Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-06-2014, 08:24 AM
robnokes robnokes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Santa Monica, Caifornia
Posts: 9
Default Two HD Native Cards?

Hi all due to an old Mac Pro dying that had three TDM PCIe cards (3 DigiLink ports) I wanted to switch over to my Native card but it only has 2 DigiLink ports.

Can I run two Native HD cards in one system?

What options exists for having three DigiLink ports?

Thanks
Rob
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-06-2014, 09:06 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,778
Default Re: Two HD Native Cards?

Not sure what you're trying to do, but you can daisy chain HD interfaces from the Digilink ports by using the Expansion ports on the interfaces themselves.

The HD Native card (or Thunderbolt unit) will do up to 64 I/O, achieved by using both ports, with an interface attached to each, and another interface attached to those interfaces' expansion ports.

If you are trying to use more than 4 interfaces, or more than 64 I/O, there is no way to use 2 HD Native cards (or units) like that.

Note that even HDX cards are also limited to 64 I/O and 4 interfaces. To get more I/O or interfaces you would need to add another HDX card. Just for future reference.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-06-2014, 11:03 AM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,820
Default Re: Two HD Native Cards?

We have an HDX2 in our HD truck with 128-IO. It is AMAZING, but not cheap unless you follow an upgrade path. We did that moving from an HD4 (1-Core 3-Accel) and were so glad to get the update.
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT Native on a mac with HD cards PTPerson macOS 5 01-17-2014 09:24 AM
multiple native cards? FilterDecay Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 10-21-2011 12:22 PM
Why Native vs. DSP Cards? justindbutler Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 49 06-30-2011 01:36 AM
UAD cards and HD Native JNS Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 6 06-06-2011 05:34 PM
HD Native on Core Cards pezking Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 18 10-19-2010 05:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com