Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-24-2012, 07:00 AM
cocorico cocorico is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Madrid (Spain)
Posts: 17
Default Kontakt 5 standalone - no sound with my midi keyboard

Hi folks,

I'm testing Kontakt 5 standalone and it's weird. The internal keyboard does sound, but the external midi keyboard doesn't.

I use windows 7 64 bits, digi 002 rack, asio drivers and the audio and midi configation seem right.

Any idea will be wellcomed, I'm getting a little crazy with this.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-24-2012, 12:20 PM
txrx txrx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 112
Default Re: Kontakt 5 standalone - no sound with my midi keyboard

Have you change the setting in :-

Kontakt -> FILE --> OPTION ---> MIDI ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-24-2012, 01:13 PM
cocorico cocorico is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Madrid (Spain)
Posts: 17
Default Re: Kontakt 5 standalone - no sound with my midi keyboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by txrx View Post
Have you change the setting in :-

Kontakt -> FILE --> OPTION ---> MIDI ?
Yes, all the midi inputs from the digi 002 are assigned to "Port A".

All MIDI outputs are Off
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-24-2012, 04:54 PM
iain_m iain_m is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 136
Default Re: Kontakt 5 standalone - no sound with my midi keyboard

Are the NKI instruments set to receive MIDI from the same channel that your interface is sending on?
__________________
Sound design, audio editing, and instrument programming for Kontakt and MachFive
http://www.iainmorland.net
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-24-2012, 05:55 PM
cocorico cocorico is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Madrid (Spain)
Posts: 17
Default Re: Kontakt 5 standalone - no sound with my midi keyboard

My MIDI keyboard (Kawai MP5) I think sends the info in channel 1. I didn't change any default configuration of my nki libraries (for example, I have colossus)

What do you exactly mean with instruments? you mean libraries?
Where/how can I can check the channel of the nki instruments?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-25-2012, 02:45 AM
iain_m iain_m is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 136
Default Re: Kontakt 5 standalone - no sound with my midi keyboard

A library, such as Colossus or the Factory Library, contains NKI instruments. In other words NKI is the file format used by Kontakt patches.

Have a look at p. 49 of the Kontakt reference manual (under 'MIDI Channel Assignment for Loaded Patches' - this is a general setting), and also p. 62 (under 'MIDI Channel' - this is per-instrument).
__________________
Sound design, audio editing, and instrument programming for Kontakt and MachFive
http://www.iainmorland.net
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-25-2012, 04:01 AM
cocorico cocorico is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Madrid (Spain)
Posts: 17
Default Re: Kontakt 5 standalone - no sound with my midi keyboard

OK, now I understand what you meant.

I checked the general MIDI assignment configuration (File-Opt-Handling) and Is assigned 1st free (the kawai mp5 keyboard uses 1st channel). I checked that, when I load and instrument, is assigned midi channel 1 (I test whith this and with the omni option) - result: no sound when I play the external keyb. If I have the internal keyb opened and play it, it does sound

No recognition of external midi. Note: when I play the external, no keys move in the internal keb (this appends when I use kontakt in plug-in mode). It seems like kontakt for some reason is not receiving the external MIDI.

What the f^*^* is happening here : ) ?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-25-2012, 04:29 AM
iain_m iain_m is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 136
Default Re: Kontakt 5 standalone - no sound with my midi keyboard

You mentioned earlier that the MIDI inputs from the digi002 are active and assigned to 'port a' in Kontakt. What about the inputs from the Kawai MP5?
__________________
Sound design, audio editing, and instrument programming for Kontakt and MachFive
http://www.iainmorland.net
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-25-2012, 04:43 AM
cocorico cocorico is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Madrid (Spain)
Posts: 17
Default Re: Kontakt 5 standalone - no sound with my midi keyboard

The kawai is physically connected to the midi in port in the digi 002. In kontakt, as well as other programs, that physicall connection has 3 options:

"FW 002 MIDI1(In/Out)" - this is the most useful
"FW 002 MIDI AsyncMidiControl"
"FW 002 MIDI MidiControl"

I have tried assigning only the first or all of them to "port A" in kontakt-file-opt-midi in.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-25-2012, 05:25 AM
iain_m iain_m is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 136
Default Re: Kontakt 5 standalone - no sound with my midi keyboard

Hmm, as I don't have that keyboard or interface I'm afraid I'm stumped.

Would it be possible to try connecting the keyboard directly to the computer with a MIDI-to-USB adaptor?
__________________
Sound design, audio editing, and instrument programming for Kontakt and MachFive
http://www.iainmorland.net
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No sound in Kontakt 5 standalone mode cocorico Windows 0 10-04-2012 07:31 AM
using Kontakt 2 standalone with Digi 002R? Willie Myers Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-30-2008 08:41 AM
recording midi with Kontakt 2 onscreen keyboard elv1s1sal1ve 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 10-16-2005 06:27 PM
Digi 001 w/NI Kontakt (Standalone Mode Problem) Earthling 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-06-2004 08:13 AM
Digi 001 w/NI Kontakt (Standalone Mode Problem) Earthling Tips & Tricks 0 02-10-2004 10:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com