Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-23-2012, 06:58 PM
stevegalante stevegalante is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Montreal, QC (Canada)
Posts: 1,725
Default Snow Leopard to Lion

Is it still possible to upgrade from SL to Lion without going to Mountain Lion ?
__________________
http://www.stevegalante.com
System details :
ProTools Native card, Ultimate 2019.5, MacPro 5,1 12 Core 3.33GHz, 64Gb RAM, Mojave 10.14.4, Lynx Aurora(n), Raven MTi
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-24-2012, 09:30 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,360
Default Re: Snow Leopard to Lion

I don't think you can buy it from apple anymore, and since it was sold only as a download, it's not likely you'd be able to find a legal copy.

The real question is, why would you want to? Lion has absolutely nothing special related to audio, and IMO is not worth upgrading to... I had to make a bunch of tweaks to it just so I could find my files, and still only ever booted it for testing purposes. I still haven't tried mountain lion yet, hopefully it's better.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-24-2012, 09:45 AM
stevegalante stevegalante is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Montreal, QC (Canada)
Posts: 1,725
Default Re: Snow Leopard to Lion

Apparently you can... this is what I got from Apple Support Communities :
"Yes. Call 1-800-MY-APPLE, pay $19 for a download code to use in the App Store."
The reason I would do it is that I already have a perfectly working partition with SL and PT8, and I wanted to prepare a partition for PT10, which is not qualified for ML yet (afaik)...
__________________
http://www.stevegalante.com
System details :
ProTools Native card, Ultimate 2019.5, MacPro 5,1 12 Core 3.33GHz, 64Gb RAM, Mojave 10.14.4, Lynx Aurora(n), Raven MTi
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-24-2012, 11:07 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,360
Default Re: Snow Leopard to Lion

PT 10.3 is officially qualified for Mountain Lion according to the download page:

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/d...10-3-Downloads

It is also still qualified to run on Snow Leopard 10.6.7 just so you're aware... I would either go with Mountain Lion or stick with Snow Leopard.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-24-2012, 12:01 PM
stevegalante stevegalante is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Montreal, QC (Canada)
Posts: 1,725
Default Re: Snow Leopard to Lion

So apparently I have to go with SL because my Macpro is a "Harpertown" model and though it supports ML it does not support ML + PT10... !
__________________
http://www.stevegalante.com
System details :
ProTools Native card, Ultimate 2019.5, MacPro 5,1 12 Core 3.33GHz, 64Gb RAM, Mojave 10.14.4, Lynx Aurora(n), Raven MTi
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-24-2012, 12:24 PM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,360
Default Re: Snow Leopard to Lion

Yeah, I would just stick with SL then. The newest mac pros are still based on the 2009 architecture, so I would just hold out on your harpertown with SL until an actual update(not just a refresh) happens to the mac pro line. Rumor has it there will be a new mac pro line in 2013, that would be the time to upgrade.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-24-2012, 04:14 PM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,176
Default Re: Snow Leopard to Lion

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevegalante View Post
So apparently I have to go with SL because my Macpro is a "Harpertown" model and though it supports ML it does not support ML + PT10... !
I didn't see that document till after going OSX 10.8.2 and PT 10.3 on an HD3 8x3.2GHz Harpertown. It's been fine so far - whether that means it's worth the risk for you...

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-25-2012, 07:14 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,360
Default Re: Snow Leopard to Lion

I think that the requirement for nehalem(2009) mac pros is actually only relevant for HDX cards. Apparently the firmware in the HDX card can't update correctly without the newer revision of pcie slots. My guess is that the TDM cards will still work with the older mac pros since they always have, but that AVID simply never tested a TDM/10.3/Early Mac Pro config since the TDM cards are EOL.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
snow leopard or lion for PT 10.3.7 queemacarthur macOS 3 11-04-2013 10:12 AM
Would you go from Snow Leopard to Lion (not Mountain Lion) if you could? EricWillhelm macOS 9 01-11-2013 11:55 AM
Snow Leopard or Lion with PT10.2 HD Lizardpoint Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 07-17-2012 07:48 PM
From Snow Leopard to Lion... heabow macOS 8 06-06-2012 09:40 AM
PT HD 10: Snow Leopard or Lion? johnnyv Pro Tools 10 2 01-31-2012 10:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com