Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-04-2015, 02:32 PM
Shantie Shantie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4
Default Fast Track Pro not recognised!

Dear all,
I really hope there is someone out there that can help me, as I searched through 17 pages of posts, but didn't find an answer for my exact problem yet.

My M-Audio Fast Track Pro connects to the computer, is seen as a USB device, but is not recognised as an audio device!
The drivers are updated. The lights on the device are on, everything should be working, windows says the device is working properly, but in the audio control centre the Fast Track Pro is not an option to chose from....

Anybody please?


Acer Aspire 5755 G, Windows 7, Audition CC 2015
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-04-2015, 03:44 PM
Amack Amack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 846
Default Re: Fast Track Pro not recognised!

Are you saying that it's not a listed option when you view the "Playback devices" by right clicking on the speaker icon in the lower right hand corner of your Windows desktop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shantie View Post
Dear all,
I really hope there is someone out there that can help me, as I searched through 17 pages of posts, but didn't find an answer for my exact problem yet.

My M-Audio Fast Track Pro connects to the computer, is seen as a USB device, but is not recognised as an audio device!
The drivers are updated. The lights on the device are on, everything should be working, windows says the device is working properly, but in the audio control centre the Fast Track Pro is not an option to chose from....

Anybody please?


Acer Aspire 5755 G, Windows 7, Audition CC 2015

Last edited by Amack; 08-04-2015 at 04:27 PM. Reason: Grammar
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-04-2015, 03:51 PM
Shantie Shantie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4
Default Re: Fast Track Pro not recognised!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amack View Post
Are you saying that it's not a listed option when you view the "Playback devices" by right clicking on the speaker icon in the lower right hand corner of you Windows desktop?
Yep, that's what I mean...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-04-2015, 04:27 PM
Amack Amack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 846
Default Re: Fast Track Pro not recognised!

Beats me.

Try an older driver? http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...ers&popup=true

Or http://protools.ideascale.com/a/dtd/...10/153841-3779 community discussion link?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shantie View Post
Yep, that's what I mean...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-06-2015, 04:46 PM
Wizzoboy's Avatar
Wizzoboy Wizzoboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 605
Default Re: Fast Track Pro not recognised!

In Win 7 click on control panel then click the "Sound" icon. Make sure that under the "playback" and "recording" tabs Windows is using the computers built in sound card, and not the Fast Track Pro. If it is not set up this way, Windows tends to steal another sound device for itself. This should cure your problem. Remember, when it is set-up this way, your computer sounds, and any audio from the internet etc, will not play through the Fast Track Pro, but only through your computer speakers.
__________________
Dell Precision 490 Workstation, dual 4 core 5355 Xeon, 16gb Samsung DDR2 ECC Ram - Windows 7 Ultimate - Nvidia GTX 650 - 3 x Internal WD Blacks - PT 2018.3 - Digi 002R - Original Mackie HUI - JBL Monitoring.
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 - 24gb RAM - Windows 10 - Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB with Studio driver 431.86- 2 x Internal WD Blacks + MSATA card - Davinci Resolve 16.1 - Canon HF G40
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-06-2015, 05:00 PM
Shantie Shantie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4
Default Re: Fast Track Pro not recognised!

Thank you for your reply Wizzoboy.
Actually, Windows is using the built in sound card. It doesn't even recognise the fast track as one, because it is not an option.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-07-2015, 08:42 AM
Wizzoboy's Avatar
Wizzoboy Wizzoboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 605
Default Re: Fast Track Pro not recognised!

Another poster had the same problem as you. When they checked the Fast Track Pro in device manager.they found that they had downloaded the driver for the Fast Track not the Fast Track Pro. Might be worth checking.
__________________
Dell Precision 490 Workstation, dual 4 core 5355 Xeon, 16gb Samsung DDR2 ECC Ram - Windows 7 Ultimate - Nvidia GTX 650 - 3 x Internal WD Blacks - PT 2018.3 - Digi 002R - Original Mackie HUI - JBL Monitoring.
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 - 24gb RAM - Windows 10 - Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB with Studio driver 431.86- 2 x Internal WD Blacks + MSATA card - Davinci Resolve 16.1 - Canon HF G40
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-28-2015, 09:22 AM
Shantie Shantie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4
Default Re: Fast Track Pro not recognised!

Yeah, unfortunately it was the pro... I double and triple checked the details
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-05-2016, 01:46 PM
dyxlectic's Avatar
dyxlectic dyxlectic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1
Default Re: Fast Track Pro not recognised!

I had the same problem on Windows 7.
Disabling the on board sound device in bios fixed it for me.

If it still wont show up in audio playing/recording device list, go into device manager and find the usb device that is your Fast Track Pro.

Right click it and uninstall.

Then rescan devices and it should pop up.
Let Windows autoinstall the driver and dont update to a newer one because that will probably mess it upp again.
A little bit of "Why fix something that is not broken" philosophy.

Hope this helps.

cheers!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sound is playing too fast with M-Audio Fast Track Pro wodkin FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 0 02-06-2015 10:42 AM
Fast Track C400 not recognised in sound preferences, Mac Rory Alexander Pro Tools SE and Essential (Mac) 7 02-17-2013 04:34 PM
New PT10 User. MBox3, MAudio Fast Track Ultra, MAudio Fast Track 8R? epu Pro Tools 10 3 06-13-2012 04:55 PM
PT9 + Fast Track Pro, once track record enabled,gets very choppy. Babiker Windows 1 04-04-2012 02:19 PM
track confusion in fast track ultra interface deck Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 02-24-2010 11:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com