Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-29-2009, 01:44 PM
Scott Stillwell's Avatar
Scott Stillwell Scott Stillwell is offline
Stillwell Audio
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 75
Default 8.0cs2 hangs on start...10.5.6, FastTrack Ultra

Mac Mini on OS X 10.5.6
Latest M-Audio drivers installed, device present and powered on.
iLok attached.
PTMP 8.0 Installed
Music Toolkit 2.0 installed
8.0cs2 upgrade installed.

Attempt to launch PTMP...the icon bounces down on the dock, then settles down with the blue "running" indicator under it. No splash screen ever shows up, and Activity Monitor just shows the program as "Not Responding" and consuming 100% of a CPU core. I've waited for 10 minutes and more and it doesn't ever present a UI...eventually, you have to Force Quit the application.

Ideas?

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-29-2009, 04:02 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,634
Default Re: 8.0cs2 hangs on start...10.5.6, FastTrack Ultra

Has it ever launched on this computer? If so - try trashing preference and database files.

If not, try a new admin account.

Also, it may be plug-in related - move all the plug-ins out of the plug-ins folder, then try to launch again. If it works, you'll know you have an outdated or incompatible plug-in installed. You should compare your installed plug-ins against this grid to determine which one it may be.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-29-2009, 11:02 PM
Scott Stillwell's Avatar
Scott Stillwell Scott Stillwell is offline
Stillwell Audio
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 75
Default Re: 8.0cs2 hangs on start...10.5.6, FastTrack Ultra

Creating another admin user appears to have fixed the problem. Rats. Now I've gotta clean out the primary account and create a new one, I suppose?

Thanks,

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-30-2009, 02:38 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,634
Default Re: 8.0cs2 hangs on start...10.5.6, FastTrack Ultra

You could try trashing your internet browser cache - I suspect this may be related to a PACE/iLok issue where it can't 'hook' into the browser because of a corrupted cache.

Let us know if it helps or not.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-08-2009, 08:04 PM
naughty G naughty G is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fremantle, Western Australia
Posts: 36
Default Re: 8.0cs2 hangs on start...10.5.6, FastTrack Ultra

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Stillwell View Post
Creating another admin user appears to have fixed the problem. Rats. Now I've gotta clean out the primary account and create a new one, I suppose?

Scott
Why? Couldn't you simply use the new account for all your ProTools work, enable fast user switching, and switch when you need to do something else?

I've seriously been considering a PT-only User account for reliability and performance myself..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FastTrack Ultra 8R stopped working - have tried "everything"! trumling Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 03-15-2015 11:18 AM
Line 6 Pod 2 into M-Audio Fasttrack ultra 8R TL4500 Pro Tools 10 2 02-23-2014 09:46 AM
Fasttrack Ultra 8r suddenly not recognized by computer mdombros FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 1 02-18-2014 07:53 AM
Help! Protools Start Up Hangs on start up stefankruger macOS 2 06-10-2013 03:10 PM
PT LE 8.0cs2 Update not showing on start up reycantong 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 04-16-2009 12:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com