Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-11-2002, 09:23 PM
Dr. J Dr. J is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: All Over
Posts: 354
Default Seems like PT is slowing down...

This may sound wierd, but it seems as though my system is getting slower for no real reason. I have a Beige G3, PT Mix Plus, and here's what it's doing. It take like twice as long to load PT when I open it. it takes twice to three times as long to open a session, and It reallocates DSP like, forever. Sometimes a session will open and tell me it didn't have enough DSP to create a plug or a buss. Then I close it a re-open it, and it open fine.

I have not loaded anything at all on the Mac, and my sessions are no larger than they've ever been, my drives all still have at leat 1.5 gigs open.

I can't figure it out. I ran Nortons optimizer. No change.

Oh yea, almost forgot. Also my waveforms are not visably running where I'm hearing, and When I hit save I get the hand thing, and it takes like 10 seconds to save. I mad the playback buffer smaller, no change, bigger and it was worse. So it's at 2 again.

Any thoughts?
__________________
jay@jayriggs.com
www.jayriggs.com
www.fifty-fiftymusic.com


Turn Me Up!™ – Sign Up Now to Bring Dynamics Back to Music (www.TurnMeUp.org)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-11-2002, 09:55 PM
Frank Richards Frank Richards is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 13
Default Re: Seems like PT is slowing down...

Have you tried reinstalling the system software? A clean install is recommended every six months to keep PT running smoothly..
__________________
Frank
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-12-2002, 12:31 AM
JamerJ JamerJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: La Ca
Posts: 100
Default Re: Seems like PT is slowing down...

CLean install: very important point.

Synclavier guys back in the day had to do
this with the vaunted "Winchester Disks"
which were 10 mb in size, about 20 pounds
in weight, and cost, ohh around 15-20K (!).
Yes digital audio has come a long way...

But one thing we learned was the reformating
of these pestulant pupps. Reliability is
sure when software is re=intalled AND the
HD is reformatted.

[img]images/icons/rolleyes.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/mad.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/rolleyes.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/mad.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/rolleyes.gif[/img]
__________________
Jim
JSM Music NY/LA
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-12-2002, 08:17 AM
beech beech is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 235
Default Re: Seems like PT is slowing down...

Has there been any explanation as to why 5.3.1 is so slow on things like screen redraws and going into record?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-12-2002, 08:20 AM
andrej770 andrej770 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 433
Default Re: Seems like PT is slowing down...

Quote:
Originally posted by Frank Richards:
Have you tried reinstalling the system software? A clean install is recommended every six months to keep PT running smoothly..
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">New OS reinstall every six months. I don't know who told you that one. If you only use your system for PT and are not constantly installing stuff you might never teally need to reinstall the OS. I've had a PT Mix system in the same machine for 3 years no problems. An OS reinstall can a last resort not always the first.
__________________
Mac 8 Core 6,1 - OSX 10.13.6 - 32GB RAM - Pro Tools 2018.10 - 8x8x8+8 ch DA Card (x2) - HD OMNI - ICON D-Control 32 - Sync I/O - Sonnet xMac Pro Server w/HDX x 2, Blackmagic Intensity Pro 4K
Protools 2018.10 HD Native in 1 project suite
Eristopher Music
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-12-2002, 05:16 PM
koko koko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: The Pole
Posts: 148
Default Re: Seems like PT is slowing down...

Hi
usually, just trashing PT's preferenced file AND the digisetup file helps. If not, reinstall PT. THEN, if it's still not running smoothly, you should re-format and clean install your MacOS.
My setup: G4 500MP, MacOS 9.1, PT5.1, IDE drives. However, I used to run 9600 which sometimes slowed down. Trashing files seemed to help.
BOL
__________________
Post Meridian Productions
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-12-2002, 06:34 PM
Lee Blaske Lee Blaske is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Minneapolis, MN U.S.A.
Posts: 3,625
Default Re: Seems like PT is slowing down...

Any possibility of a MIDI loop? This can really bog down a serial port and make everything seem like molasses in January.

As a test, unplug all your MIDI cables. Also, for testing purposes, unplug all other connections to other serial devices, ethernet, etc. Turn AppleTalk *off*.

Do you have enough memory allotted to ProTools and DAE?

In the system memory control panel, do you have the Disk Cache set too small? This can also bog things way down. It should be set to 512k for PT. If this got goofed up somehow, I'd trash the Memory Pref file, and re-set everything after re-booting.

Setting your monitor to 256 colors will also speed re-draw up.

Have you checked for a virus?

For good measure, run Digitest to make sure you don't have a card problem. Reseating all the cards, and using a stabilant like Caig Pro Gold on all edge connectors is also never a bad idea.

Trash DigiSetUp and DAE preferences.

Make sure you have up-to-date versions of all your plug-in software, especially WaveShell, if you're running it.

Lee Blaske
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-12-2002, 07:33 PM
Dr. J Dr. J is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: All Over
Posts: 354
Default Re: Seems like PT is slowing down...

Thanks all, I'll try some of these things and get back.
__________________
jay@jayriggs.com
www.jayriggs.com
www.fifty-fiftymusic.com


Turn Me Up!™ – Sign Up Now to Bring Dynamics Back to Music (www.TurnMeUp.org)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-14-2002, 09:55 AM
WorldOfWiz WorldOfWiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Diego
Posts: 938
Default Re: Seems like PT is slowing down...

when was the last time you drefraged your hard drive?

Wiz
__________________
The underground is as fickle and shallow as the mainstream.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-16-2002, 07:12 PM
Dr. J Dr. J is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: All Over
Posts: 354
Default Re: Seems like PT is slowing down...

I'm not sure whether your referring to my Glyph drive, or my Mac drive, but the answer to both is about every 2 weeks I defrag every drive. And I try to always leave, at minimum, half a gig open on every drive I use.
__________________
jay@jayriggs.com
www.jayriggs.com
www.fifty-fiftymusic.com


Turn Me Up!™ – Sign Up Now to Bring Dynamics Back to Music (www.TurnMeUp.org)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slowing down click willl3 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 05-31-2007 10:50 PM
slowing down a song kneegrow Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 12-15-2005 04:40 PM
g5 slowing down! richsorr 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-22-2004 12:43 AM
Slowing it down!! mike001 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 07-23-2002 01:27 AM
PT5/G4 slowing down midimac Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-15-2000 06:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com