10 and 11 both work nicely in PT 11/12 so the upgrade cost will be worthwhile
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-28-2017, 08:02 PM
gearninja's Avatar
gearninja gearninja is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 21
Default Re: NI Komplete 8

That's a good idea, I'll give em a shout I guess.

Thanks albee... wow 33k+ posts, you must have shares by now
__________________
Intelligence without ambition is a bird without wings.

PT 12.8/Win 10/Apollo 8/Quad Satellite/32gig DDR4/i7 7700 @4.2GHz/M.2 SSD 500gig/2TB SSD/Aorus z270X/Kemper Rack/Focusrite Octopre Dynamic/Deluxe Reverb/Rokkit 5's/Yamaha DXR10's/SM7B/Apex460/SM7's/1970 Pearl -Ludwig kit/David Eden Time traveler WT405/NI Komplete 8/Reason 9
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-28-2017, 09:06 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,912
Default Re: NI Komplete 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by gearninja View Post
That's a good idea, I'll give em a shout I guess.

Thanks albee... wow 33k+ posts, you must have shares by now
I wish Just got no life
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-29-2017, 05:41 AM
Stephen Bond's Avatar
Stephen Bond Stephen Bond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,114
Default Re: NI Komplete 8

I'd certainly consider the upgrade. Been waiting for a 50% discount on upgrading for a couple of years or so and it finally arrived this year so I went from Komplete Ultimate 9 to 11.

https://www.native-instruments.com/e...-11/whats-new/

Promotion runs to January the 8th and likely won't be anything close to this until Black Friday of next year at the earliest.

Stephen
__________________
Save an additional 10% off any purchase at Waves!

https://www.waves.com/r/9zsnwd
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-04-2018, 09:55 PM
gearninja's Avatar
gearninja gearninja is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 21
Default Re: NI Komplete 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
I wish Just got no life
I highly doubt that LoL... you help so many I wish I could do the same
__________________
Intelligence without ambition is a bird without wings.

PT 12.8/Win 10/Apollo 8/Quad Satellite/32gig DDR4/i7 7700 @4.2GHz/M.2 SSD 500gig/2TB SSD/Aorus z270X/Kemper Rack/Focusrite Octopre Dynamic/Deluxe Reverb/Rokkit 5's/Yamaha DXR10's/SM7B/Apex460/SM7's/1970 Pearl -Ludwig kit/David Eden Time traveler WT405/NI Komplete 8/Reason 9
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-04-2018, 09:56 PM
gearninja's Avatar
gearninja gearninja is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 21
Default Re: NI Komplete 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Bond View Post
I'd certainly consider the upgrade. Been waiting for a 50% discount on upgrading for a couple of years or so and it finally arrived this year so I went from Komplete Ultimate 9 to 11.

https://www.native-instruments.com/e...-11/whats-new/

Promotion runs to January the 8th and likely won't be anything close to this until Black Friday of next year at the earliest.

Stephen
Well, they basically gave me the run around through email so I will not be updating. It's for sale now which is a shame.
__________________
Intelligence without ambition is a bird without wings.

PT 12.8/Win 10/Apollo 8/Quad Satellite/32gig DDR4/i7 7700 @4.2GHz/M.2 SSD 500gig/2TB SSD/Aorus z270X/Kemper Rack/Focusrite Octopre Dynamic/Deluxe Reverb/Rokkit 5's/Yamaha DXR10's/SM7B/Apex460/SM7's/1970 Pearl -Ludwig kit/David Eden Time traveler WT405/NI Komplete 8/Reason 9
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-05-2018, 06:24 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,752
Default Re: NI Komplete 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by gearninja View Post
Well, they basically gave me the run around through email so I will not be updating. It's for sale now which is a shame.
That's odd as the current deal price is good for going from K2 and up to K11. What did they tell you if you don't mind sharing? I've dealt quite a bit with NI and maybe there's something familiar in what they told you. There's actually two 'levels'; one is 'upgrade' which gets applied to things like going from Kontakt to K11. The other is 'update' which is good for anything from K2 and upwards. That's $199 US. This is assuming you're not going from K8 to K11 Ultimate.

If you're going the latter route (that only works for going from K8 regular to K11U) that price is $599 US.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems upgrading Komplete 8 to Komplete 10 Ultimate in Pro Tools 10.3.9 Freddysdead Pro Tools 10 17 02-12-2015 02:46 PM
N.I. Komplete in PT9? mike_mccue Pro Tools 9 5 11-21-2010 07:06 AM
Komplete 4 Tuur 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-11-2007 01:16 PM
Komplete 4 and PT 7.3.1 DOUBLE EDGE 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-15-2007 06:06 PM
NI Komplete 3 Stig Eliassen Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 17 04-03-2006 08:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com